Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Hotels

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Pros

  • Modern decor
  • Great ambience

Cons

  • The place is so sleek that some guests have a hard time finding the light switches

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

A wonder of modern architecture, this French-owned gem is a prism-shaped structure that juts over the street and widens as it rises; design sensibility shines in guest rooms, too, with honey maple–wood furnishings, Barcelona chairs, and marble bathrooms. The sophisticated Café des Architectes—which has seasonal outdoor seating—is notable for its 30-minute executive lunch, while Le Bar is like a den, with comfortable seating and a fireplace.

Hotel Information

Address:

20 E. Chestnut St., Chicago, Illinois, 60611, USA

Map It

Phone:

312-324–4000; 877-813–7700

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 415 rooms, 33 suites
  • No meals

Updated 06/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By mmw

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2012

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Review

Although the Sofitel may be a lovely place to stay, their customer service is just awful. Several times I contacted them, via the website link provided, regarding a reservation I had made for July, 2012. I received no response at all to my repeated requests and questions about cancelling my reservation. The hotel actually charged me the first night's reservation (nearly $200), then refused to respond when I requested a refund. Although I eventually

located their reservation and cancellation policies on their website, it is extraordinarly difficult to find. I consider their practices deceptive and misleading at best. I have never, in countless reservations I have made through different hotel websites, encountered this issue. Please beware.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 16, 2009

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Review

The Sofitel Water Tower is a European hotel in style and size--some will love this, some will miss more space in the room. Overall, my experience left me pleased, having received the level of service and attention to detail that I would expect at a Sofitel. The room was sleek contemporary in decor--but warm--and with excellent closet space, views, linens, and sound insulation. The bed was exceptionally comfortable! The bathroom was spacious, with

an array of lovely L'Occitane products, as well as a deep soaking tub and separate shower. The bar is a great spot for a drink or two--with many locals coming in for an after work or pre-event cocktail (I used to come in myself when I lived in Chicago). You can't beat the location--just a block or two off of Michigan Avenue, near plenty of great dining options. I'd recommend for business or pleasure!

Read More

By tjhome1

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 20, 2008

Welcome style and luxury

We stayed here for just one night after almost 2 weeks of cheap accommodation in DC and NY and absolutely loved it. Yes it was expensive but it was so excellent. The rooms aren't huge I guess compared to US sizes but it's a hotel not your home. The restaurant was fine too and excellent breakfast.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 16, 2007

Hotel Nice But Rooms Small

We stayed here for 5 nights in early December. I thought the rooms would be bigger. Dont get me wrong it was nice, but for the price I would have liked a little more room to move around. The people at the hotel were great though. Very good service.

By Billee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2006

Enjoyable stay

This was our second stay here. We had an deluxe suite with a wonderful view. The rooms were very comfortable and the hotel is conveniently located. Service and attention could not have been better. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Chicago.

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 2, 2005

Great Location, BAD CHOICE

We booked a suite for 7 nights. Front desk, concierge, housekeeping unfriendly and not helpful. Rooms were not throughly cleaned each day, mini-bar not restocked entire 7 day period (despite two requests). Room was nice but not nice enough. Big disappointment.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement