Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Hotels

Hotel Monaco Chicago

Pros

  • Comfortable beds
  • No extra charge for pets

Cons

  • Small gym for a hotel of this size and splendor

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

A renovated lobby featuring pops of color and texture (check out the high-gloss red alligator fabric on the registration desk), as well as redesigned meeting rooms named for international destinations such as Tokyo and Paris inspire wanderlust here; guest rooms reflect the hotel's global chic aesthetic, with steamer-trunk nightstands and Moroccan lamps. Other nice touches: each room's bay windows and the pet goldfish provided on request. Complimentary high-end coffee is

available 6–9 am, and all guests are offered free wine each night from 5 to 6.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

225 N. Wabash Ave., Chicago, Illinois, 60601, USA

Map It

Phone:

312-960–8500; 866-610–0081

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 171 rooms, 20 suites
  • No meals

Updated 06/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By jent103

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2012

Great weekend stay

We got a two-queen corner room on Hotwire for Labor Day weekend, and very much enjoyed our stay. The room was large, with a chaise lounge and desk along with the two beds. The staff were helpful and friendly. The location is fantastic (about a two-minute walk to the el at State/Lake, and walking distance to anything in the Loop, Millennium Park and the Art Institute, as well as River North and the Magnificent Mile). The daily wine hour doesn't hurt

either!

Read More

By shormk2

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 17, 2011

Hotel Monaco Review

The Monaco was wonderful and met all of our needs! Great location, friendly staff that goes above and beyond, cool and funky decoration, cleanliness, and more! We loved our stay there and would definitely recommend it to others. The best part: the river view from the window seats in the room!

By Baina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2009

Monaco Chicago has great location, fun style and nice service, poor soundproofing

Selected this Kimpton hotel b/c of it's central loop location and Kimpton special rate under $100/night. Entered the hotel and received a friendly and smiling welcome. Received a free spring gift - a plush goldfish. Able to get early check-in about 30 minutes before standard 3p check-in. The 9th floor room was away from elevator and had foam pillows (both as requested). The room was spotless and the warm color palette was inviting. I absolutely

loved the padded window seats and cozied up there both nights of my stay - with the bolster pillow, the beautiful and soft throw, a book, and my camera. I had wished the room had an in-room coffee maker. Although the hotel provided a free coffee and tea service from 6a-9a, I didn't want to have to get dressed just to get a cup of coffee from the lobby. The walls and door to the room may as well have been made of cardboard, as hallway voices were as clear as if the door was open. And I awoke at 230a the first night and early the second morning to folks in an adjacent room gettin' busy... loudly. Folks can do whatever they wish in their rooms, I just don't want to hear them clearly. Turning on the tv and radio helped to mask their sounds...

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2007

Great Chicago Stay

Great Service and Great Room!! My husband and I went for our 10th anniversary. We loved the Hotel Monaco.

By Eli

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2005

This hotel defines "boutique"

My wife and I love this hotel...We live in Chicago and always stay at the Monaco when staying downtown. (We also stay at the Hotel Monaco in other cities if available). The Hotel Monaco does everything right...the quality of the rooms, the friendliness of the staff, the excellent location, the beautiful views, and the free coffee and wine! For the quality and class of this hotel, they should raise the rates!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 15, 2003

Why no Fodor's star?

Why this hotel doesn't have a Fodor's star by it, I don't know! I felt like a princess in this hotel! The decor is so creative, fun and vibrant, the service is superb, the location is great and the extras put it over the top! The "meditation stations" in the rooms consist of the largest window seat and window I have ever seen. I felt like I had my own private, comfy little enclosed balcony in which to unwind and people watch. The beds were enormous

and comfortable. The toiletries were of the highest quality and smelled so good, and even the honor bar had fun little whimsical things in it like wax lips, candy necklaces and massage oil amoungst the usually expected items. There was complimentary wine in the lobby in the evening, which felt like a little intimate private party with complimentary chair massages and even someone available to do handwriting analysis. (She was very good, too!) They also genuinely welcome pets. (I brought my chihuahua with me and saw other dogs while I was there, too.) I have already recommended this hotel to several of my friends. It was given a good review on tv (don't know the title of the show)and was written up as one of the top two places to stay in downtown Chicago in 2003 in a magazine (they have a copy in the hotel room). Why Fodor's didn't give this hotel a star is beyond me! I definitely do!

Read More

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 28, 2003

THEY'd have to pay ME to stay here again

I have stayed in hotels all over the world, and this is probably the worst service that I've ever experienced. The staff was unaccomodating and the hotel did not provide the services that it claimed it would. I decided to try the Monaco because it seemed interesting, was close to the theater, and had what seemed to be a good rate. What a huge mistake. While the concierge was nice, the front desk staff was condescending and not even remotely helpful.

The room was NOT clean, the gold fish we had requested came HOURS after we told them we would be arriving, they never bothered to come turn down the beds (so don't bet on those 'surprise amenities'), and the late check-out priviledges which were GUARENTEED when I booked the room suddenly became "upon request" - boy the extra 30 minutes they gave me sure were helpful. Dont' waste your time or your money here. At best, it's nothing special. Personally, I like the Fairmont in Chicago, where they have always been lovely to me, but any hotel would be better than the Monaco.

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2002

Pretty nice...

Got a free stay here as a bonus from work....Happy I didn't have to pay $150 for the room...was a nice hotel...but I don't think it would be worth $150 at all. They had no goldfish, they told us that they ran out (hotel was pretty empty...and we asked pretty early in the day). No meditation nook as described...bed not comfortable...pillows felt like they were 10 years old...

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 12, 2002

Hidden treasure in Chicago

We booked the room off of the recommendations from this web site and had a marvelous time. We aslo were able to use a discount with the entertainment card and got an even lower price. The room was great in an art-deco way. The wine hour was very entertaining and I loved that the hotel was pet friendly. I normally stay the the Westin's for the points, but this was definitly worth the change. Very convenient to shops and sites and everyone was

very friendly. The concierge was also very courteous and helpful. I would recommend it to all.

Read More

By Jo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 13, 2002

Wonderful!

Chose this hotel on the basis of the wonderful reviews on this site - and we were not disappointed, despite having been a little worried by the few negative reviews that have appeared over recent months. Thought maybe service wouldn't be up to much but found the absolute opposite - everyone was welcoming, helpful and friendly, more so than any other US city hotel we have stayed in. The room was well-decorated, good bathroom and the most sumptious

bed I have ever slept in away from home. Most importantly (for me, anyway)the aircon had not been left working overtime, so the room was always warm and comfortable - as opposed to the freezeboxes you find elsewhere! The evening wine hour is an inspired idea and the quality of the wines was good too. Any complaints? No, but a couple of observations. Firstly, the restaurant not being open for breakfast at the weekend was irritating, particularly as we were not forewarned and it was very cold and snowy outside. You can order room service which is fine if you know you need to. Socondly, the goldfish. A truly great idea but the fish are big and the bowls are small and obviously not the fish's permanent home. We were woken throughout the first night by the sound of the fish gasping at the surface of the water. Anyone who knows anything about fish will know the problem - not enough oxygen, surface area of the water not great enough - especially with a silk lily floating on it. Had three different fish over the first couple of days, same problem with all of them - gave up in the end, a real shame. Maybe permanent tanks in the rooms or at least something a bit bigger/efficient? Otherwise a very enjoyable six nights and would recommend to anyone. Ignore the negative comments on this site, this place seem to have really got its act together and, believe me, we are fussy!

Read More

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 28, 2001

Great room, not so great service

We stayed at the hotel the day after our wedding. We couldn't afford a honeymoon so this was a real treat. The accomodations were great but the staff was pretty snooty. We told them we just got married and they couldn't have cared less. Hotel Monaco in Seattle is fabulous!

By Lester

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 22, 2001

Different is okay I guess

But you have to back it up. Sure, the lobby has overly loud pop music blaring, and lots of garish colors in the somewhat small rooms. But the trumpeted meditation nooks? Uh, just a wide window ledge to sit on. People in the street look up at your, and you feel and look like a true idiot. Bed = comfy. Carpet = worn. Bathroom = small tub. Goldfish = cute. Some nice touches - free wine downstairs every p.m. Bottom line on the concierge, contrary to

earlier posts, is that she gets the job done. No views from the rooms, but go to the Sig room if that's your bag, baby. This place is not sterile, and gave me a good feeling to walk into the lobby after a day in meetings or shopping.

Read More

By Dana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 21, 2001

Style Over Substance

We stayed here based in part on the rave reviews on this site by others and were quite disappointed. $3.00 wax lips and $12.00 Etch-a-Sketch in the honor bar, a couple of fruit chews for turndown and overwrought decor that quickly became tiresome hardly deserved ratings of "5".

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 30, 2001

Too Cool To be Comfy

The decor was enough fun to offset the relative small size of our room - it was reminiscent of Betty Boop with extra spending money. A very comfy, puffy bed. Too bad about the people, though. We stayed for several days in June and found the concierge singularly unhelpful, the front desk staff pretty cold and unwelcoming. Everyone certainly looked happenin' though, decked out in their most festive head-to-toe black garb. Guess all of their energies

were consumed in generating coolness as opposed to demonstrating warmth to guests.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2001

Sorry to ruin the perfect score......

Although the hotel lobby and the rooms were really cool, what's with the service?? I swear that the front desk clerks and the concierge must have picked up their customer service skills working at McDonald's. They weren't even close to being helpful. No greeting or even eye contact from the front desk clerk upon check-in. And the concierge was just downright rude the entire weekend. Maybe it was just a bad weekend.....or maybe it was just bad

employees....

Read More

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 24, 2001

How cool is this place?

We loved this hotel! The atmosphere was so relaxed and comfortable. Where else is the elevator music so darn irresistable that you are singing constantly? Rooms were comfy, stylishly funky and the King-sized bed was awesome. Fresh linen service daily, with down pillows, duvets and lovely crisp sheets. The shower in our room was amazing - almost wanted to unscrew the thing from the wall and take it home! I would go back here in a flash - Chicago

is an amazing place to visit and Hotel Monaco is in the perfect spot to enjoy it. A final word... the nightly wine reception was certainly appreciated!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 20, 2001

Monaco gets top marks!!!!!!!!

This Hotel is great -- I can't wait to go back to Chicago to stay here and will make this my hotel of choice in Chicago. The service was outstanding. While I had booked a King room, a suite was available when I checked in and I was automatically upgraded. Bed was extremely comfortable. Suite was a corner room with beyond ample space, a huge jacuzzi tub, current magazines, amazing view of Chicago River -- and Comfortable window seats from which

to take in the view. The staff couldn't have been more cordial. The hotel was very clean, a great location, and room service food was outstanding. Great bath products provided in the room. Honestly can't wait to go back just to stay here again!!

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 17, 2001

Casual elegance with a sense of humor!

Our first clue as to what this unique hotel was all about was the "Lite Brite contest the staff was having in the lobby! The rooms were beautifully decorated with "not your typical hotel furnishings". In addition to the usual honor bar goodies of peanuts and candy bars it contained wax lips, a hand buzzer and an etch-a-sketch. What more do you need? The previous descriptions I have read on this hotel simply to do not do it justice. You have to experience

it! Don't forget to ask for a goldfish.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement