Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Hotels

Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel

Pros

  • Close to Wrigley Field and popular bars and restaurants
  • Helpful staff

Cons

  • Parking is not ideal

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

This centrally located hotel in the city's Lakeview neighborhood offers all essential amenities at a reasonable price: a stay here includes free Continental breakfast and use of business facilities and a fitness center. There's little room to relax in the American colonial–style lobby, but the rooms are inviting enough; deluxe rooms come with whirlpool tubs. The hotel's front terrace becomes a place to see and be seen in the summer months, especially when street festivals roar into town.

Hotel Information

Address:

3434 N. Broadway, Chicago, Illinois, 60657, USA

Map It

Phone:

773-244–3434; 888-675–2378

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 59 rooms, 24 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 06/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By nanfit

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 29, 2008

Delighted! stayed in Feb. 2008

we were delighted with this hotel and especially for the great value for the $. Well maintained colonial decor, meticulously clean, friendly/very helpful staff, coffee all day in the lobby, good fitness room,easy access parking, and super neighborhood.with countless cool restaurants, boutiques.

By Zach

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 2, 2006

Where were you staying Ellen?

I had read the review by Ellen from Seattle and was concerned about staying at the Hawthorne Terrace, but she could not have been more WRONG. The rooms were charming and very large. This was the cleanist room I have ever stayed, including some un-named 5 diamond properties. The staff was delightful. They were willing to offer many suggestions on EVERYTHING. Although the overnight guy was a little wierd, but very friendly. The only negative (sort

of) was it was very hard to get a reservation, they were booked, A LOT!!

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2005

Watch Out Ritz Carlton

This was not what i expected from a Best Western, it was a charming and well appointed botuque hotel. The hotel is 1 block from the lake, 1 block from North Halstead, 2 blocks from Clark Street, 1 1/2 form Sheffield. There are too many restaraunts, night clubs, & neighborhood bars to mention. I love the FREE HSIA, local calls, & continental breakfast. The staff was great. They gave us recommendations on all things to do and see in Chicago. It had

to be the cleanest rooms I've ever been in, watch out Ritz Carlton. They also have a letter from The Cubs in the lobby. The courtyard was so relaxing and elegant. Now if the city would finish fixing the sidewalks, the hotel would be no less than perfect. The hotel manager tells me they should finish the sidewalks in July 05. I will be back!

Read More

By Terry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2004

Best Western is the Best in the 'hood

I found the hotel small and charming. My wife and I loved being in such a friendly hotel. We walked to see a Cubs game, and the staff suggested several great palces to eat and drink. Hats off to Amanda, Carmen, Joshua, and thier bosses Stephen and Jerry. We will be back! =)

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2003

Best Neighborhood Hotel

This is by far the best place to stay north of Michigan Avenue in Chicago. This is not a luxury hotel, however it is exremely clean with nicer touches than one would expect from a small Best Western. I have stayed here several times since it was renovated from a low class transient hotel. The free Ann Sathers continental breakfast is nice, as is the fitness room and whirlpool/sauna. The staff is usually very helpful and the neighborhood can't be beat.

Lakeview is a real Chicago neighborhood without tourists. Very eclectic with great shops and restauranrs with very easy access to the lake and downtown (10 minutes) Especially good for those interested in Gay/Lesbian scene or Cubs games, since both are right in the neighborhood. Rooms book up fast here during special events, so call way in advance.

Read More

By Doug

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 24, 2001

A Hidden Treasure Near Wrigley Field

Everything was nice about this hotel including the neighborhood,short walk to Wrigley Field and the subway.We want to come back.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement