Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Orleans Hotels

Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Pros

  • Great value
  • Reasonably priced on-site parking
  • Close to the Old Ursuline Convent and the French Market

Cons

  • Café open only for breakfast and lunch
  • Bathrooms are small
  • Rooms could use updating

Updated 04/10/2014

Fodor's Review

Guests appreciate the personal friendliness of an old-fashioned small hotel as well as luxe touches such as an outdoor saltwater pool—all at a moderate rate. Some of the traditionally styled rooms have mirrored walls and large walk-in closets, and all have brass ceiling fans and ironing boards. You can request a balcony room (no extra fee) when you reserve, but the hotel will not guarantee one. An intimate bar and café is off the courtyard, with tables on the terrace

by the pool. Many regular customers wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, Louisiana, 70116, USA

Map It

Phone:

504-529–2492; 800-535–9653

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 69 rooms, 17 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/10/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in New Orleans

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Jamie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2005

Le Richelieu Doesn't Satisfy

I felt slightly misled by the raves for this hotel. I will admit that the hotel was clean, is in a good location & the service at the front desk was excellent. However, this is really a motor lodge or motel... the rooms were small (to be expected in the French Quarter), very sparse & out of date. In addition, the bed was incredibly uncomfortable, from the mattress to the pillows & linens. Our room was on the ground floor & had a view of all the comings

& goings on the street, so we had to keep the shades shut most of the time. If you do stay here, I would make sure you get a room on the upper floors, which supposedly had balconies. I will admit that this would be a decent value in the French Quarter if you are paying the $100 rate. However, we were paying an inflated Jazzfest rate of $250 & after talking to other people at Jazzfest, I think I could have spent just a little bit more & gotten a LOT more at another hotel.

Read More

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2005

may look a bit scruffy on first impression but it really is the best

I have stayed here about nine times total, which is in itself a testiment to my love of this hotel. I must say the first time though, we did think about switching to the W because of the looks. Now I think of it as a home away from home and I know most of the staff by name. Troy is great as is Linda at the front desk. Pool is always sparkling clean and great after a long hot day. The Bloody Marys are FABULOUS and the cafe is great for breakfast and

sandwiches. The free parking is very nice as well, because some french quarter hotels charge upwards of $20 per day. The staff always have great reccomendations, for a cheap filling mill go to Verdi Mart around the corner and eat by the pool or go to Fiorella's around the corner, CHEAP, great macaroni, ribs and po boys ( fried chicken is over rated), and cheap pitchers of ice cold beer. Skip Angeli if you have kids, servers are rude and slow(disappointing because the food used to be so good and pretty healthy for NOLA). Also must do things are Haunted History tours and Sunday Gospel brunch at House of Blues. And Acme oyster house, but just for oysters and gumbo. I love New Orleans, and this hotel is a great find. Laissez le bon temps roullez!

Read More

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 17, 2003

Cozy bar with great jukebox made for fun happy hour

We liked staying in this quiet part of the French Quarter. It is just a quick walk to Bourbon Street. Our room had a balcony, but the view wasn't that great. Overall, the hotel is clean and charming. The front desk is quite helpful and gave us a great restaurant recommendation around the corner from the hotel. It was a little dive, I think called Fiorella's. The food was quite good. We especially enjoyed the cozy bar after a long afternoon

of walking. The bartender was friendly and the jukebox has something for everyone! Overall this is a great hotel for the value.

Read More

By Lynda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 19, 2002

I'll Never Stay Anywhere Else -Great Hotel!

I travel extensively, and always stay in 4 Star hotels. Le Rich is my favorite, having stayed there multiple times. Maintenance, cleanliness, service,friendliness, and guest's happiness are all priorities. Overwhelming majority of staff have been there over 10 years. Employee contentment trickles down to guests. I have been treated more than fairly here, and enjoy the peace and quiet, and security. Free, guarded parking. Best value for the

money in New Orleans. Get rates by phone, as they are often different than listed here or elsewhere. Hotel is homelike to me, and I'm very discerning. Owner and management do it right!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 25, 2002

I liked the curtains but the rest, not so good

In my opinions the very thick dark curtains were worth four points so I spread them out among room and Atomashpere. If is weren't for them each would recieve a zero. But when the curtains were closed and the room was completly dark the room was quite pleasant. The service was slow on delivering our breakfast but once it got here it tasted nice. My mom and I both stayed here together and she had a somewhat different experience. She has posted here

as well.

Read More

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 25, 2002

Not enough Privacy

Our room was noisy, next to the kitchen and the pool. We had to hand in our key everytime we left the property and pick it up up on return. I felt like I had no privacy and the staff was stuffy, not very friendly. I recommend another hotel.

By Brenda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 7, 2002

Comfy, great location, terrific deal

Header says it all.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement