Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Maui Restaurants

Haliimaile General Store

  • 900 Haliimaile Rd. Map It
  • $$$$

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

Chef-restaurateur Beverly Gannon's first restaurant remains a culinary destination after more than a quarter century. The big, rambling former plantation store has two dining rooms: sit in the front to be seen and heard; head on back for some quiet and privacy. Classic dishes like Bev's "Famous" Crab Pizza, Asian duck tostada, grilled rack of lamb, and many more are complemented with daily and nightly specials. To get here, take the exit on the left halfway up Haleakala

Highway.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

900 Haliimaile Rd., Haliimaile, Hawaii, 96768, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-572–2666

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 02/20/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Maui

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2010

Haliimaile General Store Review

Bev and Joe Gannon have captured fine dining in a county setting only to be experienced on Maui. The extensive selected wines and beverages will please any palate and are perfect accompaniments to the carefully prepared, distinctive signature appetizers, salads, entrees and desserts. Gina and I had a most wonderful evening. Everything was just perfect. We were privileged by the most gracious hostess and host. The Tedeschi Vineyards

Ulupalakua Red grew with every course. A great long smooth finish. A superb match to your wine list. Bev's crab pizza showed the crab in superb fashion. The Caesar salad done with your fresh mix of lettuces, select cheese embraced by your Caesar dressing that enhanced the entire salad with each savory serving. Gina's rack of lamb was done to perfection. The hoisin sauce with black beans was a perfect compliment to the lamb. The wasabi mashed potatoes was thoroughly enjoyed to every last bit. The mixed greens matched the best that we have had from the best woks. The Maui Cattle Company rib eye, Gina commented, "Matches the best steak from Washington, D.C. to Kansas City." The quality of the Maui Cattle Company beef, their carefully monitored dry aging process and the masterful performance of the grill master totally overwhelmed me. Done to perfection with distinction. The hoisin sauce went equally well with the rib eye. The macaroni with your secret blend of spices and cheeses, highlighted by truffles won expressions of delight and many sighs of enjoyment. The accompanying nested onions showed great skill in preparation and execution. Perfectly golden and crisp and showcasing the sweet Maui onion. Thank you Bev and Joe. Please thank each and everyone for their good and blessed work. Their expertise, skill and love radiates to all who dine at Haliimaile General Store.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 13, 2009

Would eat there again

We were there in November. Husband and I and our two young daughters had a nice dinner there. Heard about it from this site and thought we better give it a try. A bit of a drive for us, but gave us a chance to get off the beaten path. The food was great. My only complaint, was our server wasn't fantastic. Seemed a bit annoyed with our daughters, even though they are/were extremely well behaved. I would also agree with a prior review of the

staff seeming to be a bit disorganized & sloppy. Overall, cute place and I would go back. Oh, and as a bonus we did receive a pretty significant discount for bringing in canned goods for the restaurant to donate to the local food bank.

Read More

By gehmana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 17, 2008

Aweful Aweful

We found our Hali'maile General Store experience so incredibly awful we are shocked it is rated at such a high referral. Our experience was seasoned by the staff experience and the atmosphere. We came across so many restaurant nightmares in our evening that it was laughable. We had every restaurant faux pas in the book occur at the table: miscommunication as to seating arrangement, frequent mix up with seat numbers and waiters putting the

wrong beverage, knife, plate, appetizer and dessert in front of the wrong guest not once...but EVERYTIME. We were being served by a waiter who had little to no knowledge of the menu. AROUND us, waiters were dropping ramekins, glasses and at one point a full tray of sugar packets and glass ramekins! Dropping the occasional plate or a minor fumble happens in restaurants, every 15minutes is unacceptable. To be perfectly blunt we found that engaging with the staff was similar to trying to get service from butter fingered oafs. We were VERY impressed with our food, we had several courses, sampled the beverage menu and ended with some lovely desserts. AMAZING food! The atmosphere is the worst I have seen in any four star? reviewed restaurant... ever!! The 'banquet hall' of a hotel is more accommodating than the interior design of this restaurant. We feel that if they have secret shoppers or up for a new review in Zagat...the atmosphere and service is sure to catch a snag.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 6, 2007

Twice in one week!

Loved our first meal at Hali`imaile so much (dinner), that we moved our lunch reservations later that week -- sending us back to Hali`imaile again. Fresh, innovative food served in a very unique environment by cheerful, informed, efficient waithelp. Not cheap -- but not overpriced for what you get. I'd give this place a higher score, if Fodor's would permit!

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2006

Out of the Way - But Worth it

The drive up the hill to The General Store rewards the determined diner at this excellent restaurant. Unique dishes that titilate the pallette abound. Make the trip, and reward yourself. I can't wait to get back to Maui to eat here again.

By jay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 26, 2006

out of the way but the food is great

service is great at this out of the way restaurant perfect little place in the middle of no where prices reasonable and the food is good too

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 15, 2006

Your New Favorite Restaurant

Been to Maui countless times and this was the best of all our finds. Service was great and the food was awesome. Can't go wrong. Arrived after a day trip to Hana and it was just the rejuvenation stop we needed. Run don't walk to your new favorite restaurant.

By roy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 15, 2006

basic excellence in 1997

I rate a restaurant by the quality of the ingredients, the care with which they are prepared, and fundamentals such as whether the food is overly salty, or whether it arrives hot to the table. In all my categories this place was one of the best on Maui if not the best. We had lunch and it was outstanding. The waitress was helpful and intelligent, and the meat was perfectly (not overly) cooked and served hot and succulent. But restaurants change,

and service can depend on time of day, or number of patrons. But I am pouzzled that my favorite Maui restaurant has so many mediocre reviews. Chaque a son gout.

Read More

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 19, 2004

always a winner

One of my favorites on Maui, the food is always great, the chinese chicken salad is a winner, and desserts are out of this world.

By Trent

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2004

Wow. Ten Years Later, and Still Great . . .

Went to HGS 10 years ago, and returned this year for the first time (on 3/19/04). Food was great (the sashimi napoleon appetizer was exceptional), so it's easy to see why the Chef's nominated for a James Beard Foundation award this year. Here's one of the few restaurants on Maui where you can eat exceptional food in a very casual setting. You just got the feeling that you could have said to the waitstaff that you were craving a burger and they'd

be thrilled to accomodate you. Definitely one of the top island eateries.

Read More

By Trish

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2004

Loved this place!

We had lunch here and enjoyed every bite. I had the Chinese Chicken Salad and my husband had the ahi wrap. Our waitperson was very professional and fun. It was my favorite food on Maui and we had dinner and lunch at many of the top restaurants.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2002

Love Bev Gannon's style

Sashimi Napolean is one of my all time favorite apps....this place has great style with a laid back feel and the chef is quite often there, unlike other famous chefs, quite approachable.

By Jessica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2001

Nice stop, but not at the top of the list

We stopped here on the way back from Hana, as this restaurant has a perfect location for that. We did really enjoy our dinner, but felt that it wasn't as good as some of the other restaurants that we dined in on Maui. Also, the prices seemed a bit higher than other places, and this place doesn't have a gorgeus view to compensate for that.

By lisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 9, 2000

one of the better value places on the island

I liked this place for its casual atmosphere and its menu selection. The deserts looked incredible, but we didn't have room. Share the the Bev's goat cheese appetizer. It's tastey, but too rich to eat by oneself.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement