Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Maui Restaurants

PacificO

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

Sophisticated outdoor dining on the beach (no, really on the beach) and creative Island cuisine using local, fresh-caught fish and greens and veggies grown in the restaurant's own Upcountry O'o Farm (and, quite possibly, picked that very morning)—this is the Maui dining experience you've been dreaming about. Start with the award-winning appetizer of prawn and basil wontons, move on to any of the fantastic fresh fish dishes, and for dessert, finish with the banana pineapple lumpia served hot with homemade banana ice cream.

Restaurant Information

Address:

505 Front St., Lahaina, Hawaii, 96761, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-667–4341

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 02/20/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Maui

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By lmanyon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 19, 2007

Unwelcomed on Anniversary

It was a beautiful romantic night I had planned for our 3rd anniversary. The culmination was to be at the much vaunted Pacific'o. I made reservations for 8:30, romantic table, special night.... I might as well have said "blah blah blah.." because that is what the girl on the phone heard. We arrived and no reservations were on the book. After the deer in headlight reaction, she wrote "W/I" down and lead us to a decent table. The food was pedestrian

at best. It seems the chef is more interested in color and texture than flavor. I wanted a scotch to warm me up as it was a bit cold outside. Too bad the waitress had no idea what they had behind the bar. I had the spring rolls to start. It wouldn't be so bad if every other restaurant on Maui didn't have spring rolls on the menu. The tomato soup was good with a little spice and and clams. Described as a Manhattan clam chowder, I was left to fill in the blanks myself until I actually tried it. My wife enjoyed her tofu stack but she thought it a little unamaginative. As for Pacifio, The setting was great but the rest had much to be desired.

Read More

By Melissa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2004

Had its ups and downs

Kinda overrated, in our (picky) opinions. The food was good, but very sweet and heavy on the onions. We found the "signature items" to be the best bet, and a combination ahi/ono tempura entree was excellent. The view is lovely, and we got to see the dancers from the luau next door warming up, which was fun. Downsides: the service wasn't great, and our server was rather annoying. The tables on the patio were rather small and crowded, and the one we

were sat at had a pole next to my husband's chair that made things awkward. Also, they sat a huge party of doctors next to us and they kept pushing past our chairs all night because there really wasn't enough room for so many people. The appetizer we tried wasn't great, and my husband's entree was only okay. Our advice: nice for the view, but don't cry if you can't get in. You're not missing that much.

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 27, 2004

The best service & good food in Maui

We were very dissappointed with many restaurants (poor food and service)in Maui until we tried this place. The food was good, and the best of all, the service was excellent. Being from bay area I guess our exepctation was very high. None matched ours except this one.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2003

Lovely setting and great food

Reserve a table outdoors, although I agree with the comment that the chairs could be more comfortable. Great, inventive food and servers and are more informed than many other restaurants.

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2003

Veggies eat elsewhere

I was recommended to come here by my hotel concierge...and left disappointed. The food quality was not what I thought...and that left a sour after taste in my appraisal. To be fair the atmosphere was good, just short of being great but the service was good. Sister I'O i here has better veggie food - though I did not have time to try it. Not one to complain. I just wish the quality of the veggie food was much better...

By Emily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 12, 2002

A pleasant spot

We had an excellent lunch here. My husband and I both had salads -- I had the spinach salad with the seared ahi upon our server's recommendation -- and they were excellent. It's located right next to the beach in Lahaina and it's a very pleasant atmosphere. Serice was friendly and laid-back which was perfect for lunch. At the other end of the restaurant, a Japanese couple was celebrating their wedding, which made for excellent people-watching. I'm

sure Pacific'O would be excellent for dinner as well, although I would have a hard time passing up it's sister restaurant I'O, which was the source of our best meal in Hawaii.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2001

Beautiful Night

The seared "fresh fish of the day" with macadamia-coconut crust with Thai peanut sweet and sour glaze was fantastic - as was the setting and service. As we were leaving, I noticed they were selling a cookbook that featured entrees from numerous restaurants on the various islands. We bought it right away after seeing the featured recipe from Pacific'o was one of our entrees. A must place to go.

By leslie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 7, 2000

good but not the best

We had a wonderful waiter. The food was good but not exceptional.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement