Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Restaurants

Spiaggia

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

Refined Italian cooking dished alongside three-story picture-window views of Lake Michigan make Spiaggia one of the city's top eateries. The tiered dining room guarantees good sight lines from each table. Chef Tony Mantuano prepares elegant, seasonal dishes such as housemade gnocchi with black truffles, wood-roasted veal tenderloin, or cabbage-wrapped black cod with scallops. Oenophiles consider the wine list to be scholarly. For Spiaggia fare minus the luxury price tag,

try lunch or dinner at the casual Cafe Spiaggia next door.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

980 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago, Illinois, 60611, USA

Map It

Phone:

312-280–2750

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 06/11/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 12, 2010

Spiaggia Review

Without a doubt the worst dining experience I have had in the last few years. The horribly overpriced wine arrived with wine glasses so water stained that you could actually feel the stains. I sent my first plate back (greasy, overcooked beef scallopini served with wilted arugula and tasteless raw cherry tomatoes) and was equally disappointed by the replacement dish (chicken piccata) again overcooked and served with same lackluster garnish. Although

the hostess was delightful and the service efficient, the food was so terrible that it tarnished an otherwise perfect day in an outstanding culinary city.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2008

Best in Chicago

We visit Chicago at least once or twice a year, and every time we are sure to get in a meal at Spiaggia. Very romantic, especially if you get a table at one of the lovely windows. Be sure not to eat all day prior so that you have plenty of room to indulge. The truffle gnocchi is fantastic. We always order several courses, and just when we think a dish has hit the top of the scale, the next one is even better. Save room for cheese sampling after dinner.

The fromagier is very knowledgable and interesting to talk to. Excellent wine selection. Some may consider pricey, but for the true foodie, and considering that you are dining on the Magnificent Mile, it is worth it.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2008

Be Careful !

We had our daughter's wedding reception at Spiaggia. The food was fine and the location was great. Everything was very nice--until we got the final bill. We were overcharged by $2,000 in "extras" (premium brand upcharges that we didn't agree to, additional hours that we didn't agree to, etc). When we tried to negotiate a settlement, our requests fell on deaf ears. It's probably a fine place to have lunch or dinner, but if you're planning an event,

avoid it like the plague! There are many choices in PVR. Choose a different place.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 4, 2008

Nice Ambiance!

My wife and I ate their for a late lunch on a Saturday. She order a specialty pizza which was pretty good. I had a butternut squash pasta dish which was very good and unique. Good service and good atmosphere.

By MR_312

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2007

A Great Disappointment

The culinary experience at Spiaggia was a true disappointment. The food was mediocre at best. There was not one dish(and there was seven of us!) that anyone believed deserved a five star rating. The service and the wine were very good, however, if you are planning a special evening, look elsewhere!

By Daniel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 18, 2006

Chicago at its best

We've dined at Spiaggia a dozen times in the last 10 years. It is by far the most enjoyable restaurant of the many fine restaurants we have been to in Chicago. The food is excellent, the service is excellent, and the ambiance is superb. I don't know its star rating, but it ought to be near the top in my opinion.

By Harold

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2006

Oh my, what a disappointment

The food quality was slightly above average, the price was obscene, the portion size was minuscule, and the service was condescending  but there was a lovely view.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 2, 2004

World class

My wife and I wanted a casual dinner, so we went to the Cafe Spiaggia, not the main dining room. Even so, the check was for $100, which is more than we would pay in Philly. But my wife felt that it was one of the best meals she has ever had, and pronounced it "world class." We had a table by the window with an excellent view and the service was very good.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 27, 2002

ONCE THE KING BUT TIME TO CLOSE THE DOORS NOW!

Like all good restaurants Spiggia was a classic. When it first opened and I ate at it it was amazing but not anymore! I took my wife their on here birthday. When I made reservations I indicated that it was my wifes birthday but nothing special was done. Tru on the otherhand but my wifes birthday at the top of the menu - that my friends is class but Spiggia is arrogance of once dominating Chicago's Italian but not anymore. I eat at all the Fodors

star restaurants and believe me Tru is the best place I ever ate at - better than Trotters and better than Spiaggia. The waiters were unsure what to do the food was pathetic and the atmosphere was ok but hey what else would you expect being on Michian avenue - they could not even mess this up. Do me a favor if you want to spend this kind of money throw in an extra $20 bucks and go to Tru and you will have your money better spend then on this garbage. Once the King but time to shut down!

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2002

Underwhelemed in Chicago

Snooty waiters, overdone food and extreme prices

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2001

Arrogance Abounds

I am not a stranger to high priced restaurants but these prices were insulting. The waiter tells you that the portions are small so you should order from each of the ala carte columns or you may leave hungry. If you order a pasta as an entree, they suggest that the portion be increased (and the $'s). The larger portion fits on a salad dish! The alternative is to order from one of the two tasting menus. There are too many great Italian restaurants

in Chicago to waste time & money here.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement