Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Hotels

Hyatt Regency Chicago

Pros

  • Great winter rates
  • Excellent location

Cons

  • There's always a lot of activity in a hotel of this size
  • Not designed for families

Updated 07/01/2013

Fodor's Review

A massive, light-filled lobby—part of a $168 million renovation—is the centerpiece of the Hyatt Regency Chicago, the city's largest hotel with 2,018 rooms in a prime downtown locale. Perched between the Chicago River, Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, and Michigan Avenue, the spot is perfect for business or leisure travelers. Technology updates offer computer screens for self check-in and checkout. Renovated rooms are modern and minimalist with crisp white linens. Stetsons,

where sushi is as popular as steak, is definitely a cut above most hotel restaurants.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

151 E. Wacker Dr., Chicago, Illinois, 60601, USA

Map It

Phone:

312-565–8000

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 2,018 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 07/01/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2012

Hyatt Regency Chicago Review

Had to stay here for a conference. Will never stay again Service and housekeeping horrible. Had to call for clean towels and toiletries. Thought Hyatt was a reputable chain.. obviously not!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 4, 2008

Never again

I stayed here recently for a meeting and almost immediately remembered that this is the Hyatt that has always made me think that Hyatt is overrated as a chain. The hotel is a large convention hotel, so set your expectations accordingly- service is NOT personal, though they are reasonably helpful. Rooms are, in short, terrible. They are VERY dark with virtually no soundproofing, and only two drawers in the room for storage of clothing or other

items. Chicago has many better hotels. Choose one of them- any of them.

Read More

By William

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 15, 2006

A Great experience

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency for one night Valentine weekend Februray 11th. THe experience was incredible with the service being exemplary especially at the front desk. The breakfast, room and overall ambience of the place was overall a tremendous experience...would strongly recommend.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2005

Too big, too slow, too incompetent

If you like to sleep in Grand Central Station, this is the place for you. There was a wedding party in the hotel the night we were there, and the noise did not stop until after 2 pm. The place is too big to manage properly. The staff was nice enough, but totally incompetent alone almost every dimension (don't ask for something, because you won't get it).

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 6, 2004

If you want to sleep, go somewhere else!!

I've slept better at Super 8 than here. The walls are so thin, my wife and I heard everything said (and done) in the room next to us. It was so bad that we actually had to sleep with ear plugs the last night to try and get some sleep. The front desk was no help at all. They readily admit they get a lot of complaints about noise, but made no apologies. The only positive to this hotel was that we had a nice view of the river and Michigan Ave from

the 20th floor. We will definitely not stay here again, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 6, 2004

But @$89/night this place rocks!

I was here for a conference and the $89/night rate was terrific! Don't know how often that rate is available, but ask...who knows! Modern decor -- high speed internet access that wasn't working (they even sent someone to fix it, but she wasn't having much luck either). Room was comfy enough, although not very sound-proof. No fan in the bath(?) not sure why. This was a recently renovated room, too. Water pressure in the shower was only fair. I was

only here one night, so it was all just OK.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 16, 2003

Hyatt Service is Golden Just like their Passport Points!

I had an exceptional stay at the Hyatt Regency Chicago. The service was great and my meeting went flawless. The food was tasty and the view from my room was breathtaking. Hyatt was a fantastic place for the conference, I hope Chicago comes up again!!!!

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2003

An Experience To Remember

Their website states they just spent $60 million for a renovation. It Shows! We had a wonderful experience and will most definitely be staying here during our next visit to Chicago - perhaps for New Year's (heard they throw a great party every year)!

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2003

Highly Recommended!

Great Service, Location, Rooms, Restaurants, Bars...and Free Internet Service! What more could you ask for?

By Doug

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2003

renovation fantastic!

I love this hotel. Their new renovation is fabulous. Stetson's chophouse is wonderful as well.

By Don

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 30, 2003

Hyatt's Flagship Gets a Facelift

After a $60M renovation, the Hyatt Regency Chicago is still brash, bold, and BIG. The guest rooms have been nicely re-done [in a style that somewhat mimics that of the W-Hotels]. $99 week-end rate made this a great value. If you got to spend more than $150, you are probably spending too much for the Regency. Just two blocks off Michigan Avenue so the location can't be beat. The Regency has only valey parking, so park in the new Millennium Park

underground garage and walk two blocks North to avoid the $35 daily charge for valet parking.

Read More

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 11, 2003

Had a Great stay at the Hyatt Regency Chicago!

We just got back from a 3 night stay and we thought this was a very nice hotel.Yes,it's busy and full of conventioneers but that did not bother us.The room was very clean,good size,had all the amenities: Coffee Maker,Iron/Ironing Board,Blow Dryer...They have floor to ceiling windows.Both our requests were given to us no problem.We got a room with 2 Double Beds (very comfortable!) and we were put on the 21st floor!We had a view of the Lake on both

sides! Service was professional and efficient.Not overly friendly but that was OK. We found the food and room service to be very good.I don't understand all the bad reviews on this hotel but I guess we all perceive things in different ways.Overall we had a great stay and would not mind staying at the Hyatt Regency Chicago on our next visit to Chicago!!

Read More

By Margie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 15, 2002

Hyatt Regency was Just Fine!

Not sure what all the crabbing here is about - this hotel is fine. Stayed 6 nights October 2002 via Priceline. Checked into the wrong tower at first, went across the street to investigate the "gold passport" service, we were immediately accommodated, although the Front Desk Clerks mumbled A LOT, very hard to hear/understand (and I'm NOT old!!). Gold Passport entitled us to complementary in-room coffee & morning paper. VERY clean room (including the

bath) Housekeeping staff was excellent, room was large, we had a nice view of the river, and Portico bath amenities were a nice touch.

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 3, 2002

Rooms a mile away...

Loved everything about the stay except for 2 things.....we had to walk for about 3 minutes just to get to the elevator to take to our floor...second....parking was outrageous!!!!spent almost $30 for less than 24 hours....Got the room for $65 on Priceline...was worth the price paid.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2002

Who designed the new rooms?

We stayed at this hotel as a result of a $65.00 bid on Priceline.com. As a Hyatt Diamond level member, it was nice to get a Hyatt on Priceline. The front desk was kind enough to put us in the newly renovated west tower. The room was one of the "new designs" for Hyatt and the bed sits in the middle of the room. I think that they were trying to be avant-garde, like a W hotel or a South Beach hotel but it just doesn't work. The room space was awkward.

I was thrilled to see that the mattress was a Tempurpedic as I had read about them but never tried one. I did not realize that they are incredibly uncomfortable. Maybe your body gets used to its unique feel, but it is a poor choice for a hotel mattress. They have obviously spent a great deal of money renovating the rooms but I did not like the new look.

Read More

By Todd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 24, 2002

Great location

Just returned from Chicago today after spending 4 nights at the Hyatt. Check-in was rather slow and business-like. The "perfect stay" program was nice, calling to make sure everything requested was received in the room. The room was clean and spacious. I didn't like the fact that there is a charge for placing your own personal items in the minibar, $2.20 per day. What a joke! The bathroom was clean but the plumbing is loud. I could hear water

running from the other rooms surrounding mine. The water flow restrictors in the showerhead slowed it to a pitiful trickle. The lobby is large and beautiful, but loud. Don't go there looking for quiet conversation. The location of the hotel is great, central to all of the things I wanted to do and see.

Read More

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 16, 2001

Hyatt-- location, location, location

We used priceline to spend four nights at a 4 star hotel in the Michigan Avenue neighborhood of Chicago. Priceline accepted a bid of $115.00 for 4 nights from August 11-15, 2001. This hotel was VERY convenient to free trolleys and bus service downtown as well as to the Navy Pier, shopping etc. We walked alot but it wasn't a problem for us. Only problems -- soda pop machines aren't available. Coffee was free but available across the hallway on

our floor. They never did bring enough towels, so had to request most nights for more, although they did send them promptly. Wouldn't pay more for the room, nothing exciting about it.

Read More

By Lila

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 7, 2001

big and noisy

Excellent location on the river. Rooms good. But this is one noisy place! Busy as Grand Central Station. COuld not talk across table in restaurant because open to entrance and atrium; Bears Booster party going on at bar upstairs. Design just amplifies and echoes all the ruckus.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2001

not worth $200

I recently stayed at the Hyatt and felt the staff was very courteous and proffesional. This was especially true for the staff at the All Seasons restaurant. However, the room wasn't worth $200. The other issue was long distance phone calls. I called ohio and spoke to a friend for :25 and was charged $43.81 I called Ohio again to check my phone messages and was charged $10.91

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement