Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

New Orleans Restaurants

Café du Monde

  • 800 Decatur St. Map It
  • French Quarter
  • Café
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 04/09/2014

Fodor's Review

No visit to New Orleans is complete without a chicory-laced café au lait paired with the addictive, sugar-dusted beignets at this venerable institution. The tables under the green-and-white-striped awning are jammed with locals and tourists at almost every hour. If there's a wait, head around back to the takeout window, get your coffee and beignets to go, and enjoy them overlooking the river right next door or in Jackson Square. The most magical time to go is just before dawn, before the bustle begins. You can hear the birds in the crepe myrtles across the way. The metro-area satellites (there's one in the CBD at the Port of New Orleans) lack the character of the original.

Restaurant Information

Address:

800 Decatur St., New Orleans, Louisiana, 70116, United States

Map It

Phone:

504-525–4544

Restaurant Details:

  • No credit cards
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 04/09/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in New Orleans

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Value

  • Décor

  • Service

Jun 22, 2011

Café du Monde Review

A stop for beignets and coffee at Cafe du Monde is a must. There are two ways to enjoy the experience: You could find a table and enjoy your treat in the actual seating area. Or you could get your beignets and coffee from the to-go window and head for a park bench on the river. Both options are satisfying. I arrived at the cafe at 4pm, so there were plenty of tables open. However, we waited at least ten minutes for a glance from a server. After

I flagged her down, she insisted someone else would be stopping by. Five minutes later, we were still waiting. Apparently, the servers were "between shifts and taking breaks." Once we ordered, it was a quick five minutes (maybe less) before the powdered sugar goodness was in front of us. Tip: no matter how hot it is outside, order a cafe au lait (not iced). It pairs perfectly with the beignets. Great New Orleans experience. I forgive the questionable service due to the delectable beignets.

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Feb 17, 2009

You Don't Stand In Line!!!

The locals just laugh at this. People queue up, of their own accord, and wait for a table, all for nothing. You go in, find a table and sit down. That's it. You'll be in and out in less than 1/2 hour. I would recommend you go to the back (near the take out window) to find your opening for a table, or those people standing in line might start throwing things at you. If you don't want beignets and/or coffee, don't bother. it's all they serve.

But why would you want anything else. They're always hot and fresh and covered in a ridiculous amount of powdered sugar.

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Feb 17, 2009

Absolutely Addicting!

This may be a tourist-filled hot spot, but it's "hot spot" status is completely warranted. The simple combo of an order of freshly made beignets and a cafe au lait is so amazing that my mouth just watered thinking about it. We went twice a day while we were staying in New Orleans. I wish they would open a satellite location in NYC...although, that would mean too-easy access and a growing middle.

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jul 19, 2008

YUM!

We had the iced coffee and beignets on our visit to Cafe du Monde. We enjoyed both. Portions are large so you can be easily shared. Service was fast and friendly.

By lizaj1

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Dec 29, 2007

Had to do it!

Just returned from a business trip to NO and must say I thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed at the Staybridge Suites downtown near the casino and the Hilton. It was a great room and huge with all the fittings! Cafe Du Monde was an easy walk from the hotel and we found ourseolves there to eat on two occassions. OK, so it's a tourist trap. Who cares?! It was fun and the the specialty of the house was great. Everyone around us was having a good

time as well. If you want sophistication this is not for you, but if you want to experiance a NO legend, do it! I'm sitting at home now with a cup of Cafe Du Monde cafe au lait and enjoying my morning.

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Mar 25, 2007

fun place, a must for breakfast

always nice to sit around and have chicory coffee and fresh beignets. waitstaff is mainly asian and quite stressed but the fun is still there, be careful with wearing dark clothes though as the white powdersuagr adheres to everything.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

X

No Thanks

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.