Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Orleans Restaurants

Emeril's

  • 800 Tchoupitoulas St. Map It
  • $$$
  • American

Updated 04/09/2014

Fodor's Review

Celebrity-chef Emeril Lagasse's urban-chic flagship restaurant is always jammed, so it's fortunate that the basket-weave-patterned wood ceiling muffles much of the clatter and chatter. The ambitious menu gives equal emphasis to Creole and modern American cooking—try the andouille-crusted drum fish or the barbecue shrimp, which is one one of the darkest, richest versions of that local specialty. Desserts, such as the renowned banana cream pie, verge on the gargantuan.

Service is meticulous, and the wine list's depth and range mean that you shouldn't hesitate to ask your server for advice.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

800 Tchoupitoulas St., New Orleans, Louisiana, 70130, USA

Map It

Phone:

504-528–9393

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch Sat. and Sun.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 04/09/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Jex

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 18, 2008

Really loud

Although the food is great and the service is like watching amazing synchronized swimming, don't think you are going here for any romantic dinner. It is boisterous and loud. It does make it fun, but I just wanted people to know in case you were planning something romantic.

By Joanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2006

One of my favs in N.O.

Have eaten here twice and always had a pleasant experience. The appetizers on the menu are all delicious and the red fish with andoullie sausage is FANTASTIC. I also tasted his pasta dish which was out of this world...so fresh and tasty. The service at Emeril's is also excellent. I have gone twice and I would go back again...as long as I had a reservation!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2005

Best Food and Service in Town

AT first I was skeptical about this place, after eating in another famous chef (K-Paul) and having a terrible and expensive experince there, i was reluctant to tray another TV Chef. However, this was the best food and service we had in New Orleans. We spent one week in this city having diner every night, and this was my best fine dining expereince. Service was superb, wine selection is huge (for all budgets) and food really delicious. Make reervations.

MAGNIFICO!

Read More

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 15, 2005

Wonderful Experience!

I was quite surprised to read the negatives reviews of Emeril's. While he was not in the kitchen the food was supberb, absolutely delectable. The waiter was knowledgeable, polite, and left nothing to be desired. He forgot my wifes class of wine and when reminded offered a round of drinks on the house. The food was exceptional, especially the new orleans bbq'ed shrimp and the filets.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2004

Food Poisoning

Recently my girlfriend took me to Emeril's New Orleans for our anniversary. Spent almost $300. Got food poisoning there. We have stomach cramps and diarrhea for days. Can't enjoy Thanksgiving diner because we are still sick. Contacted Emeril's and received no response. Worst dining experience ever.

By steve

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 28, 2004

Bam

the first minute i walked in i knew it was going to be superb. The staff was very friendly, the atmosphere was great and the food was outstanding. I've been to a lot of high end restaurants in my life, but I never had anybody change my water because the ice melted. I can't think of one thing that was wrong. My party of six all had a great time.

By Louise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2004

"Service meticulously organized" ??????????? That's a joke !!!!

At these prices and with the number of wait staff at Emeril's I wonder why four out of ten of us had to send our entree' back to be properly cooked, we had to ask for the rolls, and two desserts never made it to the table until everyone else was finished? Poor service = Poor value !

By Todd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 10, 2004

Great Great and wellllll GREAT

The only thing that Emeril's lacks is a little better lunch. Not quite the ambiance of dinner. However, dinners are amazing with a server keeping an eye on your table the whole time without being there and being extremely knowledgable about food and wine. Food is absolutely amazing, deserts to die for and great bar drinks. Excellent place to go for a truely out of body dining experience.

By Kel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 17, 2003

Very rude staff, don't bother going there

We were in New Orleans for a conference and made a reservation for lunch on a Monday. Upon our arrival, the restaurant was empty except for one other couple. The hostess led us to a table that was not in a desirable location and so we asked to move to another table by the window. We were told that it was "reserved." Well, we had a reservation too and our experience had been that even the most expensive restaurants were usually accomodating with

such requests. We were then told to "not make a scene." We thought that this experience ruined anything that we might have eaten at that restaurant and promptly left. We will never try another Emeril Lagasse restaurant again.

Read More

By RW

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2003

Carpetbagger Emeril's "Bam!" Worse Than His Bite

I always laugh when I hear someone call Emeril Lagasse a "Cajun chef". Folks, he's from Fall River, Massachusetts! A carpetbagger who learned how to cook Cajun/Creole cuisine (but can't get the patois right-- oh, how we miss Justin Wilson and his REAL Cajun cooking!!) in New Orleans and spreads his version of it through the TV shows and his restaurants. The actual experience of eating in his restaurants is better than watching his unbearable TV shows.

The food is fine-- not the best, but very tasty-- but vastly overpriced. The wait staff are excellent. You can do better in NO-- but you could do far worse.

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2003

Wonderful Experience

This was our first trip to Emeril's. What an experience. I had read all of the reviews, and still was amazed by the food & service. My wife and I were able to get same day reservations. We had the fried quail and the Texas Redfish. With alcohol, appetizer, entrees, and desserts plus a well deserved tip, our bill was $120. We left over satisfied and WILL return.

By Shecky

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 12, 2003

Worth All the Pennies

With so many great gastronomical choices in NOLA, I was not disappointed in the choice of Emeril's flagship restaurant. Many reviews complain of aloofness in the wait staff, but ours was very friendly and knowledgeable. The lobster bisque was truly the best I've ever had, although there was no discernible lobster chunks, easily forgiven with the "close your eyes and moan" taste. The filet was huge, melt in your mouth, and perfectly cooked. There

was nothing to complain about - we were able to get a same-day reservation, no disappointments. Good selection of wines at various price points, but certainly not a place one can afford to dine every night - price or calories.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2003

An experience!

We had a wonderful dinner here. The service was wonderful--friendly and prompt with no pressure to order more than we wanted. The crusted redfish was wonderful and the banana cream pie was to die for. It's a tourist restaurant but the food is great.

By Chad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 28, 2002

Emeril's is truley dinning experience not to be missed!

Emeril's restruant lacked nothing. It was absolutly fantastic from the time we walked to the time we walked out. I would do it all over again, in fact I am! Check out Emeril's Cheesecake Bistro while in town.

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2002

A Little Dissappointed

On our first visit to New Orleans, I decided that we had to go to Emerils(based on Frommers review). We were a little disappointed. The food was great, but the atmosphere was loud and crowded. Our table was very small in a corner practically on top of two other tables. When you pay fine dining prices you expect some leg room. The waitstaff did not have much personality, but were efficient. On our second visit we decided to skip Emerils. Try

Bayona or Brigsten's instead!

Read More

By T

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2001

Emeril says...it ain't rocket science, we're just cookin'...

The menu is imaginative, the dining room is now quieter and the food quality is always reliable. But what is up with the waitstaff acting as if they ascended to Emeril's from some royal family? Lighten up you guys...you wait tables for a living. They used to display their competence with casual ease, not any longer.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 20, 2001

The best we had in NOLA

We tried the Upperline and Gautreas upon recommendations. Splendid. We returned to Emeril's based on memories of my last trip to New Orleans and my visit to Emeril's. This restaurant topped all the others in terms of food and service. When we return in September, we will certainly visit Emeril's.

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2001

While the cat's away...

Despite it's reputation, Emeril's doesn't live up to it's rep. For only the second time ever, I had to send my steak back to have it cooked! Plus my wife and I got to see the floor manager chew out the help. It dampened our waiter's enthusiasm needless to say. And the pecan pie that had been so great at NOLA's 2 years prior had a crust that must have been 2 years old. We had much better meals at Peristyle and Bayona. Until Emeril decides to pay attention

(hard to do with 5 resturants scattered about the country), find another place to go.

Read More

By Stu

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 2, 2000

Emer's Real Food

Exceptional. As good as K-Paul's!

By Cynthia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 2, 2000

See delicious Sea Food

Emeril's sea food is the most wonderful tasting cuisine I've ever tasted! The preparation, the service, the great value of the food makes you want to go back for much more.

By Roger

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 2, 2000

SALT PALACE

EMERIL LIKES TO LOAD HIS FOOD WITH SALT. HIGHLY UNNECESSARY. OUTSIDE OF CORN ON THE COB, MOST FOOD TASTES BETTER WITHOUT SALT.

By William

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 11, 2000

Loved it!

I had the best time here. I went with four friends and we ordered all local dishes. Having all small dishes is a great way to go. For the soup we had the smoked chicken and sausage gumbo, which had more flavor than any gumbo I've ever had. The Maine lobster cheesecake was intense.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement