Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Maui Restaurants

Longhi's

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

A Lahaina landmark created by Bob Longhi—"a man who loves to eat"—Longhi's has been serving pasta and other Italian fare to throngs of visitors since 1976. Although Bob's children run the restaurants now, his influence is still strong. Many of the classic dishes on the menu are his—prawns Amaretto, steak Longhi, and the signature lobster Longhi for two. The wine list is award winning and gigantic. Before the rest of Lahaina (or Wailea) wakes up, have yourself a cup of freshly squeezed orange juice and some good, strong coffee to start the day. Breakfast pastries are made in-house. There are two spacious, open-air dining levels; and there's a second Maui restaurant at the Shops at Wailea.

Restaurant Information

Address:

888 Front St., Lahaina, Hawaii, 96761, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-667–2288

Website: www.longhis.com

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 02/20/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Maui

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By jimmoi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2007

Terrible

Went here because we had heard of it before and the place we wanted to go was full. Maybe our first clue was that it was half empty on a Saturday Night. Service was acceptable, but I thought it a bit strange the waitress asked us as soon as we sat down whether we wanted to order thier dessert special as it takes a long time to prepare. The food was terrible. My salad was acceptable (hard to screw up a salad), but my entree, thier signature "Scallops

Loghi, was about as imaginative as Kraft Dinner (but not as tasty). A plate of overdone scallops in butter, bascially. My wifes Tuna was dry, bland, and tasteless and coated with a deep fried breadcrumb layer that was aweful. We didnt stay for dessert. Overall the biggest dissapointment in Maui. I dont know why it is even listed in Fodors.There are many fine resataurants in Lahaina, spend your money there, as Longhis is not one of them.

Read More

By Vero

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2006

Yuck

sloppy mush served on a platter with a winning view. Advice:go to the beach, enjoy the sunset and then take your wallet to one of Honolulu's really good restaurants like Nick's Fish Market. You'll pay similar prices but the food will actually be edible and if there is leftovers you'll want a doggy bag; at Longhi's you'll want a barf bag.

By paige

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2006

save your time and money

They have a verbal menu which was horrible because we had never been there before and had no idea what there choices were. My husband's rare steak was burned and my shrimp pasta lacked the shrimp. Upon complaining our waitress stated that they just don't have complaints about the food, left us the bill and walked off. The manager was quick to rectify the situation upon being made aware of the problem.

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 13, 2006

Sick too!

Weird my wife was on the bathroom floor after eating their Lobster Longhi, which was disgusting believe it or not. I called this establishment and was told my wife should control her drinking! How rude. My wife is not even a drinker and only enjoyed an ice tea with her meal. I told the manager Mary Jo or something this and she insisted their food is prepared only to the highest standards and that unfortunately she had to get to the other guests

and to come again. What??!!! Okay thanks Mary I'll be coming in real soon.

Read More

By Candace

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2006

Rude Employees.

Recommended by the employees at the Westin. Looking for dinner and entertainment. Upon walking in the door we asked for the upstairs seating. After being seated we were approached and told that we could not have a table. I asked why? We were told that the tables were for patrons purchasing dinner. (Well Hello) I stated that we were infact there for dinner as well as the entertainment. We were approached again and asked to move. I stated yet again

to another employee that we wanted to order dinner. Finally we were allowed to remain at the table, ordered dinner and drinks.The food arrived cold and for the amount that we paid it was a very small quantity. The band was so so. I would not recommend going.

Read More

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 30, 2005

Wow. All This and Food Too?

The staff was very attentive! The food was like old Italy. The sunset was spectacular!

By Terri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 30, 2005

Beautiful View, and Great food too!

Great food, great view, and great service.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2004

Not Longing for Longhi's

Our dentist recommended Longhi's. Well, we must have been there on an off day. Service was poor and the food was disappointing. In fact, we will never go back. Oh yes, the prices are out of line with what you get. Oh well, the tourist gets it again.

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2004

Longhi Time No Food

As a thank you dinner to our Maui hosts I took a group of 8 to Longhi's based on a recommendation. The "no printed menu or prices" is the ultimate tourist rip off. After over 30 minutes of trying to sort out our order with an inattentive waiter and "no printed menu or prices" we were served, after much delay, a dinner worthy of a corner Italian dinner in any town in the USA. My wife and I had canneloni which was nothing more than two huge torpedoes

of warm meat in a wrapping, covered by medicore cream sauce. No garnish, no vegetable, no color. Dull, unappetizing. The cost was out of proportion to both the service and quality of the food by a factor of 2-3 times. This is the only restaurant review I've ever written and too bad it had to be so negative. Save your money and enjoy another restaurant in wonderful Maui.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 30, 2003

LONGHI'S - WAILEA

One of the best dining experiences during our trip last March. Liked it so much, we went twice. Food was great; especially the Shrimp Longhi. Surroundings and atmosphere were pleasant and relaxed; service was top notch.....and no verbal menus !! Would highly recommend this location.

By Philip

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2003

Ultimate Italian Swindle !

If you like a menu and prices to be improvised in front of you based on your appearance or nationality by uncaring waiter who obviously enjoy the con game of wasting your time an snatching your wallet GO AHEAD !! seafood pasta was decent,not much choice for lunch,seat yourself and wait. It's incredible to witness such a downgrade.I was there 14 years ago and loved everything about them. Won't recommend to any friend.

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 17, 2002

What the Heck is the Menu and What the Heck Does this Meal Cost???

I had no idea what type of food Longhis had on their menu because we could only get their menu read to us in categories. I couldn't even remember the salad category much less the pasta category...meat category...fish category...meat + pasta category (I am not making this category up!!) poultry category. Can't they afford menus??? Also...forget about the prices. They are apparently well kept secrets. After we ordered, they brought my sister the

wrong meal. The young girl who brought the order didn't apologize...she took my sister's order away and left me with my food getting colder by the minute. Finally we tracked down our "order taker" and he took my food back into the kitchen while they made my sister's order. Not something you would expect to happen at a restaurant charging these prices...not that I knew the prices until the bill came. Do yourself a favor...eat somewhere else. Big disappointment!!!

Read More

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 2, 2002

Here's the beef but where's the spuds?

After reading several of the reviews from this site, I was reluctant to try Longhi's, but since it was near our hotel in Wailea, we decided to give it a shot. I'm glad we did. The food was excellent. The Tuna Carpaccio was sublime. The Bob's Steak Sandwich was succulent. I haven't had a steak that good ever. And the Bolonaise sauce is SOOOO yummy--I mean really tasty. Our cheerful and friendly waiter, Chris, sincerely cared that we enjoyed our

food and our time at Longhi's. We had such a great lunch that we decided to return for dinner. That night we ordered the NY steak served with basil and I ordered the fish special (can't remember now as it was fine but not that memorable). Okay, for $30 I really expected that the fish and steak would come with a scoop of potatoes or rice and a handful of veggies (come on guys, rice is like $1.89 a pound, kick down already). The steak was tasty but $30???? If you want to try the food, lunch is a better value.

Read More

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2002

Bob Longhi - A Man Who Loves to Pillage

For all those out there who think piracy died out with Captain Kidd's last breath, think again! Bob Longhi and his crew of Lahina scalawags are crusing the Hawaiian main, looting the wallets of unsuspecting tourists seven days a week at both locations - Lahaina and Wailea!! While aboard Captain Longhi's crazed culinary journey, unfortunate diners must run a gauntlet of outrageous prices, lackluster food, a noisy location, and poor service. Don't be

fooled by the waiters who orally recite the most expensive dishes on the menu while conveniently forgetting about the cheaper entrees.

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2001

Best Breakfast in Maui

My wife and I had breakfast and dinner at Longhi's. The breakfast was excellent. A freshly baked cinnamin bun the 10"x10" was served first, then the most delicious melon was served second and finally we shared eggs benedict which was great. For dinner, we sat upstairs and had a nice view of the water and the dinner was very good. The verbal menu did not bother us but the waitress at night was not as attentive as Matt the waiter we had for breakfast.

He was great.

Read More

By Kristen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2001

We loved it

This was one of our most favorites on our trip to Hawaii. We made a reservation, and had to wait a few minutes because we were early. Our waiter was very friendly, and they have the cookbook available to peruse the pictures and recipes for what you like. The food was delicious - we had calamari as an appetizer and then the lobster and the ono(?). We also enjoyed the upstairs atmosphere; although not overly loud, it was nice to have the fresh air

from the open windows and to see the sun set. Other people we met on our trip recommended Longhi's, and they didn't steer us wrong. It may not be for everyone, but it was for us!

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2001

Say What?

At some point in time it may have been a good idea to have an entire menu recited to you but I can't really think of when that might have been. It made for a confusing, not enjoyable experience. Although my wife's Shrimp Valencia was outstanding, everything else was just OK. Maybe if I had total recall, I would have been able to pick something better than the entree I remembered our waiter talking about. At $60 per person, they should be able

to afford printed menus and better quality food. We would not go back.

Read More

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2001

Cheap skates stay out!

Great food, i've ben there two different times both times in the summer. The macadamia nut crusted mahi-mahi is the best fish I've ever had, any where!! The food is no more expensive that a quality restaurant in Chicago. Great sunset location, stay away if your too cheap and have to ask the prices.. you belong in McDonalds!!

By Charlie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2000

Ouch,pasta that hurts !!

We stopped at Longhi's for lunch while strolling thru Lahaina and were not impressed.There is no menu,the waiters take pride in having everything comitted to memory,however it's difficult to digest(pun intended)what they have to offer as he rattles off their all of their offerings.We all(4 adults)had a pasta dish with 3 glasses of wine and 1 soda total. The servings were meager but very good.The waiter showed us one their T shirts with the Longhi

trade mark and a logo on the sleeve that said "Whatthef**k!". I asked the origin of the saying and was told that was what the customer usually said when they got the check and what the waiter says when he gets the tip,he was right on both counts!!! Our meager lunch(snack) came in at a little over $100 which really catches you by surprise because without a menu one has no idea of prices.If you stop by Longhi's,after they recite the menu,have them recite the prices.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement