Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Restaurants

Signature Room at the 95th

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

When you've got the best view in town and a lock on special occasion dining, do you need to be daring with the food? The Signature Room keeps it simple, making a formal affair of dishes such as rack of lamb and sautéed salmon while everyone ogles the skyline views from the John Hancock's 95th floor. If you come at lunch, the daytime light lets you see Lake Michigan; the $20 lunch buffet is a steal, but only available on Fridays and Saturdays. Sunday brunch is lavish—and

pricey.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

John Hancock Center, 875 N. Michigan Ave., 95th fl., Chicago, Illinois, 60611, USA

Map It

Phone:

312-787–9596

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 06/11/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 15, 2012

Signature Room at the 95th Review

Disappointed. I had high hopes for this place & was excited to spend Valentines Day out with my boyfriend(culinary student) here. Sad to say the meal & service didn't meet the $100/plate price tag. The appetizers were well designed & tasty, those were a win, however, the soup & salad course left much to be desired. The lobster soup was luke warm and tasteless. The salad had crisp greens but I had to stop eating it half way thru because the vinegar

in the dressing was overpowering & burning my tongue. The steak was excellent but dessert fell apart. Please keep in mind this was a pre-fix menu so we had limited choices. The pallet cleanser of passion fruit soup, again, was so tart that it hurt my tongue. The chocolate tart was well crafted but lacked any sort of flavor development. Not a very satisfying end to a meal. We were also disappointed that our pre-ordered chocolate covered strawberries never arrived. The server removed them from out bill & when we spoke to the manager about it he said, rather sharply, "well if you were still at your table I could do something about it." Realize that we were waiting at the elevator to leave & had not put on our coats, the table we had sat at (which was right next to the stairs, a table like this should not exist in an establishment like this) was still empty, we might as well still have been at it. All in all an overrated establishment for the price. I would say that this place is a tourist stop you can do without!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2010

Signature Lounge Review

A heads up on the Hancock Building, which is one of my favorite places in Chicago. There is an entrance fee (approx $15) for the Hancock Observatory (94th floor), which lets you walk around the entire floor to see every viewpoint, take an audio tour and purchase kitschy souvenirs. My group purchased the "Sun & Stars" entrance which is approx $20 for two entries over 48 hours which is a perfect way to see both daylight and nighttime views. However

for the price of a cocktail, you can avoid the entrance fee and get a table on top of the Windy City (96th floor). Drinks are comparably priced to other venues in the city, and they serve other light fare as well. The 95th floor serves as a restaurant, with similar views although I'm unsure of the menu prices. There is a bit of a line if you go with the after dinner crowd, but it moves quickly and is worth the wait. So save yourself the entrance fee and head upstairs to the 96th floor Signature Lounge for a drink and a stunning view. Speaking from personal experience, the best view is in fact from the women's restroom!

Read More

By bwco

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2009

Signature Lounge Review

We followed the advice of another website and went up here for a bite to eat while we were visiting Chicago. It was late afternoon and the restaurant was no longer seating new customers, so we went to get appetizers in the lounge while we took in the view. This place has some of the worst service that I have ever seen. First of all, we waited on line, while other people behind us in line were seated first, (we were dressed in business casual).

The host seemed more like a security guard or bouncer than a traditional host. Never smiled, never welcomed us to the lounge. After waiting, we were shown to our seats, which were at a counter next to the window. One seat was in on the end and the window was slanted, obstructing half of the view. We were not given the option of waiting for a table or asked if we wanted to wait for better seats. The counter was not clean, the dirty dishes from the previous patrons were left there and never cleaned up. Since we were not seated at the bar, we assumed a waitress would be coming to take our order. After waiting about 10 minutes, we went to the bar and were told that we would have to order there. We ordered a Pepsi, a hot chocolate and 2 orders of chicken quesadillas. We got our drinks right away and after about 10 minutes, a waiter came out with one order of quesadillas, a knife and no fork. At that point, we were so disgusted with it, we split the order with each other and just ate the quesadillas with our fingers.

Read More

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2004

THE VIEW IS THE ONLY THING TO DIE FOR

Went for our daughter's surprise engagement announcement. She and her fiance came from out of town for the occasion. The food was average, not hot and the service was indifferent and the prices were very expensive. Its true that the lunch is a great deal, but not for dinner.

By Jen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2001

Bad Service

My experience was VERY disappointing. When I first arrived, I asked for a window seat to get a nice view. It was still early and the restaurant was still not full), but host insisted the window seats were reserved for smokers. We were ignored through most of the dinner by the staff, as they were eager to entertain the seemingly more affluent guests. After the dinner, we walked to the windows just catch a glimpse of the view. The hostess rudely told

us in front of the other guests, "We don't mind if you want to look outside, but can you not do it near the guests?" though I was not anywhere near other guests. I believe that I was treated rudely because of I look young and was dressed in business casual clothes. I do not recommend the snobby staff and will not be visiting anytime soon.

Read More

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 12, 2001

Top of the world...in more ways than one!

View: Just an awesome spot for the view! Food: Don't know about the daily fare, but the Sunday brunch can't be beat for variety and taste! Cost: Yep, it hits you in the wallet, big time! In summary, this is something to experience once just to say 'we did it'. My advise: go once, go hungry, take your time, and take your camera!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2000

Go for the View

Food is just ok, and therefore, very overpriced. Worthwhile for the view alone though, especially if you're an out-of-towner. My advice is to go to the 96th floor lounge for a drink- you can still enjoy the view, and save your money for a really good dinner somewhere else.

By Cynthia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2000

Best place to pop the question!

Romantic, romantic, romantic. Can not beat the atmosphere and food is good. The brunch offered during lunch Monday -Friday is an excellent value!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement