Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Restaurants

Morton's, The Steakhouse

  • 65 E. Wacker Pl. Map It
  • $$$$
  • Steakhouse

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

Morton's in the Gold Coast neighborhood can be more fun, but this location, a spin-off of the Gold Coast original, is one of Chicago's best steakhouses. Excellent service and a good wine list add to the principal attraction: beautiful, hefty steaks cooked to perfection. A kitschy tradition mandates that everything on the menu, from gargantuan Idahos to massive slabs of beef, is brought to the table for your approval before you order. White tablecloths create a classy feel.

It's no place for the budget conscious, but for steak lovers it's a 16-ounce (or more) taste of heaven.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

65 E. Wacker Pl., Chicago, Illinois, 60601, USA

Map It

Phone:

312-201–0410

Website: www.mortons.com

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch Sat. or Sun.

Updated 06/11/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2010

Morton's, The Steakhouse Review

Morton`s was the last restaurant we visited on our trip to Chicago.It certainly was a case of leaving the best to last,it was ideal for the lunchtime. There was an extensive wine list,the menu had lunch time specials & a set lunch menu with a couple of alternatives for each course costing $25. The service was the best we encountered in Chicago & that was despite some tough competition. The food was excellent & beautifully cooked,the time spent

at Morton`s flew past.

Read More

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2006

Perfect. Every time.

Great steaks (try the Cajun Ribeye). Great cocktails. Most importantly, great service. They wrote the book on steak. Will be back.

By Don

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2006

Avoid Morton's in Northbrook

Smoke wafts over from the bar into the dining room including cigar smoke. The food was fair but the service was horrible. Expensive.

By Ash

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2005

Overpriced and Overblown

Way too much hype for the mediocre food.

By Bret

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2003

What??? What??? Oh yeah - the food is good.

Morton's has great food and a festive (read: loud) atmosphere. It's great if you don't mind parting with a few bucks and are looking for a party-like dining experience, but you won't have much luck carrying on a meaningful conversation with you dining companions.

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 26, 2002

Not going back

Let's see, started at the bar. The bartender was more interested in the game on tv than us. We were seated, the room was really loud. Then came the parade of servers. We never had the same waiter twice. One of our steaks was way too rare, but we had a heck of a time finding who to tell about it. We felt great pressure to hurry up and eat so they could use the table again. When we left, we felt more like we just survived the restaurant rather

than enjoyed the meal. Of course, there was no waiter to thank us for our patronage. We were looking forward to Morton's, but were very dissapointed.

Read More

By Cynthia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2000

Best Steakhouse in the city!

Excellent steaks and service. A steak lover's paradise!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement