Kauai Restaurants

Advertisement

Beach House

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Beach House Review

This restaurant partners a dreamy ocean view with impressive cuisine, and is one of the best places on the island for a romantic dinner, open-air lunch, or cocktail and appetizer. Few Kauai experiences are more delightful than sitting at one of the Beach House's outside tables and savoring a delectable meal while the sun sinks into the glassy blue Pacific and surfers slice the waves. Cobble up a meal from tasty sides like crab cakes, sweet-spicy braised pork, arugula–goat cheese salad, and an excellent ceviche. Or pick a wasabi-crusted fresh fish sauté or braised lamb shank with truffle-asparagus risotto. The fire-grilled filet mignon with blue cheese is remarkable. Our dessert favorites include the warm molten chocolate cake, the bananas Foster, and the carrot cake with pineapple, macadamia nuts, and cream cheese frosting. Gluten-free and vegan choices are also available.

    Restaurant Details

  • Reservations essential
  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 01-24-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Food  
    Value  
    Service  
    Décor  

    Beautiful spot for last sunset dinner on Kuaui

    This restaurant was highly recommended by several locals, so we figured, we should have our last dinner on this island here. We made reservations to ensure seeing sunset. The views are unbeatable. The food was good, not great. The service was just ok. We didn't regret having dinner there, but would not highly recommend it. It does have wonderful sunset views. You don't have to dine there to see them. You can walk out behind the restaurant and take in the sunset with or without dinner, which is what some folks did.

    by LoisL, 1/27/07
  • Food  
    Value  
    Service  
    Décor  

    If you can't get an outside table

    Don't go. We sat inside where the noise level is horrendous. Our red wine was served at ice water temperature, and the wait staff seemed focused on rushing you through as quickly as possible. The food was okay, but we had better elsewhere. Go here only if the view is your primary motivation.

    by BoulderDiner, 3/28/07
  • Food  
    Service  
    Value  
    Décor  

    Food is absolutely top-notch

    Four of us ordered four different entrees. Each agreed that it was extraordinary. View is terrific, but bring your shades if you're there at sundown. It's an experience with superb food; you need to do it while you're on Kauai. But make reservations BEFORE you leave for the island or you may be disappointed.

    by Denver54, 4/10/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Slow without help

    We made this our last night on island dinner. We waited over 30 minutes between apps and our salad. It was not until we asked the waiter, did our food finally arrive... . We emailed and called management the next day and have yet to here back. I spoke to a local who said management changes often and they don't seem to care. You will love the view, but don't expect the service to follow.

    by alaskatraveler, 11/26/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Such a disappoinment

    We have heard great things about the Beach House and boy were were disappointed. My fish was overcooked and the chocolate dessert tasted like malt o meal. Yuck!

    by yari2566, 1/27/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Excellent in all respects

    We ate twice here and had 2 excellent meals. Service also was excellent. We ate very late both nights so maybe that explains why our service was so good in contrast to the other comments. The wasabi encrusted snapper is outstanding as are the other fish dishes. No one in our party of 5 ordered meat so we can't speak about the carnivorous dishes. We stayed on Kauai and the Big Island and this was our favorite place.

    by MHG1, 3/14/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Beach House Review

    This restaurant gets crowded fast. The food is excellent but service is variable. If you can get a place next to the ocean, you can have a super romantic dinner.

    by pvalin, 11/19/09
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Beach House Review

    We went to the Beach House because it was rated Fodor's Choice...we were not disappointed. We made the trek from the north shore of Kauai, which took a little over an hour and gave ourselves plenty of time to get there in time for the sunset. We arrived early so we went to the bar for a drink. Bar area was extremely crowded and noisy. Its also very bright so be sure to bring sunglasses if you'll be visiting for the sunset. My drink, the mango mama, was delicious!!!! After our drinks we went outside to watch the fabulous sunset. The ocean and sunset view at the Beach House is magnificent! Its worth the trip there just for the view! Once seated we enjoyed the last view of the evening sky from our table and enjoyed a nicely paced meal. Our waiter was wonderful! The food was great! We had the fried calamari for appetizer which was delicious! My husband had the macadamia nut crusted mahi mahi and I had the lemongrass and kaffir crusted sea scallops. Both were delicious! Since we were there celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary our waiter surprised us and presented us with a card signed by the wait staff and Lappert's ice cream with a candle and flowers on it! It was a very sweet gesture and the perfect way to end our prefect dinner! Our experience at the Beach House was a wonderful one and I would definitely go back!

    by Raquel_Vazquez, 11/5/10

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Beach House

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums