Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Hotels

Swissôtel Chicago

  • 323 E. Wacker Dr. Map It
  • $$
  • Design

Pros

  • Guests love the view, the pool, and the location

Cons

  • Pricey parking

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

The Swissôtel's triangular Harry Weese design allows for panoramic vistas of the city, lake, or river—and the comfortable, contemporary rooms feel like condos, with marble bathrooms. A 42nd-floor fitness center and pool are both a big draw, thanks to the bird's-eye views. Guests also enjoy the convenience of having a Palm steak house on-site. Access to the executive level—and complimentary breakfast and light dinners—comes with higher priced rooms. A business center

and meeting rooms ease the road warriors' burdens.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

323 E. Wacker Dr., Chicago, Illinois, 60601, USA

Map It

Phone:

312-565–0565; 888-737–9477

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 621 rooms, 40 suites
  • No meals; Some meals

Updated 06/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2009

Excellent Stay and View

I stayed at the Swissotel Chicago over 4th of July weekend. What a great place to stay—especially if you are partaking in the city’s festivities. A very short walk brought me to Grant Park where they had fireworks on the 3rd. And afterwards, since the hotel is just slightly off the main drag of Michigan Ave, I was able to retreat quickly back to my room and enjoy the peace and quiet rather than all the noise from everyone walking around. And the

view from my room—spectacular! I couldn’t have asked for a more idyllic picture of Chicago right outside my window. The room was quite spacious and very clean. The bed was so comfortable I felt like I was sleeping at home. The hotel was a bit busy during this weekend, but the staff did a great job of helping me with whatever I needed. I would definitely recommend Swissotel as the place to stay when visiting Chicago.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 30, 2009

Warm welcome or a traveling family

Wonderful time in Chicago. We were warmly welcomed. When I told Charmaine our little one was excited to see the aquarium, she got a gift pack for my daughter. Kids waiting area in lobby. The room was clean and gorgeous. The beds are soooo comfy. Great location in the heart of the city. Pricey hotel worth a look. Check the travel sites. Great food at a major premium. Houlihan's around the corner is a better bet. Pick up aquarium tickets

from concierge. We bought at the hotel & were able to walk right into the aquarium. Shedd closed early that day & the line was way, way out the door. With a 4 yr old & a baby, there's no way we would have ben able to wait. Hotel is centrally located, so it's easy to come and go throughout the day. Critical if you're traveling with little people! This is a hotel that holds themselves to a very high standard. We had some very minor problems, e.g. broken soap holder, not enough toiletries for 4 people, a travel crib, not a regular crib the 1st night. Problems were immediately fixed. When appraised of problems, staff (Millerod) go way above & beyond. We also left some items. (First time traveling with new baby.) Debbie and Christine in housekeeping shipped them to us the next business day. A great hotel with great staff who are very proud of their well-deserved reputation.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 13, 2007

Swissotel is NOT a 4 Star Hotel

Don't be mislead, and try someplace else in Chicago. There are many places that are much better. If you like hard beds, dirty showers, $6 bottles of water, bugs on your bed, then by all means stay here. Not impressed!!

By Robb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2004

A Magnificent View of the Magnificent Mile

Got the base room rate off of Hotwire for $99, so I expected a room with a view of the dumpsters. After checking in late Friday afternoon, the front desk offered a $100 upgrade (for a total of $200 / night) to a 37th floor suite (normally $650 / weekend night) with unobstructed views of downtown Chicago, Chicago River and Lake Michigan. The hotel has a good location for those wanting to be near Michigan Ave. (it is on the southern end of The Magnificient

Mile), Navy Pier, Lake Michigan and near The Loop. I would highly recommend checking out this property!

Read More

By Roland

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 7, 2004

never again

Spent a weekend with my wife. The atmosphere should be considered businesslike...(the room was decorated by the people who decorate airplanes). The service was non existent.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 20, 2003

The Swiss get no war on this one

Great hotel, great service, incredible room

By Janine

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2003

My Nosebleed Room

Stayed at the Swissotel over 4th of July weekend 2003. Booked through Hotrooms.com with rate of $109 per night. I thought that we would be asigned a room with the charm of a janitor's closet because of the outstanding deal we recieved. Instead, we were treated to a room on the 35th floor, King bed and bathroom with seperate shower stall and bath tub. Our view consisted of the Wrigley building, Hancock Tower and the river. I cannot imagine a more

impressive view. I requested a quiet room away from the elevator when making my reservation. We were tucked into a very quiet corner of the hallway. I was so impressed with our room. This is especially because in the past when I have booked through a internet discount rate I usually end up above the bar, kitchen or the dumpsters are right outside my window. This place surpassed all expecations. Like any hotel of this class, the honor bar prices are cost prohibitive. Especially the $4.00 candy bar. We were in room # 3508. All of our linens and furnishings were high quality and completely updated. I would love to stay here any chance I can and cannot wait to return.

Read More

By Heidi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 9, 2003

General staff should be called "Wait" staff

We had to wait at least 35 minutes for a request of a cd player...either you have one or you don't. Then, rather than say they didn't have one, they said they couldn't let us use it unless we upgraded to a higher priced room ($100 difference...for that, I'll run out & buy a cd player.) The manager on duty was unaccomodating and very unwilling to keep a customer. I will never return, but will certainly discourage others from that hotel.

By Donald

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 10, 2002

This place is heaven !!

LOVED the Swissotel. I wish I could live there. The room was perfect, the bathroom was the greatest (with seperate tub and shower), the concierge and everyone else I dealt with were wonderful. This will always be my place to stay in Chicago.

By Nick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 6, 2002

Great Hotel-Great Location

What a fantastic hotel. The location was wonderful, it was close to Michigan Avenue yet at the same time was far enough away to offer stunning views and a feeling of exclusivity. The walk to Michigan Avenue was only a couple of blocks but seemed much longer since the temperature was well below freezing. However, the room was warm and comfortable and had stunnig views. The staff was also exceptional; they were very courteous and anxious to help, especially

the concierge. Also, we had a room on the executive level which was a tremendous bonus, and the rate was incredible only $169 on quikbook.com. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, definately five stars.

Read More

By chris

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 19, 2001

Just like the Swiss: Good Service, but Expensive

Our room was $189, so it was not a great rate, even though I got it through hotrooms.com. The service at the hotel was good. The first night we were in a room that had no bath tub, and the noise from the elevator kept us awake most of the night. The next morning, I asked to change rooms, and they gave us a very spacious room which had wonderful views from all three windows. We did not try the restaurants at the hotel, because they were too expensive.

The hotel is several blocks from the shopping on Michigan Avenue, but I didn't consider it a long walk, and my main purpose there was not for shopping.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2001

What a view!

I am thoroughly in love with this hotel. The rooms are comfortable, if not oppullent. The staff was more than adequate, though not memorable. This has become my favorite hotel in Chicago, though finding weekend specials is not all that easy.

By cd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2001

Sparse Comfort

I was concerned about the disconnect between the website views and the generally mild reviews but having been there, it is a great location at a great price, but the only problem is it has all the charm one would associate with the Swiss. No turndown service, no concierge, no opening doors, only a mechanical opener for the drapes and plumbing noises that sound like motorcycles. Don't expect much and you'll be fine. Just watch out for the falling toilet

lid.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement