Maui Hotels

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Grand Wailea Resort Hotel & Spa

At a Glance

    Pros

  • you can meet every vacation need without ever leaving the property
  • many shops

    Cons

  • at these prices, service should be extraordinary, but isn't always up to par
  • extra charges for resort fee, parking, and more
  • sometimes too much is too much

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Grand Wailea Resort Hotel & Spa Review

"Grand" is no exaggeration for this opulent, sunny, 40-acre resort—either astounding or over the top, depending on your point of view—with elaborate water features such as a "canyon riverpool" with slides, caves, a Tarzan swing, and a water elevator. Tropical garden paths meander past artwork by Léger, Botero, and noted Hawaiian artists—sculptures even hide in waterfalls. Spacious ocean-view rooms are outfitted with stuffed chaises, comfortable desks, and oversize marble bathrooms. Spa Grande is the island's most comprehensive spa facility, offering everything from mineral baths to massage. For kids, Camp Grande has a game room and movie theater. Among the hotel's restaurants, Alan Wong's Amasia offers cuisine that Wong descibes as "East meets West meets Hawaii." The Grand Wailea is definitely not the place to go for a quiet retreat or for attentive service.

2010 Fodor's 100 Hotel Award Winner

Go huge or go home, as the saying goes. This place is more than a pool—it's a water park. The Grand Wailea has nine pools on six levels and water features that kids adore, including slides, caves, a water swing, waterfalls, and a "river" that connects several pools. The excellent—and equally over-the-top—lodgings and facilities at this resort make it one of the best on Maui.

    Contact Information

  • Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr., Wailea, HI 96753 | Map It
  • Phone: 808/875–1234; 800/888–6100
  • Website:
  • Location: Wailea

    Hotel Details

  • 728 rooms, 52 suites.
  • Rate includes no meals.
  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 02-21-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Paradise in Maui

    Just returned from a most wonderful stay at the Grand Wailea Resort. Our ocean view room was spectacular! All the amenities top notch. Staff were spot on and always courteous~ never wanted for anything! Bartenders Michael and Alan at the center main bar were friendly and knowledgable about island information. Made alot of people very happy with some great island drinks :) Don't forget to eat at Amasia-- it is amazing!! (And ask for server Leslie, she is the best!) Plan to return to Maui again and will only stay at the Grand Wailea-- the best!!

    by bigblue2u, 9/11/12
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Grand Wailea Resort Hotel & Spa Review

    We started this debacle by being deceived about how many wristbands we could receive when we checked in. Then, when we complained about this, the manager told us there was nothing he could do and whoever told us that we could have more wristbands was wrong. Then, we were supposed to have the oceanview room and when we got to our room, all we could see were palm trees. The bellman told us to just move the palm trees in our head. Then, when we are in the room, our bathtub is disgusting and we complained to the housekeeping staff and nothing was done. My wife had to clean the bathtub, ON OUR HONEYMOON!!!! The shower had mold in it, the air vents were black with filth, and there was dirt on the walls itself. I know we paid the local rate but that doesn't give anyone the right to do such a poor job. When we complained to the manager, Hilme, he implied that since we shouldn't expect much since we were getting the local rate. Just because I was a savvy shopper and knew people on the island is no reason for their standards to be lax. Then, we found that the valet parking (which is mandatory) is pretty ridiculous considering they are charging 30 dollars for parking. Then, I found out that 30 dollars is not total for your stay but PER DAY, which is not mentioned anywhere, which is fraud by the way. We complained and the valet manager reversed the charges after apologizing for the "miscommunication ". When we checked out, we complained about the many problems and the manager, Hilme again, told us that "A hundred off is more than generous considering you got the local rate." Now, not only is that being prejudiced against the local Hawaiian people, that is also showing bias against their guests for being savvy shoppers. That's not even remotely approaching the level of class that we were expecting from the hotel for something that was not our mistake. I expected our stay to be comped and apologies abounding. Instead, I got apathy and rudeness. Now, I work for the Bellagio in Las Vegas and when I booked our stay, they told me that the Grand Wailea was the Bellagio of Maui. Unfortunately, from what we saw, the cleanliness and professionalism of the hotel is comparable to a low-class Days Inn. I am extremely disappointed in the level of service and customer care that we received and I will be relating that information to every guest at the Bellagio who asks for the best place to stay in Maui. I will now be referring people to the Kea Lani from now on. That "should be more than generous", as the manager put it.

    They should have cleaned the room thoroughly. They should not have defrauded and deceived people about the price of parking and if they were gonna charge for parking, they should have offered the option of self parking. It is a Waldorf property, and I expected impeccable cleanliness, style, and charm. Instead, I got attitude, mold, dirt, and a poor attitude. I expect someone to contact me immediately regarding this problem. I expected more from a 4 diamond property.

    by Sean_H, 2/25/12
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Grand Wailea Resort Hotel & Spa Review

    Our family stayed there the 3rd week of December 2011. We stay there every year. This was the worst stay I have ever experienced. We were there for a company Christmas Party. I took along two other children along with my two. Their parents had not checked in yet as they worked later than myself. The Hotel would not allow the other two children to use the pool until their parents checked in. I called the manager Aaron>Yes his name is Aaron. He was quite rude and informed me that I was lucky as is since I was able to get a great rate as the company party was also there. They charged us 189.00 plus addtnl 10.00 pp baggage fee, 25.00 per vehicle per night and the list goes on and on. We also invited a very prestigious couple to join us at the pool the next day to have some cocktails and lunch on us. The minute they stepped into the pool area they were immediately informed that they needed to leave as they were not hotel guests there and that security would be called if they did not do so! And this was by a cocktail waitress. How embarrassing for us and our friends. Since the new owners took over, you will find very rude behavior and very bad service. The hotel occupancy was so low and just sad to see. Now I know why!!! Good Riddance to this Resort.

    by DebraKahula2010, 1/10/12
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Grand Wailea Resort Hotel & Spa Review

    This is a ridiculously expensive resort where we stayed when times were good & we were really foolish. Prices increase about 10-12% per year & I wrote management telling them they'd lose members including us. Our last visit was the worst. To cancel our membership we were charges a $1,000 fee.
    Then we were only allowed the remaining $1500 of our membership deposit as a credit. We showed up staying at a friends condo nearby & told we couldn't use our credit unless checked into a minimum $425 per nite room. The "GW" got us every which way coming & going & the $1500 of our own money was burned up in 2-days [whereas our split of the condo for 9-days was $540 & it was REALLY nice!
    Need more? Here's some examples of our last stay: "normal" breakfast of bacon.eggs for us & 2-guests =$150.
    Dinner at poolside grill for my wife & son's girlfriend = $140. My youngest son & I had a cocktail & beer at bar in entryway lounge = $57. Gift shop, a 6-pak of Bud beer = $19.98. I could go on with the $20 per day parking charge, etc., but you get the idea. Oops, 1-last - their signature restaurant, we made reservation
    to take a son & fiance to celebrate & asked for a specific table. Sorry, already reserved was the answer. We got a lousy table in the dark, a bill for $350 for a very so-so dinner & when we left 2-hours later the table we asked for was still empty. No more GW for us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    by Vincent_Scherba, 1/8/11
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Grand Wailea Resort Hotel & Spa Review

    I stayed their for my honeymoon - and they threw an item out from my room through room service. I spent hours upon hours looking for assistance from them - they sent a security guard to the room accusing me of lying and rummaging through my personal belongings and garments - then they ignored me till the end of my stay when Aaron who denied any assistance showed up with a phony smirk to say we can't do anything about it. Spend nearly $500/night for this level of service - NEVER again.

    by AryA, 9/29/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Truly Amazing!!!!

    This place was so amazing. It was like royal paradise. Everything was first class, even the beach! I HIGHLY recommend it. We went during labor day week and it was still fabulous. we didn't take our kids buts I saw parents with kids there and the kids didn't seem like they were out of place. Awesome

    by ToiMenten, 4/18/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Been going since '95

    Through four management teams we have returned year after year after year. Yes, it IS expensive and there are little charges here and there and yes breakfast cost $27 but just look around you. Does it really matter in the whole scheme of things if you have to drop an extra $500 or so. Are you too busy picking up pennies to see where you are? We used to stay at the Grand Hyatt until it fell into the 'tour trade' and then we can to heaven, the Grand Wailea. If your prime concern is saving a buck, find another hotel. If your main concern is how you spend the next 7 to 12 days of your life, stay at the Grand Wailea. If you're on a budget, this is not the place for you.... if you want to build a memory with your private cabana at the adult pool and be served ice water and fruit platters and watch the world go by, this is the place to do it. We've already made our reservations for '08, same time, same room, same cabana, same wife.

    by Seatalker, 11/26/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Grand-theft Wailea

    Outrageously expensive after toting up all the nickel-&-dime charges, plus the three-figure meals (even breakfast). Maintenance is sadly lacking, but that probably doesn't bother to the platoons of out-of-control kids who populate the landscape like a plague of locusts. Quiet it ain't! Many of the gardens and pools are quite lovely in a Disneyesque sort of way, but just try to enjoy them!
    Our $650 room was okay, but certainly not the equivalent of what $650 would have bought at the neighboring Four Seasons - a hotel that compares to the Grand Wailea the way Mercedes compares to Chevy. I will certainly return to this wonderful island again and again, but never to the Grand Wailea, where a dollar has the value of a peso.

    by JoanWells, 11/22/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Not what it used to be

    For years, the Grand Wailea resort has been one of our favorite vacation hotels…in fact, we stayed at the property on average two times a year. It makes me sad that I will no longer look forward to being a guest at the Grand Wailea.

    We arrived at the hotel on November 6th and were assigned room 4012. As we walked down the hallway with our bell man, I noticed the poor, unkempt condition of the hallway. Paint chipped, dirty walls, doors with dirty fingerprints, and filthy light fixtures were very apparent. Our room was not much better with spotted upholstery and chipped furniture. Our 4th floor grassy area was appalling. There was a paper cup lid, a straw wrapper, a dirty band-aid, cigarette butts, and weeds about six inches high.

    Since we were the hosts of six other couples at the hotel, we were very concerned about their rooms and complained to a manager. She was very apologetic, and upgraded one of our guests to the concierge level, along with the promise that our other guests would have a “good room”.

    The next day we spoke with another manager about the condition of our patio, and he assured us that the patio garbage would be taken care of.

    During our five day stay, the patio was never rid of the garbage.

    Not just our hallway was disgusting, but the hallways of our guests were also never swept. They, too, had chipped paint with dirty walls and doors.

    Our dealings with the concierge were not much better. He assured us that he cancelled our return Speedy Shuttle reservation at our request. This cancellation was never done, and Speedy Shuttle came to the hotel resulting in a needless charge to us.

    As I stated before, I am so disappointed in the condition of the property. I cannot imagine paying $900 over the Christmas Holiday for a room in such poor condition. This trip was embarrassing to us as we were the hosts to very important business clients.

    I look forward to the time when this resort is renovated, updated, and cleaned up to its previous condition.

    by laplume, 11/13/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Attention to detail lacking

    The hotel lost my reservation and it was a nightmare that lasted 3 days including them locking me out of my room on one occasion. You would speak to front desk supervisor or client services and be assured that the problem was resolved and the next day the whole process was repeated, like the movie ground hog day, not the customer service that I expected. They did the minimal amount required to correct their mistake and lacked the commitment to excellence that I would expect for this level establishment, they never provide me with common courtesies, such as calling me back to update me on the room situation or simply saying they were sorry. The physical plant and rooms are very nice but overall an unsatisfactory stay. They failed to live up to my expectations for common courtesy and professionalism. I would highly recommend the 4 Seasons next door, as the place to stay in Wailea.

    by Eabella, 6/18/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Nickel and Dime Hilton

    I recentely took my new wife on our honeymoon to Maui on May 5th 2007. We stayed at the Grand Walea Hotel in Maui booked by a travel agent. The property was amazing but the hotel wanted to nickel and dime you for every little thing. First, don't valet your vehicle unless you want to be charged $15.00 a night. Be sure to move the vehicle before 7:00 in the evening and you wont be charged. Second, you will pay $6.50 for a 12 ounce can beer and $12.00 for one of those cocktail fruity drinks. What a rip-off. Breakfast buffet in the morning is $27.00 and should be around $19.95. Also, we asked for a small refrigerator to put in the room so that we would not get a inflated bar tab on the room. The refrig will cost you $25.00 for the entire stay. Well worth it to use your own groceries while you enjoy the luxury of the hotel. If you plan to rent one of the umbrellas on the beach, that will be a cool $45.00 a day. Yes, I did say $45.00. Overall the hotel was very nice but something was just in the air that felt like we were not that welcome. I don't know, maybe it's a Hilton thing. Good luck!

    by georgiehogie, 5/16/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Management please improve

    This could be such a great place, but management needs to get on top of many issues. I would very much lke to go back, but on my last stay in May '05 I found myself upset about so much that it was tough to enjoy the vacation. This hotel has one of the most beautiful locations and the pools and gardens are amazing. But, for the prices, one should receive great service and the place should be clean. (The Four Seasons next door has all of this down, but doesn't have the expansive gardens and pools.)
    My main complaint, besides the fact that you do feel nickeled and dimed at every turn, is that the facilities are dirty. Each day we would swim in the pools and find the most disgusting of personal items in and around the pools.
    I actually think this could be a great resort and I would spend the money to stay there again and again if they could pay attention to the details - especially the cleanliness details, and get the customer service ethic down. For these prices that is really the least that one should expect.

    by amazon13, 5/4/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Bad Experience

    We went in September 2006 for our honeymoon and were thoroughly unimpressed with this resort. Upon arrival, our room was not ready so we went to eat at the restaurant in the middle of the pool area. My personaal pizza was $18 and there were ants crawling up the wall. The pool area was under construction and didn't appear clean at all. Inflatable rafts had to be purchased for something like $15 each. Kids were loud and overly rowdy in the pool area. The main lobby store was being fumigated. And in general, we found the staff to be moody and uninterested in being polite. I must agree with many of the reviews from recent stays - if you're looking for quiet, this is not for you. If you have kids that are out of control and you just want to unleash them, this may be just for you. And you have to pay for nearly everything. We opted out of our 4 night stay and spent the next 3 nights elsewhere. This may have been a nice place at some point, but that ship has sailed.

    by dietzer, 2/13/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals in Maui

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

· News & Features

View more blog stories