Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Hotels

The Drake

Pros

  • Lovely, walkable neighborhood
  • Steps from Oak Street Beach and high-end boutiques

Cons

  • No swimming pool
  • Some rooms are tiny

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

Built in 1920, the grande dame of Chicago hotels stands tall where Michigan Avenue and Lake Shore Drive intersect in Chicago's swanky Gold Coast; the beautiful lobby was inspired by an Italian Renaissance palace, and the sounds of a fountain and harpist beckon at the Palm Court, a traditional setting for afternoon tea, especially appealing during the winter holidays. There's live music in the Coq d'Or on Friday and Saturday nights, and the Cape Cod Room serves great crab

cakes.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

140 E. Walton Pl., Chicago, Illinois, 60611, USA

Map It

Phone:

312-787–2200; 800-553–7253

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 535 rooms, 74 suites
  • No meals

Updated 06/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Bo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 5, 2004

Good for $99

This was a good hotel for the $99 price tag that we paid for it. Another way of saying this is, there is absolutely no way I would spend the $200+ dollars that the room normally goes for (even if it is in downtown Chicago). The best thing about the hotel is its location. The service was quite good. The room was small (and we were in an upgraded room). The room walls were paper thin (so don't go for your honeymoon). The hotel and rooms looked

and felt old. I may be cheap or expecting too much (must be since this was the trend for most of the other downtown hotels) but it is against my principles to pay $10 extra for high speed internet when you bring your own laptop. I have never paid for it before in both large and small cities as well as nice and not as nice hotels where it was offered. Overall it was a nice hotel but I was disappointed since I was supposed to be staying at "The Drake".

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2002

Give Me a Break! The Drake is a Fake!

The Drake in Chicago is living on past glory. I've stayed at the Drake twice-once for a wedding and once for business. Both visits were worthless exercises in patience. For the wedding I had a small room with an even smaller bathroom. For business I was given a suite with faulty heating (it was the middle of February) after requesting a room change due to an obnixious birthday party in a room next to my standard room with leaky plumbing and a

broken television. On each visit the hotel staff recited apologies for various problems throughout the building and each apology sounded more rehearsed than the last. I refuse to return and have found the Swissotel or the House of Blues Hotel to be a better alternative with plenty of luxury to go along with a better room rate.

Read More

By Guest

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 7, 2001

Small Rooms!

The only thing that I can really say is that the rooms are so small, you would think you were staying in some hotels in Manhattan. There is no reason to stay at The Drake unless you splurge for a suite. The service was great, but do you really want to sleep in what some may consider a closet??? My bathroom was clean and renovated, but with newer fixtures that were antique looking which I thought gave it that certain charm that the hotel strives

to maintain. Basically, either get a suite or stay at the Ritz/Four Seasons/Peninsula....

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2001

Room without a view

There were a lot of things I like about my stay at The Drake, unfortunately the biggest disappointment was with the rooms. The health club facility was wonderful, the lobby is amazing and the service was fine, but the rooms looked dingy, and I thought the walls were paper thin and could here most of what was going on in my neighbors room. Also, the number of rooms with views Lake Michigan are fairly limited and your alternatives are the office building

across the street. If you don't plan on spending much time in your room, this could be your place.

Read More

By Will

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2001

Unbelievably Overrated

Someone from Fodor's staff needs to get back to the Drake. Most rooms are very small and lack any real charm. The service was unfriendly and uncaring. NOT a luxury hotel.

By Brad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 3, 2001

The Drake = Chicago Luxury

From the second you step into the exquisite lobby you know you will be in for a treat. The styling of days past reminds me of lobbies at some of the countries finest: New York's Waldorf and Plaza, San Franciso's Fairmont, etc. Everyone from the concierge to the front desk reacted quickly to needs that arrived. The concierge got us into very trendy restaurants, 160 Blue for example, where otherwise it would have been impossible at such short notice.

The rooms are not the largest, but fit in with the hotels theme. The hotel's lobby is, in my opinion, nicer than its luxury competition--The Ritz or the Four Seasons. If you want to stay somewhere that screams luxury, and old money, The Drake is the place for you.

Read More

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 10, 2001

What's in a name?

Yes an exceptional location, but living on its past. Rooms are nothing fancy and tried to use a modem in the room and kept getting the line dropped and each local call was $1.00. They weren't too interested in making adjustments for it either.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement