Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Acadia National Park and Mount Desert Island Restaurants

Burning Tree

Updated 12/26/2013

Fodor's Review

One of the top restaurants in Maine, this easy-to-miss gem with a festive dining room is on Route 3 between Bar Harbor and Otter Creek. The seasonal menu emphasizes freshly caught seafood, and seven species of fish are offered virtually every day, all from the Gulf of Maine. There is always monkfish; you may find it pan-sautéed, glazed with sweet chili sauce, and served with Thai-flavored eggplant and coconut rice. Oven-poached cod and stuffed gray sole are signature

dishes. There are always two or three vegetarian options using organic produce, much of it from the owners' garden.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

69 Otter Creek Dr., Otter Creek, Maine, 04660, USA

Map It

Phone:

207-288–9331

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed mid-Oct.–mid-June. No lunch

Updated 12/26/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Jen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 2, 2006

The best dinner in Maine, hands down

I can remember every dish I've ever eaten at the Burning Tree, for its original pairing of ingredients, fresh local seafood and produce, beautiful presentation and unpretentiousness. The staff is knowledgable, there is love and care in the food, and the wine list is outstanding. If there is one place on MDI you choose to go out for dinner, pick the Burning Tree. It's my favorite restaurant in Maine, no contest.

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2005

Don't tell everyone how great it is, or we'll never be able to get a reservation!

Our favorite restaurant anywhere. The ever changing menu always interesting, with food that is thoughtfully and artistically prepared. Burning Tree never fails to please in all aspect of the dining experience.

By Lily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2005

You won't be disappointed

The food here has been consistently good. I've enjoyed meals here several years in a row. Be sure to make a reservation. The curried crab appetizer was fabulous, and the wine list is very reasonably priced.

By Dana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 5, 2004

4 out of 4 dishes were dissappointing!

The salad we had was fabulous and flavorful. The entrees were all loaded with ingredients but tasted like none - very dissappointing... Very noisy...the Pot de Creme dessert tasted like ordinary pudding, not the rich thick creme that it should be. Would go back for salad and bread, that's it!

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 17, 2003

Creative & Delicious Vegetarian Options!

Wonderful food and very friendly and knowledgable service - we're already planning our next trip back! It's surprisingly difficult to find vegetarian options in the Bar Harbor area, but this place has both multiple veg choices and fabulous seafood for the meat-eaters in your group.

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 15, 2001

Wonderful food, creative, and organic too

Out in the middle of nowhere, one of the best restaurants anywhere.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement