Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Maui Hotels

Kaanapali Alii

  • 50 Nohea Kai Dr. Map It
  • $$$$
  • Casual Chic

Pros

  • Large, comfortable units on the beach
  • Good location in the heart of the action in Kaanapali Resort

Cons

  • Elevators are notoriously slow
  • Parking can be crowded during high season
  • No on-site restaurant

Updated 02/21/2014

Fodor's Review

Amenities like daily maid service, an activities desk, small store with complimentary DVDs for guests to borrow, and 24-hour front-desk service—and no pesky resort fees—make this a winning choice for families and those wanting to play house on Maui's most stunning shores. The four secluded 11-story buildings offer one- and two-bedroom units with ample space, sunken living rooms and separate dining rooms. Other amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center; three

clay tennis courts; an upgraded pool area with flat-screen TVs, cabanas, and barbecue grills (stocked with plastic utensils and paper plates); massages and room service from the nearby Westin hotel; and signing privileges at the Westin, Marriott, and Sheraton hotels within the Kaanapali Resort.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

50 Nohea Kai Dr., Kaanapali, Hawaii, 96761, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-667–1400; 800-642–6284

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 264 units
  • No meals

Updated 02/21/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Maui

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By stkejo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2008

Perfect for us.

What a beautiful place. The location on Kaanapali Beach is on Kaanapali Point where surfers and boogie boardes enjoy the wave action and guests from other hotels walk to because the beach is nicer in front of the Alii. Rooms are very large (1500 square feet for a one bedroom, 1900 for a two bedroom). Since the units are privately owned there is a significant difference in furnishings and decor. Although some units have not been updated since the

Alii was built in the early eighties, most unit have been modernized. I would reccomend requesting an updated unit on the inner courtyard and perhaps being up a few floors for privacy and view. Our unit had Bamboo floors, a fully equiped kitchen, two full bathrooms and bed rooms (even though it was technically a one bedroom. Washer and dryer. Also two flatscreen plasma televisions and a selection of videos and dvds. The beds were large and comfotable. The beach boys were very helpful with chairs and towels. Housekeeping did a great job. The front desk check in and check out was quick and easy. I see nothing to complain about. I guess the pool is small and dated and does not have the "Pirates of the Carribean" look, that some of the other hotels in Kaanapali have. Also, there are no on site restaurants or bars, but everything is in walkig distance. The BBQ and dining setup by the pool is fantastic. Grills are well maintained and BBQ utensils are supplied. It is nice not to have to eat out three times a day. The Alii was perfect for us, we will alway stay here.

Read More

By Theresa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2006

Not Ali'i it's cracked up to be

We reserved a 2BR-2BA premier ocean front room for 8 nights at $700 a night for 5 adults. We were so disappointed with our room -- the front faced the ocean, the rest overlooked the parking lot, the furnishings were very dated & the sofa bed was locked at "owners request" even though we were told it would accomodate 5 adults. We were told there were no other condos available but pursued it the next day and ended up in a nicer one for less money!

The front desk gal was not helpful at all; we needed to be the ones to come up with all the possible solutions & we also had to get our travel agent involved in the refund we received in downgrading from a "premier ocean front" to a "standard ocean front" After losing an entire day messing around with this, our stay there ended up being OK. It's a great location with a great beach. If you are considering upgrading to a "premier room" know that they are rated 1-4 with 1 being the best. Our travel agent wasn't aware of this & I'm not sure it would have mattered if she had known. Bottom line as far as I'm concerned is don't waste the money -- there was no difference between the premier & standard except the standard was a much better location & had newer furnishings!

Read More

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2005

Watch Out For This One

Classic Resorts manages this hotel. I had two problems. First I reserved a ocean view room and it was not available without making a move during my stay. When I ask for the adjustment for the room diffference, they stated that my travel agency needed to request and make the credit(about 7% difference). Guess what the travel agency cannot get the Kaanapali Alii to credit back the difference. They will not return letters or calls. Second, while out

of the room with the do not disturb sign out, Kaanapali personnel enter my room and serch through the luggage and removed a wallet with cash, credit cards and personnel ID. Management denied this account and when I had the Maui police investigate, it was determined that only their employee was in the room at the time of the theft. Kaanapalli Alii was to turn this claim to their bonding company.Guess what,they, including Peter Rice their EVP, now will not return calls or E-mails or do anything about this incident. Given Classic Resorts handling of these problems, I would advise any traveler to stay out of the Kaanapali Alii and other resorts manage by Classic Resorts(Lahania Shores, Puunoa Beach, Mauna Lani Point, and Islnd at Mauna Lani).

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2005

Perfect Spot

Just returned from 10 days at this condo - it was excellent. Well managed and maintained. It can be tricky to rent a condo site unseen, but this was perfect. Location was great, service was great, 2 bedroom mountain view was huge - lots of room for a family of 5. BBQ grills at the pool, full kitchen, washer/dryer, walk to Whaler's Village and great beach.

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2005

Great Place To Stay

We stayed in a gorgeous 2-bedroom unit that had been completely redone with granite and travertine. It was lovely. The pricetag on these units is steep, though, especially considering many units are in the process of being rehabbed, and the jackhammers are LOUD!!!! I'd ask about renovation plans when making reservations. It could ruin a trip. The location is very central, but the pool is small. If you come with small kids be prepared for them

to envy every other hotel pool area on the beachfront and wonder why they can't swim there instead. My sister stayed in a one-bedroom unit which wasn't nearly as nice as ours. This leads me to believe there is a great deal of variety amongst the units, as each is individually owned. Overall, I would probably stay here again, despite the price.

Read More

By Maria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2005

great value

Great hotel for the money. Everthing around is in the $300-$500 range. this one we got for $200/night. super deal.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 16, 2003

King at Kananpali

Big and tasefully decorated. Everything worked well. Room layout was just right. Location is a short walk from other beachfront locations. Glad room didn't face due west, for the sun can heat up a room quckly and the terrace becomes useless during this time. Place was quiet.

By Billy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2003

Great Place

Stayed for six nights ,oceanfront 2 bedroom.Very clean ,pleanty of room ,nice service.

By Suzette

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2003

Luxury on a budget

A dream came true for 3 older ladies on holiday who were first timers to Hawaii (Maui). It took us three gals four years to save for this vacation and we wanted it to be PERFECT, a trip to talk about for the rest of our lives. After much internet surfing we choose Kaanapali Alii condos for our 8 day stay in January 03. We decided that LOCATION..LOCATION..LOCATION and some LUXURY were up-most on our list of requirements. When picking a hotel/condo

you never really know what you will get until you arrive, but we are happy to say we couldn't of chosen a better condo and area. Staying at the Alii gave us a feeling of luxury and saved us money in the long run. After landing on Maui we drove right to Costco to buy groceries for our kitchen (good idea). Many days we never used our rental car as we could walk right out onto the most beauiful part of Kannapali Beach or walk down the paved walkway 5 mins. to go shopping or eat at the Whalers Village. Day or night we always felt safe. The condo grounds, parking areas and the paved walking path are well lit at night. Our one bedroom condo was very clean and spacious (two queen beds in the master bedroom and a queen bed in the den). The maid service and the washer and dryer were an added bonus. We sat on our own private balcony and watched the world go by, or should I say; we saw the Humpback Whales go by. This was the dream come true vacation for three sisters in our late fifties. Guess where we want to go for our next big adventure in 2007; Maui and the Kannapali Alii(once was not enough). Remember the saying: You get what you pay for. We think the Alii was worth every cent...or should I say dollar.

Read More

By Lou

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2002

Great room, beach, location

Stayed for a week in June 2002. We had a 2 BR ocean front unit, which was very large,nicely furnished, terrific views. Not cheap, but neither is anything else in the vicinity. Doesn't have the elaborate pool complex of its hotel neighbors, but certainly more than accepable. Has a beautiful, wide, uncrowded beach, much better than many of the surrounding hotels. Easy walk to Whalers Village. Service was great, including immediately mailing us some

stuff we left behind. Would highly recommend. We will definitely return.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2002

Good Value

Our unit was both dated and a little worn out (especially the appliances)so request a renovated unit. The staff were however helpful; the amenities were super; and the setting was stunning. A great place for families (our two year old loved the wading pool). We would go back.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement