Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Hotels

W Chicago City Center

  • 172 W. Adams St. Map It
  • $$$
  • Design

Pros

  • Sleek, modern design
  • Great location

Cons

  • No free in-room Wi-Fi
  • You can hear the El from some rooms

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

With a lobby that feels like a club, and spacious high-tech rooms done up in graphite and cream, this financial district hotel welcomes a lively crowd along with business travelers. The modern and sleek rooms are also notable for incredibly comfortable beds with upholstered leather headboards, glass-top desks, and stylish bathrooms with more-than-the-usual toiletries. The location is also good, as it's within walking distance of theaters, Millennium Park, and the Art Institute.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

172 W. Adams St., Chicago, Illinois, 60603, USA

Map It

Phone:

312-332–1200; 877-822–0000

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 358 rooms, 12 suites
  • No meals

Updated 06/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 6, 2007

Don't stay here

This hotel just can't get anything right, they think as long as you're cute you can work there, forget about competence. I've stayed there 2ce figuring it was a one time thing but no. One night room freezing cold, they send engineer up at 1 am who fiddles with thermostat and pronounces it fixed. Next night (new room) we are stuck at 85 degrees. Room service sends up soup without a spoon. And forget about sleeping if your room overlooks the EL (or

get the ear plugs offered at the front desk). The wait service at the restaurant is awful. The gym is dirty. They never got back to me when I asked multiple times for an explantion. Etc., Etc., Etc. Stay at the W Lakeshore if you like the look of the W!

Read More

By cd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 31, 2005

W just fine

Given all the other reviews, I was expecting to be mugges by the hotel staff before getting to the hotel, Chris at the desk, Kweisi at the front door, Mario the concierge couldn't have been nicer and rooms not luxurious but nice.

By R

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2005

Inexperienced service and a filthy hotel

This has to be one fo the worst hotels that I have ever seen. The rooms are small and dirty, and the staff is extremely rude and (I'm not stretching anything here) dangerous; let me explain. The outdoor staff, and I have witnessed this, harasses people who are walking down this busy street during rush hour (rude gestures, name calling) for no apparant reason, other than (for a lack of a better term) prove they're low lifes. Hotel guests are also

targets it seems. I have reported this to their corporate office, we'll see if anything gets done, but considering the amount you're spending at this hotel, I would definitely look elsewhere.

Read More

By Dean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2005

Dont bother with this W.. stay at the W Lakeshore - or better yet - the Sofitel!

Checked out after one night.. total disapointment. The W Lakeshore is 10x better.. but when we enquired about moving there - they would not honour our room rate or give us the same room type. We ended up at the Sofitel Water Tower - which is a MUCH better hotel. Wish we had booked the Sofitel right from the start. Would NEVER stay at the W City Center again - even if the room was free.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 28, 2004

Where is my $20?

Nice httel, has the cool W look. The upgraded room was great, a little dark, but big. Furnishings cool. Room service speedy with food good. Gave the concierge, $20 to make us a dinner reservation 2 days in advance. Osoma (the cocierge) took my money and ran. No reservation, nothing, I complained and still nothing. Hmmmmm. Fat chance if I return. I expect a great deal more from a W.

By Ben

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2004

Perfect for my Needs!

I travel with my company on a regualr basis and in to Chicago most often. Since my company's office is downtown, they have a special rate with the W City Center as well as 3 other hotels. By far this is the best hotel in the Loop, and would argue the downtown area. There are more upscale hotels if you like the opulent, snooty environment, but this is perfect for my needs. It was built back in the 20's or 30's so it is an old building, but I think

they did a great job in converting it. The rooms are extremely comfortable as well as the beds. I have found it to always be extremly clean and the service to be willing to bend over backwards. I agree with one of the reviewers that the parking is pricey. I rented a car once and about gagged at the price. But every hotel downtown is about the same. Don't rent a car if you don't have to. They are close to a lot of restaurants and shopping.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 20, 2002

Tragically Hip

This is an incredibly hip, interesting hotel in a beautiful old building The comments about the place being dark are true, but I think the place is great. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, the room was wonderful, the bed quite comfortable. I was in Chicago for business and found it a perfect place, with a quiet room, a huge desk, high speed internet access, a printer/fax in the room. The decor is lots of reds, purples, greys and greens.

It is cool and soothing, with interesting lighting and beautiful, contemporary art. This is not your dad's Hilton.

Read More

By Davis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 11, 2002

"Hip"+"business traveler" form oxymoron

This is still just the Midland Hotel, same small rooms, same A/C, new 'attitude', and price. The beds are really nice and comfy,wish that they, and bathroom, were clean as well, with hairs being my major complaint.The pounding disco music, especially at the entry doors, which no one ever dances to, the unnecessary smoke in the air, are called by the hotel's press an "oasis from hectic city bustle".Give me the diesel fumes and jackhammer racket! The

concierge's main function is that of a male cigarette girl(one in our party coined the term 'himbo'). Bills were found to be padded with valet park charges. We liked the subdued lighting, and wished that the bed lamps were 3-way or low level incandescent rather than glaring,but energy saving flourescent. The room service menu looked nice, but nobody had room for it!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2001

Cool Chicago Style

A DJ spinning cool tunes and a lobby filled with cool, hip, business folks enjoying an after-work drink (or two) was what we were met with as we checked into our room at the W on a Friday night. I couldn't wait to dash up to my room, change clothes, and join the fun in the lobby. The rooms are great - especially if you like down bedding and high-quality sheets. The bell-service was especially memorable -- sincerely friendly & energetic.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement