Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Maui Restaurants

Hula Grill

  • 2435 Kaanapali Pkwy. Map It
  • $$$

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

A bustling and family-oriented spot on Kaanapali Beach at Whalers Village shopping center, this restaurant designed to look like a sprawling '30s beach house represents a partnership between TS Restaurants group and Hawaii Regional Cuisine pioneer chef Peter Merriman. They serve up large dinner portions with an emphasis on fresh local fish—try the macadamia-nut crusted catch, fire-grilled ahi steak, coconut seafood chowder—as well as USDA Prime steaks. Just in the

mood for an umbrella-adorned cocktail and some pupu? Go to the Barefoot Bar, where you can wiggle your toes in the sand while you sip. The beach is called "Dig Me"—you'll understand why after just a few moments.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Whalers Village, 2435 Kaanapali Pkwy., Kaanapali, Hawaii, 96761, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-667–6636

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 02/20/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Maui

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By JanvL

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2008

Nice views, average food

The views are great from this restaurant's patio. The food is OK but average. The house specialty good but small portions, the POKE tacos fresh but to much soja sauce (too salty). The quality/price ratio is fair though. The staff was very friendly.

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2006

We go every year!

This is a must-go place for us every time we go to Maui. The food is great and the view is wonderful. We love the Hula Grill! It is a fun place Make sure you make reservations early and ask for a table on the patio with a view. Sunset is the best time. It is absolutely beautiful. Stay away from the inside rooms - too hot and not much atmosphere.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 12, 2004

The Service Went Out With The Tide

First, we asked to be seated in the shade, but the hostess was listless. She took us to the sun. We moved ouselves. Then, the waitresses began fighting over our table. When "our" food arrived, it belonged to folks at another table. When things settled down, our food and beverages (late) arrived. The meal looked "sad." This place is inconsistent. You can have our tsble, we're leaving.

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2004

Best setting for lunch

The food is good, but nothing much out of the ordinary. It's the setting that's the draw. This is where I take first-time Maui visitors for lunch. Best spot on Kaanapali beach, hands down. The service is just fine, and the cocktails what you'd expect. No disappointment here.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2004

We loved this place!

When we were in Maui, we ate here all the time. We ate at the Barefoot Bar on the beach for lunch, we had appetizers at the bar at night and we also ate inside for dinner one evening. Great food and service. We both still have fantastic memories of this place!

By Trish

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2004

Great location

This is a great spot to eat dinner or lunch on your first day in Maui. The food is pretty good, the service very good and the sunset view terrific. Fun!

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 13, 2003

Go for the view, not the lunch

Lunch was disappointing, given all the raves below, but being just a few feet from the beach made up for what I would consider average food. If I went back I would give dinner a try.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2003

Fun setting--cheesy servers

Fun setting, especially for families. Pretty at night with the torches all lit. And the food was great. However, our waiter was really obnoxious ("I can't believe you haven't been here yet. EVERYONE comes here as their first stop!" Really?!)

By Philip

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2003

Hula la !

Reservation couple days in advance will make you surf over the wave of last minute hungry tourists... Excellent tables outside with wonderfully peaceful view.Server friendly and pro.Food excellent,price reasonnable for this fine neighborhood.Great experience

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 5, 2002

Can't get any fresher

Our favourite spot on K. beach. One evening, a catamaran on a sunset cruise was beached and 2 guys ran into the restaurant with a freshly caught dolfin fish. The mahi mahi that night was exceptional.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2001

People-watching Place

The food is good to very good - the service above average. With two "restaurants" combined, it's a great place for burgers & things or walk a few feet more and enjoy a more upscale menu. With it being on the ocean walkway, it's a great place to eat, drink and watch the world go by.

By lisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 19, 2000

Coconut calamari & macadamia nut pesto pizza -- mmmmmm!

We had one of our best dinners on Maui at Hula Grill's barefoot bar! The salad of organic greens, spicy coconut-encrusted calamari, and macadamia nut pesto pizza were all fantastic. Good service, comfortable relaxing atmosphere (with music at happy hour), and reasonable prices make this place a winner.

By Lars

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 23, 2000

Burger, Beer and Beach

One of our favorite places for a burger and beer outside on the sand at sunset.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement