Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Orleans Restaurants

Palace Café

Updated 04/09/2014

Fodor's Review

Occupying what used to be New Orleans's oldest music store, this Dickie Brennan stalwart is a convivial spot to try some of the more imaginative contemporary Creole dishes, such as crabmeat cheesecake, andouille-crusted fish, and pepper-crusted duck breast with foie gras. Desserts, especially the white-chocolate bread pudding and the house-made ice creams, are luscious. Drugstore-tile floors and stained cherrywood booths set the mood. The wraparound mezzanine is lined

with a large mural depicting the city's famous musicians, such as Louis Armstrong, Fats Domino, and Aaron Neville. The Parisian-style sidewalk seating encourages small plates, wine, and people-watching (though you can also order full meals outside). The Sunday jazz brunch is New Orleans all the way.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

605 Canal St., New Orleans, Louisiana, 70130, United States

Map It

Phone:

504-523–1661

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 04/09/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in New Orleans

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2010

Palace Café Review

Ate here last night. Arrived about 9pm whe the place started emptying out. We waited 15 minutes before anyone took our drink order. My 2nd drink order was forgotten and a second waiter solicited to retrieve it. We ordered crabmeat cheesecake, werlein salad with oysters and oysters pan roast as starters. The cheesecake was basically a quiche with meuniere sauce and was ok. The pan roast was good, but was swimming in cream and breadcrumbs. The dressing

on the werlein salad tasted like it was out of a bottle and the lettuce was drenched in it. This was also forgotten by the server and served to me long after the first two starters came. Not a good experience for me. Now onto the entrees. I ordered the duck, which was good, but it was served to me cold. To the mgmts. credit, it was warmed and replated and an apology given by the floor manager. My companion ordered the fra diablo. It had 2 mussles, 2 shrimp and the rest was, as the served guessed, drum fish. Disapointing. I would not go back.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 28, 2008

not up to snuff

I've eaten in a number of the crescent city's restaurants, including others owned by D. Brennan. But Palace just isn't up to snuff. The food is ordinary, almost massed produced. In short, don't bother

By LucyW

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 14, 2007

Wonderful Brunch!

Had brunch for Mother's Day at the Palace Cafe and everything was wonderful. The food was delicious - crabmeat cheesecake appetizer is not to be missed. Our service was great too. We'll definitely be back soon.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2007

Very enjoyable evening!!!

I highly recommend Palace Cafe. The atmosphere is wonderful and the entrees are amazing. The location is great, right on Canal! The service is also wonderful! We will return soon. Thanks for such an enjoyable evening!

By Jackie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2005

The best surprise we had this vacation!

My husband and I went to the Palace Cafe on the spur of the moment (we had read a lot about the white chocolate bread pudding), and were so pleasantly surprised by this restaurant! For us, it was one of the best places we've been to in NOLA. Don't miss the turtle soup - it was wonderful! The bread pudding was as good as promised, but we also tried the creole cream cheese cheesecake - simply divine! (If you go, be sure to ask Jake for dessert

suggestions - he was right on the mark with this one!) We will definitely return to the Palace Cafe!

Read More

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 3, 2004

Best Meal of Our Week-long Trip

This was by far the best meal we ate in New Orleans. I had the Shrimp Tchefuncte (delicious sauce!) and my husband had the rabbit (a first for him and he enjoyed it). We shared a white chocolate bread pudding for dessert. The building is beautiful inside and out and at dinner, the candlelight is very romantic. We loved our meal here so much that we bought a cookbook! (By the way, my father-in-law travels to New Orleans often for business and says

that this is one of the favorite restaurants with locals.)

Read More

By Doug

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2003

Convention Restaurant

Suggest you stay with basic seafood here. I tried a more elaborate offering which fell very short. My wife had the fish which was very good. Upstairs the service is in "training mode"; I've seen better service manners at McDonalds. Senior staff is downstairs. Many large prom/convention parties.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2002

Waiter with an attitude & watered down wine!

The food was wonderful. The service a bit slow, maybe in the southern tradition (we are yankees). We were shocked when two of us were served watered down wine. At dessert, when one of us asked for some additional forks to share, a member of the waitstaff tossed the forks across the table at her.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 17, 2002

Crab cheesecake is wonderful...

Great place for a nice dinner. Ask for a table upstairs...

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2002

If only the service had been better!

The food and atmosphere were very good, but our service was so grumpy that the whole experience was ruined.

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 31, 2002

I Will Be Back!

I ate here last week for lunch and can't wait for my next trip to NO to go back. The food is excellent, as is the service. My husband and I went for lunch and had a truly enjoyable experience. The servers were helpful and efficient without being snobby and rude. There are lots of places in NO that are rather expensive but a lunch here is a great way to have good food and service without spending a fortune. The lunch special included a large (and delicious)

salad or soup, along with an entree. I can't say enough about the great food and higly recommend this place to others. I would suggest that you wear decent clothing--nothing fancy. Just don't wear shorts and old sneakers in there. It's a beautiful restaurant that is used by many business people in the area, not just tourists.

Read More

By mark

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 6, 2002

In a city full of great restaurants, this one stands out

I love this place. It has a fun, bustling atmosphere, and the food is creative and delicious. The waiters are the best - the combination of competence and conviviality is reminiscent of the service you get on a good cruise ship.

By Sondra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2001

Best Brunch

We had a Saturday brunch at this romantic and energetic setting. The food was wonderful starting with the rich beignets smoothered with carmel sauce and fresh bananas. My husband had the fish and I had the chicken. Both were excellant. By this time I was full and took some of my entree to go along with the pecan pie. I ate it a few hours later in the Denver airport to the envy of many. I would strongly recommend going here for brunch, it was

truely first class.

Read More

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2001

Crabmeat cheesecake? You bet!

When my husband and I dined at Palace Cafe recently, I ordered the crabmeat cheesecake in a pecan crust with mushrooms. It was so delicious, I almost purred. Everything else was wonderful too, especially the white chocolate bread pudding. And the service was outstanding.

By Cilla

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2001

Lemon flan from heaven, service from well, you know

We had an awesome meal but unfortunately it was the first night on the job for 2 of our team of 3 servers. They were polite but clearly not in sync with the rhythm of service. Tournadoes of beef w/bernaise and red wine reduction was rich and delicious and the lemon flan tart forgave all sins of service!!! Hey, everybody's gotta learn sometime.

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2001

I know a catfish when I meet one

Ordered the pan-raosted "gulf fish", which I was assured was red snapper. What I was served was catfish. When I asked my server about this I was vehemently assured that it was red snapper. But, alas, I know a catfish when I meet one. While the fish was still tasty, the accompanying ingredients were meager and done to different degrees. Overall, it was a disappointing entree (especially for the $22 it cost) and it didn't stand up to the restaurant's

great atmosphere and service.

Read More

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2000

A Palace Where Everyone is a King

Great food, friendly and efficient service. Try the wonderful blueberry cobbler when available.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement