Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Orleans Restaurants

Antoine's

Updated 04/09/2014

Fodor's Review

Though some people believe Antoine's heyday passed before the turn of the 20th century, others wouldn't leave New Orleans without at least one order of the original oysters Rockefeller—baked oysters topped with a parsley-based sauce and bread crumbs. Other notables on the bilingual menu include pommes de terre soufflées (fried potato puffs), pompano en papillote (baked in parchment paper), and baked Alaska. Tourists are generally shown to the front room,

but walking through the grand labyrinth is a must. Be prepared for lackluster service. A jacket is preferred, but casually dressed diners can order most of the classic menu at the adjoining Hermes Bar.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

713 St. Louis St., New Orleans, Louisiana, 70130, USA

Map It

Phone:

504-581–4422

Website: www.antoines.com

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No dinner Sun.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 04/09/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in New Orleans

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2009

Historical Dinner

This was my first trip to Antoine's. The restaurant is like a museum loaded with history and perhaps as many as 15 dining rooms. It was a wonderful experience to dine there. The food however was pricey and fair tasting. The Oysters Rockefeller was doughy and boring. The Alligator Soup was excellent and more like a thin chili. The grilled pompano and crabmeat was a large serving and tasty. As a nice touch we were given the menu as a souvenir.

A jacket was not required for my dinner on a Saturday night.

Read More

By slg2000

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 26, 2007

It's Special!

Antoine's is not like a chain restaurant that you can find anywhere in the U.S., it's an institution. When we went there for the first time recently, we received excellent service, eat a delicious meal, and enjoyed a very unique restaurant. Afterward, we had a fun time exploring the place and looking at the family museum displays on the walls. Yes it is expensive, but we feel that got our money's worth. (They let us split a meal!)

By ljzg717

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 26, 2007

Great and historical

My family and I went to this restaurant on a resent trip to NO and we had a nice time. We ate the rockerfellow oysters which were great. The crawfish was delicoious too!!! I would recommend this restauraunt. Service was also great.

By antoine

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2007

A beautiful experience

Beginning with a warm greeting from the manager, Andy, at the door, sustained by professional and attentive service by Jaime and his associates at the table, warmed and nurtured by an excellent Trout Ponchartrain with asparagus hollandaise, washed by a memorable Pinot Grigio (#601) and polished off with Bananas Foster -- a truly beautiful experience. The grand old house of culinary arts and excellent hospitality is back!!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 25, 2007

waiter ruined all

we had the most arrogant waiter ever who told us not to eat the bread basket in which the fries were delivered. the food is ok but having to put up with major attitude from waiter was too much to bear. first and last time. if you are a tourist, you will be treated like a tourist and it is made quite clear that they could care less if you ever come back. not nice, no manners.

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 15, 2006

Birth of oysters Rockerfeller

The food, the room, the waiters, the City-Antoine's is New Orleans.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 28, 2005

Nice

We had a nice dinner there. We sampled 7 appetizers and had drinks and a bottle of wine. Eating there was a step back in time and very enjoyable.

By Keith

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 9, 2005

A joke and a waste of money

Ate here on a Saturday evening. Apparently, if you're an "insider" you get treated well. If not, you get indifferent service with meaningless flourishes. Never again.

By Philip

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 8, 2005

Oy, Rockefeller

I can't visit New Orleans without a dinner at Antoine's. The fish melts in your mouth, and the Oysters Rockefeller is nothing like you've ever had, having been invented right here. The waiters treat you like you are king. This place is still on top of its game.

By Dori

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 6, 2005

Glory Long Past

Where to begin: service non-existent; wrong food brought to table; THE fattiest lamb chops in the world (at $34). This is just a summary. In a city with as many great restaurants as New Orleans, this place should cease the pretense of being a restaurant and just be a museum. A disaster and a complete rip-off. Diner beware!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement