Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Orleans Restaurants

Arnaud's

Updated 04/09/2014

Fodor's Review

This grande dame of classic Creole restaurants still sparkles. In the main dining room, ornate etched glass reflects light from charming old chandeliers while the late founder, Arnaud Cazenave, gazes from an oil portrait. The adjoining jazz bistro offers the same food but is a more casual and music-filled dining experience. The ambitious menu includes classic dishes as well as more contemporary ones. Always reliable are Shrimp Arnaud (cold shrimp in a superb rémoulade),

Oysters Bienville, Petit Filet Lafitte, and praline crepes. Jackets are requested in the main dining room. Check out the Mardi Gras museum upstairs.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

813 Bienville St., New Orleans, Louisiana, 70112, United States

Map It

Phone:

504-523–5433

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch Mon.–Sat.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 04/09/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in New Orleans

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By 7cities

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2010

Arnaud's Review

Great fresh seafood and deserts. Wine around $9 a glass to $4000 a bottle. Wow! Cheerful and helpful staff.

By Creole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2005

The Classic Creole Benchmark

New Orleans restaurant's are great and none better than Arnaud's for food, service and ambiance.

By Erin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 4, 2005

Great Jazz Brunch

We loved the Jazz brunch during a recent trip. The food was fantastic and we really enjoyed the music.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 28, 2005

Great

My wife and I have been sevearl times and are pleased with each visit. A fine grand dame of a restaurant. It is New Orleans.

By Melissa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 2, 2005

Classic New Orleans

Hard to believe, but with all our trips to N.O., we'd never been to Arnaud's. This was definitely some of the best food and most attentive, professional service we've ever had in the city, and the old New Orleans flavor was a great experience. The restaurant itself is loud and crowded on a Friday night, but that's the only drawback I saw. Delicious oysters, wonderfully tasty lemon-vinaigrette salad, and to-die-for fish were what I had, and every bite

was great. My companions raved similarly about the turtle soup, wine selection, and desserts. Will be back!

Read More

By Nicole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 31, 2004

We loved it!

We chose the table d'hote and, for $40, it was a great four-course menu. We found the service to be attentive and professional, and we really enjoyed the food. I highly suggest either the petit filet stuffed with oysters or the trout amandine.

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 1, 2004

Wonderful Food & Service at Araund's

Four of us ate here in mid April and we all thought Araund's was great. The service was very good and each of our servers let some southern hospitality show through. Each member of our group ordered something different, and one of the items was not what we expected, but still tasted good. While Araund's may not be your top dining destination in New Orleans, it sure is good and worth a visit.

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 14, 2003

Longetivy Does NOT Equal Good

Arnaud's has been a New Orleans institution for years, and much like other American insitutions, i.e. Shoney's Big Boy, KFC and McDonalds, being an "institution" doesn't necessarily mean you're worth a damn. Arnaud's has been coasting downhill on a reputation that may have once been deserved - at 52, I'm entirely too young to know. Today, it's pomp and hype are simply pomp and hype followed by a large dining bill that laughs through it's three or

more digits at your gullability. If you like to dine and spend money in restaurants like golfers on green's fees, eat somewhere else.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 5, 2002

The Grande Dame of Creole Food

I have lived in New Orleans for over six years and Arnaud's has always been my best option for a great dining experience. The service is always friendly but polished. The food is pricey but so is every other place in the French Quarter...in my opinion the experience makes up for the cost. I recommend that the escargot, pompano duarte, souffle potatoes, and as a dessert Bananas Foster The wine list is extraordinary. Visiting family members always enjoy

the Mardi Gras Museum or Jazz Room.

Read More

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 24, 2002

"to be, AR-NOTS to be... that is the question!"

Our Arnaud's experience in late December was very bad. My wife and I dined there with two other couples and we felt ripped off. The amount of food we got for the money we spent was absurd. Actually, to give proper credit - two folks in our party ate the PETIT FILET LAFITTE and enjoyed it; however, the SPECKLED TROUT AMANDINE was cafeteria quality and their main entree SAMPLER was so small, it could have been inhaled. The service was less than

mediocre and the library-like atmosphere almost put us to sleep. If you want to spent $100+ per couple, you'd be better off eating at the Palace Cafe, K-Paul's, NOLA, etc... Sorry, not impressed.

Read More

By Lesley

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 6, 2002

Not a disappointment

Having read other reviews we were a little worried that it wouldn't live up to the guide book. I'm glad to say it was brillant. Souffle potatoes are a must. Don't go with any pre-conceived ideas and I'm sure you will enjoy it.

By Kate

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 1, 2001

Expected a more "special" experience

Arnaud's main dining room was something of a disappointment. After all I'd read about this place I expected something exceptional, but it was run of the mill on both the food and atmosphere front. The much-vaunted shrimp Arnaud I found to be relatively unexciting – cold shrimp and a horseradish sauce - why does everyone rave about it? The main course was tasty enough, but again, nothing special - the food at Commander's Palace was much better. But

what really irked me about Arnaud's was that we were given the bill without asking for it. I just HATE this. I find it incredibly presumptious and bad-mannered. And especially from a place that so obviously sees itself as upmarket. This has never happened to me in London - or indeed anywhere else in the UK, come to think of it - not even from places a quarter of the price of Arnaud's. It was about 9.30pm and the place was only half to two-thirds full, so it wasn't even as if they had pressure for more tables. Possibly we would have been better off in the Arnaud's jazz room. Arnaud's gets a 2=average rating from me. Sorry.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 11, 2001

Birthday Central

This is the place to go for your "big night out" in N.O. I went for my 45th birthday and was serenaded by the jazz trio as my Creme Brulee was delivered with a candle. The service was excellent and the dishes were incredible. The only tiny negative note is that I am a bit mystified what the big deal is with Souffle Potatoes. They were like eating parchment paper.

By Timothy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 12, 2001

This is what dining is all about

I could go on and on, but I will try to be as short as possible. Arnaud's does not miss anywhere. The food, the service and the atmosphere are the best I have experienced in New Orleans. The wine list is very extensive. If you go to New Orleans with someone special take them here for an evening to remember.

By Meg

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 12, 2001

Incredible food, lives up to expectations

I came here for my 21st birthday and was in heaven. I had the Shrimp Arnaud and the Crawfish O'Connor (fantastic), my boyfriend had the Turtle Soup and Crabmeat Karen (wow). They brought me the souffle potatoes, which should be illegal they are sooooo good. The band sang Happy Birthday and even gave me baloons. Not one complaint.

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 29, 2000

A Family Tradition For 80 Years

This is a must stop when we visit NO. It started with my parents then with their children and now their grandchildren....what else can you say except Arnaud's is second to none.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement