Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Maui Hotels

Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Pros

  • New fitness center
  • Quiet
  • Great beach

Cons

  • Not as luxurious as nearby properties in Wailea
  • Far from attractions

Updated 02/21/2014

Fodor's Review

This resort (formerly the Maui Prince) has a superb location just south of Makena, in a secluded spot amid a magnificent golf course and abutting a beautiful, near-private beach. The pool area is simple, but surrounded by peaceful and understated gardens. Guest rooms, on five levels, all have ocean views (in varying degrees) and surround the courtyard, which has an atrium garden with a stream. An activity desk can arrange a wide range of water sports, including snorkeling

and stand-up paddling. The storytelling and stargazing session that uses iPads is popular with families. The day spa offers relaxing massages in oceanfront cabanas. At press time there were unfinalized plans to demolish the property and construct a new smaller hotel by the end of 2015, so check for updates.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

5400 Makena Alanui Rd., Makena, Hawaii, 96753, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-874–1111; 800-321–6284

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 290 rooms, 20 suites
  • No meals

Updated 02/21/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By mscarls

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 19, 2013

Highly recommended resort

We were extremely happy that we decided to stay at this hotel rather than some of the larger, more expensive ones to the north. We would highly recommend it to others. The staff members were very competent and helpful, particularly the beach shack staff. We had a beachfront room that was large and well-maintained. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were soft (something my girlfriend always notices). We liked that the bathroom had a

bathtub area with a clothes line AND a stall shower so we didn't have to take things down that were drying when we wanted to shower. There is a self-service washer and dryer on the main floor. The balcony was large and had a good view. The hotel was a good value considering that there was no resort fee yet we got free beach chairs, free valet parking, and free WiFi (although it could have been stronger). There was a $25 daily fee for a beach umbrella that seemed steep yet typical for Maui. (We later stayed at the Sheraton which charged $15 per day for beach chairs and didn't offer umbrellas because it was too windy. The wooden twin chaise cabanas were $45 per day.) I enjoyed snorkeling off the hotel's beach and did swim with a turtle. The snorkeling was good (but not as good as at Black Rock by the Sheraton where we stayed later). We didn't try snorkeling anywhere else while staying here because we liked having beach chairs, an umbrella, restrooms and a bar handy when we were finished. We got a package that included the breakfast buffet and enjoyed it. Some of the items were changed each day so there was sufficient variety. The hotel is not sprawling like many of the other Maui properties and it felt more Hawaiian than the Fairmont, Hyatt, and Westin that we visited. The hotel is slightly remote but that seemed like a good thing. Wailea and Kihei were only a short drive away and I believe that the hotel had some sort of shuttle service for guests without a car. One warning -- There was significant construction on the north side in mid-May 2013 when we were there and it looked like it might be around for a while.

Read More

By luxgirl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2012

Best value

Five star resort at half the price of the nearby locations. Private beach and good restaurant. Free buffet brunch. Clean rooms. Got an upgrade and always found a space to sit by the pool or on the beach. Concierge will help you out with all your day plans. Try the sunset horseback ride. White escalade shuttle service to the golf course and nearby resorts.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 23, 2007

Superior

The Maui Prince is superior in every regard, in marked contrast to some of its neighbors in the Wailea vicinity to the north. The Maui Prince is Japanese in the very best sense - in attention to detail, exquisite service, and beautifully understated elegance. If you're looking for a tropical Las Vegas experience, check out the gaudy Grand Wailea nearby. The only possible complaint is that the hotel is located near the southern end of Maui's

west coast, and the drive to Lahaina takes at least an hour (if you don't get caught in traffic). The hotel offers no shuttle service to Lahaina, so a rental car - and a long drive - is your only option if you want to go elsewhere in the island.

Read More

By Melissa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2005

Relax at secluded, romantic Maui Prince!

We loved the Maui Prince hotel, a perfect get-away spot for our anniversary trip. It has beautiful grounds and a peaceful location just south of Wailea. It's on the Maluaka Beach, a nice, uncrowded beach for snorkeling. The most outstanding feature of the Maui Prince is the excellent staff, who really aim to please. They take pride in their jobs. Upon our arrival, I complained about the rainy weather making our room muggy, and they sent a guy

to check our air conditioner, just in case, plus they sent up 2 big industrial fans to "dry" out the air, and they checked back with me to make sure I was pleased! I was very pleased. The fans helped with the damp-air problem during that first rainy day, and then the sun came out and we had a splendid time for our 5-night stay. We could hear the ocean from our 4th floor Prime Ocean View room by keeping the balcony doors open at night and just closing the screen! This was January and they gave us the 5th night free plus $100 worth of free food credit. The pool and jacuzzis are too small for the size of the resort. However we knew that ahead of time, and we came for the beach and for the seclusion. It was wonderful!

Read More

By Ruth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 15, 2003

Maui Prince- great location, good value

We just spent 5 nights at the Maui Prince and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's true that the rooms are dated and the pools are tiny, but everything was very clean and with a hotel/car package the rooms were well under 200/night. The grounds are beautiful, and our southern "partial ocean view" room had a perfectly nice view of palm trees, golf course and a little bit of ocean. We didn't swim at the Maui Prince's pretty beach because it faces west and

gets sun later than some of the beaches just minutes to the south, such as Big and Little Makena. These beaches are gorgeous and spotlessly clean. The Maui Prince is best for people looking for a quiet hotel in a pretty setting with excellent beaches nearby. Despite what people told us about it being "remote", we found it to be convenient- 5 min to Wailea and Kihei, 30 min to the airport and 45 min to Lahaina (for Hawaii, I guess this is a long way). I shopped everywhere for the best deal on this hotel (online services, travel agent, etc.) and found that the hotel's room/car package was the best deal of all. (We ended up getting this same package through Costco because they had the best airfare.) Enjoy!

Read More

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2003

Best Bargain on Maui

This hotel is a great deal for the money, especially if you're looking for a mellow get away.

By Regina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 10, 2002

Peaceful Bliss

This was our second stay (first in 1997). Come here if you want a quiet vacation with wonderful service. The staff is fabulous, the rooms are spacious and the views can be spectacular. Pay the extra few dollars a day for an ocean view room vs. a partial ocean view room. The pools are small, but why come to Hawaii to swim in chlorine? Jump in the ocean! This is a place to unwind and recharge. I wouldn't come here with children or if is your first

visit to Maui (it's kind of remote), but if you want peace and quiet in a lovely setting with an attentive staff you won't be disappointed.

Read More

By Vic

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2001

Family of 5 or more...get the suite

The suite we enjoyed was a huge bargain compared with having two rooms. Wonderful mid-sized hotel compared with the gigantic mega-resorts. The pool is a joke. The beach is exceptional. Although the restaurant food seemed a little price, the free valet parking is a great perk.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement