Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Orleans Restaurants

Gumbo Shop

Updated 04/09/2014

Fodor's Review

Even given a few modern touches—like the vegetarian gumbo offered daily—this place evokes a sense of old New Orleans. The menu is chock-full of regional culinary anchors: jambalaya, shrimp Creole, rémoulade sauce, red beans and rice, bread pudding, and seafood and chicken-and-sausage gumbos, all heavily flavored with tradition but easy on the wallet. The patina on the ancient painting covering one wall seems to deepen by the week, and the old tables and bentwood chairs

have started to seem like museum pieces. Reservations are accepted only for groups of 10 or more.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

630 St. Peter St., New Orleans, Louisiana, 70116, USA

Map It

Phone:

504-525–1486

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 04/09/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in New Orleans

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By jahlie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 23, 2010

Gumbo Shop Review

I really don't see what there is to like about this place. I went with a group of seven and every of us had eaten better food elsewhere in New Orleans. Our server kept forgetting we were there, everyone's food was bland, forget about the bread pudding and my husband was sick during the night! I guess one of my best friends, who owns a restaurant is right - take a look at the bathrooms and if they're dirty, so is the kitchen.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2007

Great reccomendation

Our hotel concierge recommended it. Very reasonable prices for good food, and the service was fantastic - friendly, helpful. I liked my jambalaya, and everyone seemed pleased with their meal. We had better bread pudding elsewhere.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2005

Were lucky to stumble upon this place

My dinner companion and I (as well as other friends who have visited) loved this place. I selected the fixed price menu and truly loved everything I ate. The atmosphere is casual. Service fabulous - our waitress went over and beyond.

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2005

Don't bother to wait in line!

MESSY and much too busy for the wait staff to handle properly! The food was average compared to other places where we ate. Don't let them sit you next to the kitchen--noisy, very dirty, and food and drink will be splashed on you!! There are better places to get your gumbo and to receive better service.

By francis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2004

Mama's cajun/creole Cooking at its best

After you had visited all the top restaurants in New Orleans, come home to this tiny spot in the French Quarter for some traditional great taste and very fresh seafood. The decor is very typical of French Quarter and I like it. Most of the items on the menu is within $10 to $20. I strongly recomended the "Stuff Redfish" for $19. I tend to think the more expensive dishes on the menu are a better value for your taste bud.

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2004

You can do better, but it's not expensive

The food in this informal place varies from so-so to pretty good. Probably a good lunch spot for locals, but a visitor with limited time and a reasonable budget should do better. The bourbon chicken outshone everything else except the desserts, like the terrific chocolatey brownie and a decent bread pudding. Order a single dish like the chicken or gumbo rather than the combo, in which all the flavors run together. And they should really replace those

"historic" depressing murals.

Read More

By Sydney

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 29, 2002

Lively Atmosphere, True French Quarter Feel

For our first meal in NOLA this was a winner. Excellent gumbo and fish. The roasted pecan vinaigrette on seasonal greens is worth the price of the whole meal! Excellent bread pudding with whiskey sauce and we recommend the crawfish etouffee. Loved the paintings on the walls and service was friendly and efficient. Dec. 23/ 02

By Sheryl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2002

So good, we went twice in one visit!

My husband and I loved this place. We had it all - gumbo, shrimp creole, jambalaya, red beans and rice, crawfish etoufee - and all of it was delicious. It was so good, we went twice during our short visit. The service was great both times. We will definitely be back.

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2002

Luck of the draw

The food here isn't great but the service is even worse. For us the selection of specials of the day depended entirely on what out waiter felt like divulging; he gave us a couple of choices but later we overheard a different waiter at the table behind us listing a number of choices we weren't given! I guess it was the "luck of the draw" that we got a clueless waiter. But even if we had been "luckier" to get a different waiter, it doesn't necessarily

follow that the food would have been any better.

Read More

By Shelley

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2002

Where's the spice?

15 years ago, the Gumbo Shop was our little find. In March of 2002, the salad was the highlight of our dinner. Come on, spice up the Gumbo!

By Sara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 5, 2002

Great chicken!

I know you are supposed to eat gumbo or red beans or jambalaya here but the Blackened Chicken is absolutely gorgeous. The potatoes rate highly as well as I asked for 2 helpings on our second visit!

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2002

Beans & Rice are to die for

Not a Gumbo fan, but love the Red Beans and Rice here . . . we go every time we are in N.O. three, four times a year! Rich

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2001

Excellent

There is no doubt there are better restaurants in New Orleans, but the location, service, atmosphere, and quality of food for the price makes this one of my favorite restaurants in the French Quarter.

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2001

Drinks and Great Steak

Had an early dinner, 4:30PM to insure no waiting. One of the most creative filets ever and as the most expensive item, just $16.00. What value. Their homemade fruit daiquiris are unbelievable. Had to come back later that night and get one for the street.

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 13, 2001

Great!

This was the last place we ate in New Orleans and I wish we had found it the first day. The food was authentic, service was great and the price was reasonable. If you are looking for authentic Louisanna food - this is the place to go

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 6, 2000

Fodor's Should Put A Star Next To This One!

I don't know about the lady who thinks her Gumbo is better...if it is..I'd love her to send me some! During our trip, we stopped at Remoulade's, Acme Oyster Co, West End Cafe, etc...all Fodor's recommendations. But, the Gumbo Shop was tops!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement