Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Maui Hotels

Royal Lahaina Resort

Pros

  • On-site luau nightly
  • Variety of lodgings and rates
  • Tennis ranch with 11 courts and a pro shop

Cons

  • Older property still in need of updating

Updated 02/21/2014

Fodor's Review

Built in 1962 as the first hotel in the Kaanapali Resort, this grand property toward the northern end of Kaanapali has hosted millionaires and Hollywood stars, and today pleases families, budget seekers, and luxury travelers with its variety of lodging styles. The upgraded Lahaina Kai Tower features teak furnishings against light-color walls, plush beds with Egyptian cotton linens, and sound systems with iPod and MP3 docking stations. There are rumors that the quaint plantation-style cottages will be replaced with luxury villas, but for now, they offer a timeless experience. At the Kaanapali Ocean Inn, you can stay for less money and a little less comfort, but with all the resort services and amenities. The poolside Don the Beachcomber bar, billed as "the Home of the Original Mai Tai," retains the retro-tiki style of Hawaii's early days as a vacation paradise.

Hotel Information

Address:

2780 Kekaa Dr., Kaanapali, Hawaii, 96761, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-661–3611; 800-447–6925

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 511 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 02/21/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Maui

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2012

Royal Lahaina Resort

I loved this hotel. The staff is friendly and accommodating, true aloha spirit. The hotel and grounds are spotless. We stayed in the tower, in an ocean front room, and you could push the slider all the way back (nano wall?) and sleep with the door open listening to the ocean all night. I'm an ocean fan, so we didn't lounge by the pool much. I appreciated the shower right off the beach so you could rinse off. There is also a walking trail which you

can take all the way down past the Sheraton if you want to be around a bazillion people. This hotel is quiet and relaxing. I've been to Hawaii 6 times in the last few years and this was the best authentic Hawaiian hotel I've stayed in. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again-or recommend to a friend.

Read More

By Danno

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2006

A has-been in need of a rebuild

Declining resort in the midst of mega-million property which waits to be redeveloped...Take it down and rebuild. Excellent beachfront property, adjacent to Sheraton. Rates low comparable to Sheraton/Marriott but you get what you pay for. If you're there for beach, don't care that much about the room, then stay there...the beach is great.

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 9, 2005

Cozy Cottages~ Beautiful Location

I stayed at the Royal Lahaina in Aug.2005 along with my 21yr.old daughter, two of her girlfriends and their moms.(6 ladies ) I had made the reservations but was leary due to the bad reviews I had read on here. We arrived and were treated very well. Our rooms weren't ready so they gave us coupons for free drinks in their lounge. We sat there drinking our drinks and taking in the gorgeous ocean view and forgot about our rooms. We had a cottage(actually

3 cottages)that all opened to one big unit or we could shut and lock doors for individual private units.It was great.. The rooms were clean,cozy and nicely decorated. The maids did a great job keeping our rooms nice and clean. Our air wasn't working too well... We called the office,they came out immediatley and they didn't just fix it... they put in a whole new unit. It was great! The grounds are beautiful, the food and drinks were delicious. The beach is gorgeous and the view of the ocean from the pools is awesome. We loved the Royal Lahaina Resort and all 6 of us ladies said we wanted to stay there again when we return to Maui. The cottages are great for families or more than one family. I plan on returning with mine as soon as possible.

Read More

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 20, 2005

Terrific Beaches - Nice Hotel!

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and really enjoyed ourselves! The room was nice - plain but nice. The beach is FABULOUS and just a short walk from your door!! We swam and snorkeled all day even swam with turtles, it was outstanding!! And at night you can walk the beach without the interruption of running onto another hotel it was wonderful! The food was good, and the breakfast was really nice! The luau was a lot of fun! Took us

a while to figure out the AC didn't work with the door open, but that was fine. We truly enjoyed our stay - great value for the money! If you want a truly peaceful stay and love to snorkel, swim and just enjoy the beach this is the hotel for you!

Read More

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2004

What's to like about this place...

Well the price was okay, the food was okay (decent breakfast), the ambience was nice, the bed okay, the room okay, the view great, and they have a very good luau. Overall an okay place to stay.

By Ginger

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2004

Night of metal torture

I have stayed in Motel 6's that are more comfortable and nicer then this resort. The bed was like sleeping on a box spring with know mattress. My husband and I did not sleep due to the metal torture chamber of a bed. The resort was very dated and the cottage we were in had an obstructed view due to the hudges they planted along the edge of the beach. We spent one night and moved over to the Sheraton which was AWESOME!! Don't waste your money

at this place.

Read More

By Rosanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 17, 2004

Pleasantly Surprised

You couldn't ask for a better beach! The hotel is old but well maintained. Rooms are spacious. Views can't be beat!!! The staff was friendly and helpful. Our only meals at the hotel were breakfasts. We ordered off the menu rather than choosing the buffet. Food was great and cheaper than the buffet. The Haleakala Waffles are to die for!!! This is our second trip to Maui - stayed at the Westin last year at more than 2 1/2 times the price. The

room was much smaller, view not near as good and the beach can't compare to the Royal Lahaina. This is a GREAT value for an oceanfront hotel on Kaanapali beach. We'd definetly return to the Royal Lahaina!!!

Read More

By LuAnn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 11, 2004

Adequate, not bad for the price

I agree that the hotel looks a little shabby and I probably wouldn't stay here again, but for the price it wasn't bad. I came on a United Vacations package that I bought at the last minute, and the Royal Lahaina was the cheapest of the choices.

By Harry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2003

Family Fair

We'd stay again; for a family of four it was perfect. The room in the Royal Hale, yes that building they all condemn, was nicely furnished, and some venting would help, but it was very, very comfortable. The sound of the waves hitting the beach made it very restful. Some of the pet peeves -- paying for parking, coffee and safe -- would make it better, but if you're prepared (we brought our own coffee, knew about the parking fee, and didn't need the

safe), it's a great value for a family vacation. With a small refrigerator in the room, you can stash bottles of water, juice and snacks to keep your kids happy. A Safeway is just down the road.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 7, 2003

Here is the true spirit of Maui

We have stayed at the Royal Lahaina 3 times, in the cottages. I can only say that while the slick hotels on Kaanapali Beach are newer and in better condition, at the RL you have the best - BEST - beach on Maui plus the view of Black Rock plus the easy walk to the Whaler and the other Kaanapali facilities. Best reason to stay here: NO CROWDS ON BEACH. The drinks here are good, the burgers are fabulous, and our stay gave us what we truly wanted,

a reasonable accommodation in paradise. The ants and geckos did not bother us, nor the peeling paint. Our room was just for sleeping anyway. It's sooo much better than feeling like you have to dress up and act up to the standards of the 5-star deluxe hotels.

Read More

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 10, 2002

Royal Lahaina is Decent

For Gods sake you picky people its a hotel on tropical Island. You're going to expect to find geckos and walls usually fade when theres humidity. What are you critics expecting? The Ritz Carlton? Enjoy what you got!!

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 12, 2002

A festering hole

This is quite simply the worst hotel I have stayed at in America. Period. The Royal Hale rooms should be condemed. The ones in the main building are better. Overall the hotel needs to be gutted or better still knocked down and rebuilt. Staff don't care either. In summary DONT STAY THERE,

By Alice

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2001

The Royal Lahina was a Royal disappoinment

I stayed at the Royal Lahina in August of 2000 with my daughter. When we arrived at the hotel we were given a room off of the main tower near where the luau is held every night. The carpets were tattered and the front door was a slidding door with a latch. In the bathroom there were ants and a gecco. I promptly complained to the front desk and I was given another room in the main tower for $75 more dollaars a night. THe room was cleaner and slightly

newer. However, the beds were only singles and were rock hard. Room service was slow and there was not a lot of choices. Also, it took three days for the tray to finally be cleaned up. The only nice part of the hotel is the lobby, but hta's about it. My suggestion is to definitely find someplace else to stay.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement