Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Hotels

Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

  • 1 W. Wacker Dr. Map It
  • Trusted Brand

Pros

  • Excellent service, even when the hotel is packed to capacity
  • Spacious rooms for a good value

Cons

  • Can get pricey during high season

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

The cosmopolitan Renaissance Chicago, situated on the south bank of the Chicago River, puts a premium on a good night's sleep: there's no missing the seven—yep, seven—fluffy white pillows on each bed. When you're not catching some Zs, you can enjoy views of the Chicago skyline right from your room. Stay on the slightly pricier club levels for access to a private business center, continental breakfast, and hors d'oeuvres and drinks.

Hotel Information

Address:

1 W. Wacker Dr., Chicago, Illinois, 60601, United States

Map It

Phone:

312-372–7200

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 513 rooms, 40 suites
  • No meals

Updated 06/11/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2012

Wonderful place for downtown visit

Spent a Thu, Fri and Saturday in mid August. Location was excellent. A few blocks to many of the tourist attractions. The hotel sent up flyers about the airshow that weekend. I arrived earlier than expected, and the hotel had an available room.

By klw128

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 10, 2008

Great!!

excellent!

By einnoc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2007

Outstanding!

I booked this hotel for 2 nights at a rate of $429/night, as a surprise for my son's 18th birthday. I added sedan/limo service and a birthday cake with sparkling juice in the room (1st night after dinner). When we arrived at the airport, the car was not there. After calling the hotel, they immediately fixed the situation, apologized sincerely and took care of the charge for the car, without my request! Upon entering the hotel, we were greeted by someone

(I think it was the gentleman who owned the car service). He took our bag and escorted us up to the front desk. Keith from concierge came over as well and wished my son happy birthday. Keith and Susie from concierge were awesome! They made sure everyone knew it was my son’s birthday, (including the restaurants we made reservations at)! They made him feel so special. The people at the front desk were also terrific. They sent up complimentary milk and cookies after we checked in. I don't think the room I booked was on the concierge floor; in fact I believe it was a complimentary upgrade – to the 26th floor with the most magnificent view! The room was well appointed and spotless, which is very important to me. The décor was soothing and luxurious. We had access to breakfast each morning (eggs, meat, fruit, yogurt, etc.) on our floor and evening hors d’oeuvres (mini lamb chops, quiche, etc.) The birthday cake and juice was delivered without a hitch while we were out for dinner thanks to Suzie. It was a wonderful surprise for my son. The staff even included a birthday card! We used the spa and it too was great. I cannot overstate the wonderful service we received. We have stayed at costlier luxury hotels but have never experienced the level of customer service we received at this hotel. We felt like celebrities! My son stated it perfectly when he said that you could tell that the staff (especially concierge) loves what they do and that they want to make you happy and go the extra mile. I would, and have, recommended this property to all of my friends. Excellent! Outstanding!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 10, 2006

Comfortable Hotel

Our 12th floor river view room was extremely comfortable and the views were great at all hours of the day and night. The concierge was very helpful with many thoughtful recommendations and suggestions. Not knowing the pool and fitness center were being renovated until we arrived was an unpleasant surprise - a posting on the hotel website would have been helpful. However, in all other ways the Renaissance was very pleasant. We would definitely stay

here again.

Read More

By Erin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 6, 2005

Extra Service Provided an Extra Special Birthday

Upon hearing that my husband booked the stay for my birthday, the front desk sent up champagne & strawberries with a hand-signed card from the staff. It was this type of service that made our stay a special one. We had a great view of the river from our very comfortable room. One Tip: For breakfast, try the Blueberry/White Chocolate pancakes...they're to die for!

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2003

Best Value in ChiTown

My wife and I are frequent visitors to Chicago. We have stayed at nearly every elegant hotel in town, from The Four Seasons to the Ritz and, fortunately, to the Renaissance. Now, whenever we return to Chicago, we stay at the Renaissance. The location is wonderful. Equally accessible to both Michigan Ave. shops and to the Museum. You can walk to either. However, the most endearing quality of the hotel is it's VALUE. The rooms are quite nice and

the view to the river is awsome. While the public areas don't measure up to the Ritz or the 4 Seasons, the rooms are nearly on par and you will be startled at how much less the rooms cost than at the Ritz or 4 Seasons. The Renaissance is, indeed, a remarkable value.

Read More

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2003

Nice Hotel

This is a very nice hotel with a great atmosphere. Service is great. The rooms are very nice. And the overall hotel is definitely very classy. The Hotel Burnham is my favorite hotel, but this is a definite second!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2003

Great beds, location and service

This hotel was the best hotel you can go to in your life. You will never find a bed like that in a other hotel in chicago. The value was excellent. The most important aspect was outstanding service and clean bedding.

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2003

Friendly, clean & classy

We spent four nights just after Christmas. The rooms were large and very clean especially the bathroom. The lobby and public areas were very well decorated albeit they were taken down on New Years Eve. The overall experience was excellent at a reasonable price. We will be staying here at our next visit.

By Vic

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2001

The Club Level is a great hotel value

If you are seeking a high end hotel experience...at a value...this is it. Great service, wonderful amenities, fantastic Club Level and cordless phones in the rooms.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement