Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Hotels

Fairmont Chicago

  • 200 N. Columbus Dr. Map It
  • $$
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Spacious rooms
  • A short walk from the heart of the city

Cons

  • No pool
  • Not child-friendly

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

On a quiet block near both Michigan Avenue and Lake Michigan, this 45-story pink-granite building has suites with stunning views of Millennium Park. The standard rooms, in neutral colors and a contemporary style, are spacious at 425 square feet, and the bathrooms include both a tub and a shower. Aria, an upscale Asian/American restaurant within the Fairmont, attracts plenty of locals; Eno, the wine, cheese, and chocolate room, caters to high-calorie cravings. The on-site

mySpace spa is a quiet spot for relaxation. This large hotel is an ideal spot for visitors to popular summer concerts at Millennium Park.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

200 N. Columbus Dr., Chicago, Illinois, 60601, USA

Map It

Phone:

312-565–8000

Website: www.fairmont.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 622 guest rooms, 65 suites
  • No meals

Updated 06/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By gseiler

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 19, 2012

Style and Luxury near Millennium Park

One of my favorite hotels in Chicago with great lake views from the rooms, an excellent Asian fusion restaurant, great service and an easy walk to both Michigan Avenue and Millennium Park. The wine bar in the lobby is a lovely place for an evening drink before heading out to the local restaurants.

By Dean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 22, 2004

Fairmont should be embarrassed!

Have stayed in many Fairmonts in Canada, and have always been 'WOWED', so I was expecting the same of the Fairmont Chicago. Unfortunately, Fairmont Hotels in the U.S. seem to have much lower standards. We were put in a smoking room - and it REEKED of smoke - even though we had a confirmed reservation for a non-smoking room. Our room was definitely showing it's age - frayed carpets, worn furniture, dirty and dimly lit. It is apparent that Fairmont

hasn't spent a dime on the guest rooms since this hotel opened. Housekeeping forgot to empty a waste bin two days in a row - and we had to leave a note to request a missing light bulb be replaced! Expensive ($36.00) and slow (20 minute wait) valet parking. No in-room coffee makers. Come on Fairmont! You can do much better than this!

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 15, 2004

Posh Place to Stay

Very beautiful lobby. Check in was smooth. Had beatiful view of lake michigan from our room. Loved the seperate shower/bath. Very quick elevators. Rooms were quiet and beds were comfy.

By Sandra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2003

lovely suite, great value

After having put up a friend in a regular lakeview room several weeks prior, I reserved a lakeview suite for 2 nights for my parents' visit. It was a beautiful and huge suite, with lovely furnishings (in excellent condition) and a very nice view of the lake and the Navy Pier. The services were excellent. I paid $309/night for a package which included breakfast for two in the room, done perfectly both mornings, and I consider the package to have

been a great value. I wouldn't hesitate to put my friends and family in this hotel again or recommend it to others.

Read More

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 8, 2003

A Fairtale at the Fairmont

After much searching we choose the Fairmont because of the comments that I have read on the internet. All of the good ones where right. It was the nicest and most elegant hotel that I have ever seen. The service was perfect and they pampered your every more. The Fairmont club entiled us to an upgrade to a suite. It was huge an magnificiant. I would recommend that anyone that has the chance to stay there, should. I know I'll be back.

By Jamie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 7, 2002

Peninsula Is Chicago's Best Hotel

If you're looking for Chicago's best hotel, it's the Peninsula. Fodor's still has no listing for it now 1.5 years after its opening so I'm posting my rave for it here.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 26, 2002

Fairly Average

After reading many good reviews of the Fairmont, we booked a room through Expedia at $129 (a fair price) and looked forward to a short getaway weekend in Chicago with our son. We were told at check-in that we had a King bed, it was actually a Queen. The room was rather smallish and odd shaped with barely enough room for the rollaway bed ($25). The view was unremarkable. One lamp was broken and the closet light was burned out. The shower spray head

would not adjust and was set to painful "sandblasting" mode. Several layers of skin were removed while showering! The parking at $33 is high compared to other nearby hotels. Overall the hotel was not bad, just not anything that would suggest that a second stay would be warranted.

Read More

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2002

Chicago's best kept secret

This was our first stay at the Fairmont. The room we stayed in had views of the Lake and Navy Pier. We walked to Michigan Avenue, State Street and attended a show at the Goodman Theatre. Everything was close. Our room and bathroom were very large. The staff was very nice and helpful. This is the best Chicago hotel we have ever stayed at. We will be back.

By Edwin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2002

Fairmont Chicago-great hotel

I took my girlfriend to Chicago for a weekend. The Fairmont Chicago is a beautiful hotel. If you check you the city of Chicago Tourism web page you can get a good rate. Paid $109/night. Parking was $33/night. I joined the President's Club for the free room upgrade(if available). The staff was very professional and friendly. Had a room on the 25th floor great views of Grant Park, Lake Michigan and city. I did have a small problem with the shower

leaking. Call the front desk and they took a little longer than they should have to send someone up. I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples for romantic weekends or business travelers. Whenever I visit Chicago the Fairmont will be my first lodging choice.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2002

Room without a view

A new taller building being constructed nearby obscured what would have been a nice view from our spacious 31st floor room. As noted by others, the extra cost items can add up. A good value nevertheless if you can find a disounted rate.

By michele

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2002

Beautiful Hotel with Snotty Staff

This hotel is gorgeous in appearance, but beware, almost all services are ala carte. They wanted to charge $35.00 for a roll-away. Parking was $33.00/night. Some staff were condecending while others quite professional. Overall a lovely place, but very expensive on the extras.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 6, 2001

Great rooms/location, help with a flat

Had a suite overlooking Navy Pier, it was very large and very nice. Outstanding location, easy walk to Art Institute. Good service, the garage attendant even helped us with a flat tire. Only downside, food at Primavera was just adequate, and service there was quite slow. Didn't try other restaurant, Entre Nous. We'd stay here again, but skip Primavera.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement