Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Orleans Hotels

The Maison Dupuy

  • 1001 Toulouse St. Map It
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Quiet, yet still close to French Quarter action

Cons

  • Lobby can be cramped at check-in
  • Guests should be aware of surroundings if walking late at night

Updated 04/10/2014

Fodor's Review

Seven restored 19th-century town houses just two blocks from Bourbon Street surround one of the Quarter's prettiest courtyards. Good-sized rooms, some with balconies, offer relative tranquillity, while a spectacular fountain, lush tropical greenery, and palm trees provide a serene setting. For casual dining, Bistreaux serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Hotel Information

Address:

1001 Toulouse St., New Orleans, Louisiana, 70112, United States

Map It

Phone:

504-586–8000; 800-535–9177

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 187 rooms, 13 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/10/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in New Orleans

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2004

Very Pleasant, Quiet Hotel

The Maison Dupuy offers attractive rooms, a good restaurant, and excellent service. Particularly helpful concierge.

By Jen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2003

Great Hotel in the FQ

We stayed at the Maison Dupuy in March 2003 and were very pleased with the professionalism and the service by the hotel. We were actually married in the beautiful courtyard and had our reception here. We had about 35 rooms reserved for our guests and everything turned out great. Our guests loved the hotel and we will definitely be back. The hotel's restaurant Dominique's is wonderful!

By Phil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2003

A WONDERFULL ESCAPE FROM REALITY

We stayed at the Maison Dupuy in May of 03. The desk staff was wonderfull & there check in process was streamlined & timely. We were pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to a junior suite, which was quite nice. The grounds were well kept & provided a refuge from the madness of the French Quarter & just dripped with the charm that New Orleans is famous for. The hotel was only a short two block walk from ground zero Bourbon Street frolickig. The

desk staff were more then helpfull in booking trips & giving directions or recommendations. I would definatly come back.

Read More

By Nathan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 5, 2002

Surprisingly bland

There wasn't really anything wrong with the Maison Dupuy, but there wasn't really anything right with it either, except the pretty visual of the courtyard and a usable little pool. The room was little better than standard issue better-quality motel. The main plus was the French Quarter location, but that also brought us close to the Bourbon St. drunkfest. It didn't feel like a good deal for $149 a night.

By melanie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2002

FEEL IN LOVE THE 1ST TIME NOT THE 2ND

The first time we stayed at this hotel was July 00. We had a very nice room, and felt the staff was very helpful. We stayed again last year in Aug. What a change from one year to the next. Very young front desk staff that really did not seem to care. The first room we were given the tolet did not work and the room smelled of very heavy smoke. When I called to complain to the front desk, they did not seem care, and never offered to change rooms unless

I pushed further. Being this was Aug. I knew they were not full. The 2nd room we were give was better (at least the tolet worked) but again, the same heavy smell of smoke even though we had asked for a non-smoking room. I feel even though the hotel does have a beautiful courtyard, I would not stay here again due to the total attitude I felt came across from the front desk.

Read More

By Sondra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 4, 2001

Good Place to Stay

I would recommend this hotel and stay here agian. It was extremely quite and very close to all of the main attractions. I would never stay outside the French Quarter or near downtown. The room was fine and nothing bad to report, except very qiute. It was a good value for being in a city and the courtyard is lovely. Look for hotel deals and you will know you are getting your monies worth. Good overll.

By Dean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 9, 2001

disappointed

Very disappointed in the service at maison dupuy. this is not a 4 star hotel as advertise on other sites. check in was fine. the room was very ordinary and on the small side. Had to ask for washclothes on two nights, the 1st night they never came. was told by hotel staff that there was a housekeeping shortage. I notice on thier web site that they use imported fabrics. they looked like your standard bizzare cheap hotel print. the room carpet was very

worn and the tile in the bathrooms were very dull and dingy. I had a larger bathroomn on my last cruise. again i state this is not a luxury hotel. this hotel is located a block from ramaprt street(very scary at night). the only thing that saved this hotel eas that the summer price was right(less than $99). Room had a notice that it was non-smoking, it was quite obvious someone had smoked in before we arrived. i loved New Orleans but would consider different hotel.

Read More

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2001

Blah

After waiting 30 minutes to check in after a chaotic scene at the lobby overrun by 16 year old cheerleaders, we were brought to our room where the toilet didn't work nor the shower. After being moved to another room w/another non-working toilet, we settled into a beautiful room w/a terrace. Unfortunately, the stay was marred by an unfriendly staff who didn't take to interracial couples. While I've been to New Orleans many times before on business,

I was never treated so rudely by an establishment. I don't recommend the Maison Dupuy.

Read More

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2001

Great service

Wonderful service, excellent housekeeping and a great location. The hotel is centrally located, 2 blocks from the middle of bourbon street. A good overall value.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement