Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Chicago Restaurants

Shaw's Crab House

  • 21 E. Hubbard St. Map It
  • River North
  • Seafood

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

Shaw's is, hands down, one of the city's best seafood spots, and though it's held an exalted position for years, the restaurant doesn't rest on its laurels. The kitchen stays on track, turning out famed classics like silky crab cakes and rich halibut from a menu that's been updated to also include sushi, maki, and fresh sashimi selections. The seafood salad served at lunch is big enough for two. Lunch, by the way, is rather a bargain, with well-priced entrées and $1 desserts. The restaurant does have something of a split personality, with a clubby main dining room in nautically themed loft digs as well as a lively exposed-brick bar where shell shuckers work extra hard.

Restaurant Information

Address:

21 E. Hubbard St., Chicago, Illinois, 60611, United States

Map It

Phone:

312-527–2722

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 06/11/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Ted123

  • Value

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Food

Feb 9, 2010

Shaw's Crab House Review

Food is tasty.But very expensive.

By Hexter

  • Food

  • Service

  • Value

  • Décor

Jul 27, 2009

Best seafood in Chicago!

July 25, 2009 My wife and I dined at Shaw’s Crab House on Sat night, and it was fantastic. We have eaten out at a lot of restaurants, and we can honestly say that Shaw’s (either Chicago or Schaumburg) still has it going on, and is top of our list for consistent, quality seafood and shellfish. The food is always prepared right, with great service, and the dining room is comfortable, where you can relax and enjoy your meal. Here was our dinner/all

worthy selections: Start with their hand-shucked dozen assortment of oysters (Chicago Magazine just voted “the best” oysters), then their famous jumbo lump crabmeat crabcake (North Shore magazine voted “best crabcake”), then their wonderful Lobster Bisque soup, then split an order of their steamed Alaskan King Crab legs with side of melted butter, then try the in-season special, three delicious soft shell crabs sautéed in lemon, garlic butter, all with great veggie sides, and end it all with Key Lime Pie and Homers Peppermint Ice Cream with Hot Fudge sauce. Hot Intelligentsia coffee drinks and specialty tea capped it all off, and we were very happy. Shaw’s has the seafood dining experience down to a perfect science. Highly recommend for either dinner or lunch if in Chicago.

Read More
  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Aug 14, 2008

3 nights in a row

Last trip to Chicago could not get away from Shaws. Great bar tenders, wait staff and great food! The Pometinis are to die for along with a list of sea food, I really like the sauteed Haddock

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

May 15, 2007

Absolutely Delicious

One of the best seafood places in the city. Whether you want fancy sit down (main restaurant) or a casual dinner (the Blue Crab Lounge), Shaw's is the place to go.

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Mar 25, 2007

great fun place

either bar area or restaurant are recommended. place where chicagoans love to go to hang out. great oysters, bbq shrimp, draft beer and nice wine list. fun atmosphere.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.