Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Hotels

InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile

  • Courtesy of InterContinental Chicago

  • Courtesy of InterContinental Chicago

  • Courtesy of InterContinental Chicago

  • Courtesy of InterContinental Chicago

  • Enter photo credit

Pros

  • Renovated Grand Tower
  • Historic feel
  • Jaw-dropping pool
  • View of the Magnificent Mile

Cons

  • Concierge service is spotty
  • Staff can be less than friendly

Updated 07/19/2013

Fodor's Review

Following renovations completed in 2013, this historic hotel is even more equipped to address the evolving needs of today's traveler—from the contemporary air of the guest rooms to the enormous swimming pool and well-stocked fitness center. The Shriner greeting "Es Salamu Aleikum" ("Peace Be To God") is etched on foyer columns, a reminder that it was once the Medinah Men's Athletic Club. The in-house destinations inclue Eno, a wine, cheese, and chocolate bar; and the

popular Michael Jordan's Steakhouse.

Read More

Hotel Award Winner | 2013

Hotel Information

Address:

505 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago, Illinois, 60611, USA

Map It

Phone:

312-944–4100; 800-628–2112

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 720 rooms, 72 suites
  • No meals

Updated 07/19/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 25, 2007

the best on michigan avenue

great location, olympic size pool where Johnny Weissmueller swam, beautiful antique reproductions, great high tea, choose a room in the old wing which used to be the shriner's headquarters. great architecture, a real feast for the eyes, beautiful tiffany china and views to die for ...

By Phil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 2, 2005

Stay Away - unless you get it cheap!!!

Good location, but we had no hot water for our showers in the morning (they ran out)! They also failed to clean up a broken glass in our bathroom despite calling housekeeping three times, and they stole a woman's top from us that we left in the room!

By Weezer

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2005

Disappointing

No reason to stay here unless you are unable to get a room elsewhere.

By Rita

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 7, 2004

Some Wedding Night!

They gave away our room on our Wedding Night. We had asked for a room in the historic part of the hotel, confirmed it with credit card and phone call. The hotel even sent us a confirmation letter. They did put us up in the "new" part, but it just wasn't the same.

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2002

Great Historical Hotel

The Hotel just spentmillionsrenovating.Take the Historical tour available from the Concierge- what great history and what an incredible renovation/restoration. Intercontinental spent millions bringing back the original splendor of this Hotel with lots of personality. I would never stay in the "main" (60's) tower though, only the older part with more luxurious rooms that cost more. It can get very busy being a large hotel and so many conventions in

Chicago, so be careful when you book- but when not at capacity,this hotel outshines the Michigan Ave competition with personal service and nice extra touches many other upscale hotels forget. It does have quirks like the slow elevators I saw mentioned, no in room high speed internet(get with the times!) and only one restaurant for 800 rooms. Terrific pool,location, staff, and if you are lucky , a great room.(all different sizes and shapes)Not the Four Seasons, but it is not trying to be. It's upscale and has tons of charm in a warm, friendly envoronment.

Read More

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 18, 2002

Great Hotel with personality

Great Historic hotel with charm and personality. May have quirks like a/c issues and slow elevators, but not many other hotels in the u.s. have so much history and beautiful public spaces. Not your average boring hum drum Hilton/Marriott. PAY MORE FOR THE HISTORIC TOWER! It is worth it. Great new renovation and terrific staff for such a large hotel. Just make sure not to book during a convention or busy Chicago weekend...long lines and trashy priceline

guests. I love this hotel and all it's quirks. Perfect for those seeking an upscale hotel with good service and great character. (food and fitness center A+)

Read More

By Rhonda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 10, 2002

Red Carpet Treatment!

We stayed here for 1 week and celebrated my daughter's 10th birthday. From the moment we exited the taxi at the hotel, it was as if they had rolled out the red carpet just for us! Every detail of our trip was handled by the hotel staff, and we simply had to "show up" to receive excellent service. The highlight was the large olympic sized indoor swimming pool. My daughter made sure she had her nightly swim before retiring for the evening. The location

was perfect, as it was in the center of the miracle mile shopping district. We even had a view of Lake Michigan and the Navy Pier from our room! We walked to many sights, and the doorman was eager to assist with the taxi trip for sights that were too far to walk. In closing, my daughter still talks of this vacation as being her favorite. We have traveled to many places, including the "ultimate customer service" location of Disney World, and she still wants to revisit Chicago and stay at the Hotel Inter-Continental.

Read More

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 19, 2001

Hotelus Interuptous

My husband and I booked a room here for Labor Day weekend. Pulled special rates off thier own website and called their own reservation line to confirm. Flew in, cabbed to hotel, but our reservations were not on the books. This was immediately presented as our faults...we "should have known that all of their reservations begin with the number 8"! First they said they were booked and could not honor a reservation at all, then miraculously they found

us a room for $279/night, instead of their own published rate of $109.Long story short... rude staff, ruder management. We had a fabulous weekend at the SwissHotel.The best revenge is living well!

Read More

By Josh

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2000

Great Location

I stayed at the Intercontinental for a week and had a very nice stay. The hotel is located next to the Chicago Tribune and is in the most desirable part of the city. The Chicago river is only two blocks away. The building itself has an interesting history, being the old Shriners club. At the top of the building is what looks like an onion dome or mosque. Ask the staff if they can take you to see it. Ask for the old tower. My room was in this older

building which is said to be nicer than the newer tower which looks like it was built during the postwar era. Rooms are very comfortable and the minibar was well stocked. My room had a digital thermometer and it was nice to have such control of the temperature. The pool is very ornate and they have a health club (didn't use that). Breakfast is good but expensive in the large restaurant. The smaller restaurant/bar (I think it's called the 541?) serves a good reasonably-priced meal. Dinner in the larger restaurant is very good but call ahead. Service throughout the hotel is very good.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement