Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Restaurants

Shaw's Crab House

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

Shaw's is, hands down, one of the city's best seafood spots, and though it's held an exalted position for years, the restaurant doesn't rest on its laurels. The kitchen stays on track, turning out famed classics like silky crab cakes and rich halibut from a menu that's been updated to also include sushi, maki, and fresh sashimi selections. The seafood salad served at lunch is big enough for two. Lunch, by the way, is rather a bargain, with well-priced entrées and $1 desserts.

The restaurant does have something of a split personality, with a clubby main dining room in nautically themed loft digs as well as a lively exposed-brick bar where shell shuckers work extra hard.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

21 E. Hubbard St., Chicago, Illinois, 60611, USA

Map It

Phone:

312-527–2722

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 06/11/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Ted123

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 9, 2010

Shaw's Crab House Review

Food is tasty.But very expensive.

By Hexter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 27, 2009

Best seafood in Chicago!

July 25, 2009 My wife and I dined at Shaw’s Crab House on Sat night, and it was fantastic. We have eaten out at a lot of restaurants, and we can honestly say that Shaw’s (either Chicago or Schaumburg) still has it going on, and is top of our list for consistent, quality seafood and shellfish. The food is always prepared right, with great service, and the dining room is comfortable, where you can relax and enjoy your meal. Here was our dinner/all

worthy selections: Start with their hand-shucked dozen assortment of oysters (Chicago Magazine just voted “the best” oysters), then their famous jumbo lump crabmeat crabcake (North Shore magazine voted “best crabcake”), then their wonderful Lobster Bisque soup, then split an order of their steamed Alaskan King Crab legs with side of melted butter, then try the in-season special, three delicious soft shell crabs sautéed in lemon, garlic butter, all with great veggie sides, and end it all with Key Lime Pie and Homers Peppermint Ice Cream with Hot Fudge sauce. Hot Intelligentsia coffee drinks and specialty tea capped it all off, and we were very happy. Shaw’s has the seafood dining experience down to a perfect science. Highly recommend for either dinner or lunch if in Chicago.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2008

3 nights in a row

Last trip to Chicago could not get away from Shaws. Great bar tenders, wait staff and great food! The Pometinis are to die for along with a list of sea food, I really like the sauteed Haddock

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 15, 2007

Absolutely Delicious

One of the best seafood places in the city. Whether you want fancy sit down (main restaurant) or a casual dinner (the Blue Crab Lounge), Shaw's is the place to go.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 25, 2007

great fun place

either bar area or restaurant are recommended. place where chicagoans love to go to hang out. great oysters, bbq shrimp, draft beer and nice wine list. fun atmosphere.

By Emily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 18, 2005

Lobster to Die for

My husband and I brought his best friend here when he came to visit. First of all, great decor. Red leather booths, with great lighting and table set-up. The menu is extensive and full of fantastic options. Between the three of us we had shrimp cocktails, fried oysters, lobster, crab legs, and crab cakes. All fantastic. Our server was helpful and informative. We didn't have any wine (which is unusual) but all our cocktails were delicious.

The Blue Crab Lounge seemed very busy. Reservations seem a must for weekends. Shaw's is a must for Chicago dining; festive, casual, delicious, and enjoyable.

Read More

By Weezer

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2005

Loud Crowd

Went on a Tuesday night. Tables were too close to one another and noise level too high to carry on a conversation with person sitting next to me. Food was not that special. Service was adequate. Will not be returning.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2004

Needed another shave while waiting for table.

Had an 8pm reservation, after 2 hours sitting in bar, we just decided to eat there. Once sat it took 30 minutes for a server to show up and greet us with a, "Whacha drinking"? I thought, am I back in Dallas or a fine Seafood House. As a crewmember of a major airline out of Chicago, I have certainly past the work of our horrible experience.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2002

Fast Becoming a Family Tradition

My wife and I make lunch at the Blue Crab Lounge a regular stop on our visits to Chicago. The food, ambience, and service are terrific for people who still enjoy old fashioned style--as opposed to nouveau kitsch. The waiters are urbane, and therefore not phony friendly. But, they can give you straight up advice. The food may be ordered to personal taste, even if that particular variation does not appear on the menu. Stay clear of the fish--order shellfish--and

late reservations. The value cannot be measured when 2 hours pass at a clip and we eagerly anticipate the next time we get to come here. A pair of appetizers, the lobster, or oysters, or mussels and pasta, a bottle of wine and a split key lime pie and we're off to Nordstrom's to do enough damage to last us until our next visit. Penny pinchers and papparazzi hunters, go elsewhere. Shaw's is terrific.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 16, 2002

Good Ole Standby

While it wouldn't hurt for this place to get alittle updating, you can't beat it for the freshness of its seafood. They know how to make a subtle compliment to a fish dish without overpowering its own flavor.

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 20, 2001

Too crowded & pricey

For the atmosphere and the long wait I found this restaurant one I wouldn't return to. The crab legs were ok. For the price, service and atmosphere it wasn't worth the trip.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement