Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

New Orleans Restaurants

Bon Ton Café

Updated 04/09/2014

Fodor's Review

The Bon Ton's opening in 1953 marked the first appearance of a significant Cajun restaurant in New Orleans, and the now-famed crawfish dishes, gumbo, jambalaya, and oyster omelet continue to draw fans. The bustle in the dining room peaks at lunchtime on weekdays, when businesspeople from nearby offices come in droves for turtle soup, eggplant with a shrimp and crab étouffée, and the warm, sugary bread pudding. If you can sacrifice the afternoon for pleasure, try a Rum Ramsey cocktail. The veteran servers are knowledgeable and fleet-footed.

Restaurant Information

Address:

401 Magazine St., New Orleans, Louisiana, 70130, United States

Map It

Phone:

504-524–3386

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed weekends

Updated 04/09/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By wwsteen

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Mar 8, 2008

Great for Business Lunch

I've been eating here for 20 years. It just keeps getting better.

By Jbolner

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Feb 18, 2008

Authentic New Orleans

Bon Ton is the real deal. This is where the locals get fed. Don't show up in your black socks and sandals.

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Feb 3, 2008

Lovely Place for Dining in NOLA!

Bon Ton Cafe's hospitality afforded a gracious dining experience for us on 01/31/2008. The excellent but unpretentious Cajun food and friendly wait staff were superb! We would highly recommend this restaurant. Debbie's salad is top notch. Save room for the Bread Pudding with Whisky Sauce.

By jev71

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 28, 2008

Excellent Dining Experience!

We dined at Bon Ton Friday 1/25/07 with a party of 7 and all were very impressed with the quality of both food and service. Everyone at the table had different soups and entrees, and we all were very pleased. My wife had the Crab Imperial/Crab au Gratin combination and I the soft shell crab, both EXCELLENT. The gumbo and bisque were terrific. Another person in our party thought his steak was the best he had ever tasted. And how could anyone pass

up the bread pudding with whiskey sauce. Great! I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

X

No Thanks

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.