Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

New Orleans Restaurants

Acme Oyster House

  • 724 Iberville St. Map It
  • French Quarter
  • Seafood
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 04/09/2014

Fodor's Review

A rough-edge classic in every way, this no-nonsense eatery at the entrance to the French Quarter is a prime source for cool and salty raw Gulf oysters; legendary shrimp, oyster, and roast-beef po'boys; and tender, expertly seasoned red beans and rice. Even locals can't resist, although most opt for the less crowded, if less charming, suburban branches (there's one in Metairie). Expect lengthy lines here in the French Quarter, often a half-block long—trust us, though, it's worth it. Crowds lighten in the late afternoon, making Acme a perfect respite for a mid-afternoon snack of a dozen on the half shell washed down with an Abita beer.

Restaurant Information

Address:

724 Iberville St., New Orleans, Louisiana, 70130, United States

Map It

Phone:

504-522–5973

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 04/09/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Restaurants
  • Sights
  • Hotels

See all restaurants in New Orleans

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Rutcut

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Dec 27, 2013

Acme Oyster House!

Amazing! Get here before the rush on week-ends (lines are common). Full House seating! MOST amazing etoufee! and boo fries, and oysters, and gumbo! Great menu, very friendly staff. Visit the oyster shuckers at the end of the night! ... there are paneled dividers to watch. Only place we went back to twice!

By kurkie1

  • Service

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 17, 2012

Great food but noisy

Have eaten here a few times. Food is great. Great value for the money, which is inexpensive. However, if you're looking for a restaurant atmosphere, look elsewhere. A casual eatery that is very noisy.

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jul 6, 2009

My favorite NOLA restaurant!

The char-grilled oysters are to die for - the best oyster dish anywhere! All their food was great - red beans and rice, jambalaya, sausage and sides. The Cajun Sampler is large and you get to try everything. The stawberry shortcake was also outstanding. The sponge cake was light, loads of whipped cream and strawberries served in a giant beer goblet. Crowds can be heavy. I also ate at the Metairie location and the food was just as good in a larger

dining room with no wait.

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Mar 29, 2009

Didn't want to ever leave

Never thought I would ever eat oysters, but they were awesome, want more right now. The service that we received was excellent. Everything that I ate there was good.

By shormk2

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Mar 10, 2009

Wonderful Oysters and Good, Old Fashioned Cold Beer: What More Do You Need?

ACME Oyster surpassed my expectations! Phenomenal Oysters, great service at the bar, very prompt. The Restaurant was packed at 11am on a Friday morning and shortly after we were seated a line formed outside. However, you won't mind the wait when you get a taste of the oysters on the half-shell, the red beans and rice, and the gumbo. We ate oysters several time while we were in NoLa and ACME had the best by far. Even though they were serving

pitchers of beer to some patrons, it was still very family-friendly when we were there.

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Feb 17, 2009

Great experience

Upon arriving into New Orleans we asked the guy at our front desk (the Hampton Inn) for a recommendation close by. He recommended this place, and seriously, we spent the whole rest of the weekend trying to match how good this was. The crawfish boil, pretty simple really, was better than I've ever had. Seriously tasty without being too salty. The gumbo was amazing and my husband LOVED his po boy. We also split a plate of broiled oysters, and there

was no trouble accommodating my special dietary requirements. The service was great and we didn't wait at all to be seated. On the other hand, it was in the middle of the afternoon on a Thursday. But then, if you want to eat at a place like this without waiting, go in the middle of the afternoon! I'd eat there again, and I'd definitely (and did!) recommend it to friends.

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 26, 2009

Acme is what it is + free entertainment

The service was better but the food was off a little. The oysters were awesome. 'Broadway is' still shuckin'.

By eli2884

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 2, 2009

Over-rated Food

ACME is among many other restaurants in French Quarters that are over-rated. You always see a long line formed outside the restaurant that makes you believe that their food must be good. Not so. I have tried three different half shell oysters in FQ and this one is actually rated the lowest. However, the service is good and the price is reasonable. If you don't care for a fresh oyster platter, this can be a quite fit family choice.

By dcgator

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Nov 16, 2008

Just what I wanted!

Went to the French Quarter. Had great Oysters at a great price. Came back the next day. Did it again. Came back on Sunday and did it again. Best value in New Orleans. Don't know why anybody is complaining about this place. It was clean, cheap, and the food was fresh. Best deal in the French Quarter.

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jun 21, 2008

Ate lunch there almost every day!

This is my kind of food. The soft shell crab are out of sight and the hush puppies, Delicious!!!

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Apr 22, 2008

Just OK

Thought it was going to be good. Turned out to be run kind of like a fridays. Not real professional and food was nothing great. After waiting in line I thought it had to be good, wrong!!! It wasn't terrible just average like a nice applebee's or something. Expected a better experience.

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Sep 26, 2007

Love It!

Love this place. No-frills atmosphere with friendly waitstaff, and awesome food! Lines get long early so be prepared to eat at an off time or wait in line.

By ljzg717

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jul 25, 2007

Horrible experience with Manager

This restaurant was recommended to me and so on Saturday (July 21, 2007) I went to dinner with my group. We totaled 8. The address is 724 Iberville St. The host was nice and we ate pretty well. Once we paid we were planning on going to Bourbon Street and it started to rain horribly. We thought we would have drinks at the bar inside the restaurant and the manager rudely told us we were taking up space and if we were not going to eat at the bar we could

not just order drinks. We explained we had just eaten there and since it was raining we thought of having a drink. He said NO. So we stood by the door and he came after us and told us we had to leave the restaurant immediately. We asked if we could just stay until the rain stopped and he told us that if we wanted to we could walk to the next door garage but we must leave. We could not believe that with the rain he was just kicking us out. After all we had consumed over $150.00 five minutes prior. My father said he would leave once the rain stopped and so he called the police officer to kick us out. This experience was terrible. I could not believe he was the manager. He was so rude. Although the food was not bad, my managers attitude was unacceptable and in order to continue having some type of good reputation I believe management needs to be changed.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

X

No Thanks

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.