Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Orleans Restaurants

Café du Monde

Updated 04/09/2014

Fodor's Review

No visit to New Orleans is complete without a chicory-laced café au lait paired with the addictive, sugar-dusted beignets at this venerable institution. The tables under the green-and-white-striped awning are jammed with locals and tourists at almost every hour. If there's a wait, head around back to the takeout window, get your coffee and beignets to go, and enjoy them overlooking the river right next door or in Jackson Square. The most magical time to go is just before

dawn, before the bustle begins. You can hear the birds in the crepe myrtles across the way. The metro-area satellites (there's one in the CBD at the Port of New Orleans) lack the character of the original.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

800 Decatur St., New Orleans, Louisiana, 70116, USA

Map It

Phone:

504-525–4544

Restaurant Details:

  • No credit cards
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 04/09/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in New Orleans

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 22, 2011

Café du Monde Review

A stop for beignets and coffee at Cafe du Monde is a must. There are two ways to enjoy the experience: You could find a table and enjoy your treat in the actual seating area. Or you could get your beignets and coffee from the to-go window and head for a park bench on the river. Both options are satisfying. I arrived at the cafe at 4pm, so there were plenty of tables open. However, we waited at least ten minutes for a glance from a server. After

I flagged her down, she insisted someone else would be stopping by. Five minutes later, we were still waiting. Apparently, the servers were "between shifts and taking breaks." Once we ordered, it was a quick five minutes (maybe less) before the powdered sugar goodness was in front of us. Tip: no matter how hot it is outside, order a cafe au lait (not iced). It pairs perfectly with the beignets. Great New Orleans experience. I forgive the questionable service due to the delectable beignets.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 17, 2009

You Don't Stand In Line!!!

The locals just laugh at this. People queue up, of their own accord, and wait for a table, all for nothing. You go in, find a table and sit down. That's it. You'll be in and out in less than 1/2 hour. I would recommend you go to the back (near the take out window) to find your opening for a table, or those people standing in line might start throwing things at you. If you don't want beignets and/or coffee, don't bother. it's all they serve.

But why would you want anything else. They're always hot and fresh and covered in a ridiculous amount of powdered sugar.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 17, 2009

Absolutely Addicting!

This may be a tourist-filled hot spot, but it's "hot spot" status is completely warranted. The simple combo of an order of freshly made beignets and a cafe au lait is so amazing that my mouth just watered thinking about it. We went twice a day while we were staying in New Orleans. I wish they would open a satellite location in NYC...although, that would mean too-easy access and a growing middle.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 19, 2008

YUM!

We had the iced coffee and beignets on our visit to Cafe du Monde. We enjoyed both. Portions are large so you can be easily shared. Service was fast and friendly.

By lizaj1

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 29, 2007

Had to do it!

Just returned from a business trip to NO and must say I thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed at the Staybridge Suites downtown near the casino and the Hilton. It was a great room and huge with all the fittings! Cafe Du Monde was an easy walk from the hotel and we found ourseolves there to eat on two occassions. OK, so it's a tourist trap. Who cares?! It was fun and the the specialty of the house was great. Everyone around us was having a good

time as well. If you want sophistication this is not for you, but if you want to experiance a NO legend, do it! I'm sitting at home now with a cup of Cafe Du Monde cafe au lait and enjoying my morning.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 25, 2007

fun place, a must for breakfast

always nice to sit around and have chicory coffee and fresh beignets. waitstaff is mainly asian and quite stressed but the fun is still there, be careful with wearing dark clothes though as the white powdersuagr adheres to everything.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2005

Get your beignet elsewhere

This was the typical overrated tourist trap. I was disgusted by the assembly line way this place was run. It was dirty, crowded and not worth it. So many other charming cafes in the French Quarter...choose one of those.

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2005

Tourist only!

Nice to have said "I've been there", but too crowded catering to the tourists with average food & drinks. There are other small coffee cafes that give a better "flavor" of New Orleans.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 15, 2005

A N'Awlins Institution

Try and get here as early as you can to avoid lines and crowds. Even when packed, however, they keep the line moving

By Marsha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 17, 2004

A Must-Do in the Crescent City

We made the obligatory stop at Cafe du Monde on our recent trip to New Orleans, and it did not disappoint. The beignets were delicious, though our friend, who is from the area, claims the chicory coffee is better at Morning Call in Metairie (another 24-hour place). I'd love to visit this place early in the morning - it was quite loud at 3 in the afternoon!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2004

Must do!

So it is not right to go to New Orleans and not stop here.We went to the Riverwalk location,thereby avoiding the huge line at the main location.Price is right and you get what you expect.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2003

Krispy Creme Is Much Much Better

It's a long wait for at best average food in a very crowded and nasty seating area with waiters who come one and never return. You'll do better by getting some Krispy Creme donuts and a cup of coffee and sit in the area near this one to enjoy the morning sun, sights, and sounds.

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 21, 2003

Great for breakfast!

FANTASTIC. Beignets were mouthwatering. (Very very busy, so one day we couldnt get served! Went to 'to go' window and sat back at table, problem solved!) (very quick 'TO GO' service - its nice to take food and sit up on the riverfront). Look out! the icing sugar coating gets EVERYWHERE!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement