Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Hotels

Four Seasons Hotel Chicago

Pros

  • In the middle of high-end shopping
  • Well-appointed and generously sized rooms
  • Outstanding room service and housekeeping

Cons

  • Very expensive
  • Being so high up means that rooms can get a little noisy on windy days

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

At the refined Four Seasons, guest rooms begin on the 30th floor (the hotel sits atop the tony 900 North Michigan Shops), so there's a distinct feeling of seclusion—and there are great views to boot. The elegant rooms are inspired by 1940s French decor and have spalike baths with Chinese marble. The lobby art is well worth a look, and breakfast at Allium is a great way to start the day. There's also a lovely spa and outdoor bar.

Hotel Information

Address:

120 E. Delaware Pl., Chicago, Illinois, 60611, USA

Map It

Phone:

312-280–8800; 800-332–3442

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 175 rooms, 168 suites
  • No meals

Updated 06/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2012

Four Seasons (Ritz-Carlton) doesn't meet expectations

We were so looking forward to staying at the Four Seasons in Chicago. Our corner lake view was limited even though we'd booked our room ten months in advance. Most disappointing was the service in the lounge; after 20 minutes of waiting the gentlemen in our group went to the bar itself, ordered and brought the drinks to our table. Also, parking was a problem while loading and unloading. Our daughter's boyfriend lives in Chicago and had to circle the

block after having been told he could park for loading purposes and while the car was attended, near the theater door under the ramp complex. Then when he went to do just that, a different attendant overrode that decision and said no way. Also, the rooms are nice but dated. We could hear people in adjoining rooms on occasion. The manager was supposed to call me after our departure after being told about our problems; however, that call only came after I emailed the hotel, a couple months later. He offered nothing in the way of compensation, even though we paid a lot of $$$$ for location, mostly...evidently. Disappointed to say the least.

Read More

By Phil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2004

Nice room, unforgivable service

A lovely property. Rooms small nd showing wear. Great views. The service, at almost every point in our 2 night stay, was inexplicably poor. The nearby Park Hyatt was infinitely superior! The only Four Seasons I have found to disappoint!

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2003

Watch out for this windy wonder

Beautiful common areas, spa and restaurants. The room was nice but not extraordinary. When we checked in, a windy night in May, we were told not to worry about the creaking noises in the room: "It's normal when we get a windy evening." We were then handed this same explanation in writing, along with some foam earplugs. My husband accused me of snoring all night (he wore the plugs, I didn't). Luckily I was exhausted and got in a good 5 hours of sleep

before I was wakened by the incessent noise. Who would have thought that a nite at the Four Seasons was a total waste.

Read More

By Jamie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 7, 2002

Peninsula Is Chicago's Best Hotel

The Peninsula is Chicago's best hotel, but Fodor's has no listing for it now 1.5 years after it opened, so I'm posting this rave here. I used to stay only at the FS. It's a great hotel, getting a little worn and in need of a refurb. But since the Pen opened I've stayed there 4 times. It is better than the FS for room quality and location, and service is almost as good as FS. Zagat 2003 has rated the Peninsula Chicago the top hotel in the entire USA.

The #2 hotel? FS Chicago.

Read More

By Carla

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2002

Ask About Construction - Jackhammering overhead!

We just returned from our honeymoon in Chicago at the Four Seasons. Amazingly, they forgot to mention during reservations and at check in that they would be jackhammering marble on the floor directly above our room. Needless to say the construction began at 9am. I was also told by an Asst. Manager that it was only happening on one day. That again was untrue. I will give the Spa a true 5 since they were so wonderful. The Spa is soundproofed

so you do not hear anything other than the soothing music. A must if you plan to stay at the hotel. For us, it was our only positive.

Read More

By TJ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2002

No Problem

The staff must have this drilled into their brains no matter what you ask. Great views and unbelieveable service. Stayed here for a week while the contractors finished our renovation and they treated us like family. They would even walk the dogs for us if we were held up at dinner (and they're big, not little yappers). The staff knew our names by day two (they knew the dog's names by day one).

By Sara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2002

Great Hotel

We enjoyed our stay very much. The service at the hotel is the best in Chicago. I gave the room a 4 because we got a suite without a very good view. Everything else was great but expensive.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2001

You Know You Want To

Oh, just do it. I know you've seen the price and what your meals are going to cost, or that a coke from the minibar costs $20, but at the end of the day its worth it. I travel a lot on business and the service and attention to detail from the staff was wonderful. The gym is first rate and the spa is amazing. I've stayed at other Four Seasons before, and this tops them all.

By SM

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2001

One of the Best Four Seasons Out There

Stunning views, hushed, elegant atmosphere and wonderful, well-kept rooms. They also seem to be liberal with upgrades. I was on an expense account, but it was such a wonderful experience, I would be tempted to stay there again next time I visit -- even on my own dime.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement