Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Hotels

The Allerton Hotel Chicago

Pros

  • Lovely neighborhood
  • Close to Mag Mile shopping, Rush Street nightlife, and Navy Pier
  • Delightful concierge and doormen

Cons

  • Guest rooms and bathrooms can be small

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

Named a National Historic Landmark in 1999, this limestone building was a residential "club hotel" for men when it opened in 1924; a renovation restored the limestone facade and left it with a more contemporary, residential feel. The bed linens are white with navy piping, and the rooms are styled with a mix of blues, white, and yellow. If you want to stay in a place in the middle of it all, this is a very good choice.

Hotel Information

Address:

701 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago, Illinois, 60611, USA

Map It

Phone:

312-440–1500

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 443 rooms, 54 suites
  • No meals

Updated 06/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By amdc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 31, 2006

Satisfied

We wanted a decently priced hotel room (is there such a thing in Chicago?). We chose to stay here because of the location and price but were a little nervous about the reviews. The hotel is quaint, we enjoyed the historic feel, better than the new more modern, "plastic" hotels. Our room was small but cozy, the staff were pleasant, and we couldn't have asked for a better location. We saw several other unhappy customers when we were there, from the

check in reservation desk, another person in front of us in line complained about a staff person smoking in her nonsmoking hallway, and yet another person complained about his meal bill while we were in the elevator. The unhappy people were vocal and shared their displeasure with everyone around them. We were fortunate, all went well for us and Yes, we would return!

Read More

By Sean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 25, 2006

My Very Favorite

I stay here frequently. I am always provided a room upgrade. The rooms, the views, the service are always wonderful and the loctaion can not be beat. I agree that the elevators are small and the process of changing on the 3rd floor is unusual. But those are small inconveniences considering everything this hotel offers.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 15, 2006

Fell Short of Expectations

Our stay at the Allerton was disappointing. The room was not even close to being ready on time and the staff was completely unapologetic. The lobby is basically on the 2nd floor and there are only two elevators that will take you there, so basically you stand down with the valets and wait (and wait and wait) during busy times, just to make it up to the lobby. Then, to get up to your room, you have to change elevators and wait, wait, wait again.

The rooms were very small (almost claustrophobic) and our room had a view of a construction project and a roof (suffice to say, we kept the shades down during our stay). When we requested more towels from the front desk (twice), they informed us that someone would come by soon, but that person never came. We asked the maid in the hallway and she said that we had to get extra towels from the front desk (!). I needed to use a computer to check into my airline and to print a boarding pass - this was the first hotel I have ever stayed in that charged you per minute to use their 1988 IBM computer and then charged a ridiculous rate per print out. Cheap, cheap, cheap! I will never return to this hotel - there are too many great hotels in Chicago!

Read More

By Nick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 11, 2005

Couldn't have asked for a better stay

I just ran the 2005 Chicago Marathon. I was nervous about staying here because of all the bad reviews I read. My wife and I couldn't have been happier with our stay. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. They just upgraded the bedding. The room was really small, but I am not a large person so, I didn't need the space. I had plenty of hot water, altough it acted up on me once. No big deal. The elevators were slower than usual,

but hey, it is a renovated, historical building. We were in the heart of Chicago, so walking to where I needed to go was no problem. The staff was very courteous and helpful with everything. The sleeping package they gave me allowed me the best nights sleep I have had in months.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 4, 2005

Great Location, Good Rooms

We recently stayed here due to getting a good deal at priceline.com. The rooms are small, but when I'm in Chicago, the last thing I usually want to do is hang out in my hotel room. The layout is a bit "unique" but the beds are comfortable. If you're looking for the phonebook, it will probably be in the closet. When you arrive, you take an elevator to the 3rd floor to check-in. Then you take a different elevator to get to the rooms. Be wary of

leaving ANY change in your car. Most of our change (for tolls) was swiped by the valet (which we paid $36 a day to park the car). Hotel passed the buck to the parking garage service, who was mildly apologetic.

Read More

By Walter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 3, 2002

A good chain hotel

My room was a nice suite for an excellent price and service was OK if not very spirited. What is lacking is an attractive lobby area and better lifts. Switching on the 3rd floor is tedious. Conclusion: a good chain hotel.

By Robin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2002

Tiniest rooms ever!

I have NEVER stayed in a hotel with SMALLER rooms that the Allerton!! I had to crawl over the bed to get to the restroom!! Do NOT stay at this hotel!

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 10, 2002

"Once a Hoilday Inn is always a Holiday Inn".

This was my worst stay in Chicago yet and I have stayed any many hotel from Motel 8 to the Swiss for the last ten years. The Allerton was small and the bed was lumpy and the clean towels had hair in it and not ours. I will always remember not to stay there and how miserable of a stay it was the hotel elevators were small and slow and they were on different levels. I suggest going up to the room to check it out before checking. While was there I went

to check out the Lenox suites and for the price and how big they were. I was so mad I didn't just stay there. Next time I know. I am warning all to stay away from the ALlerton unless you like Holiday Inns. Liz

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement