Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Kauai Restaurants

Tidepools

Updated 01/24/2014

Fodor's Review

Of the Grand Hyatt's many notable restaurants, Tidepools is definitely the most tropical and campy, sure to appeal to folks seeking a bit of island-style romance and adventure. Private grass-thatch huts seem to float on a koi-filled pond beneath starry skies while torches flicker in the lushly landscaped grounds nearby. The equally distinctive food has an island flavor that comes from the chef's advocacy of Hawaii Regional Cuisine and extensive use of Kauai-grown products including fresh herbs from the resort's organic garden. You won't go wrong ordering the soy-ginger glazed catch of the day, macadamia-nut crusted mahimahi, or the wasabi-crusted beef fillet. Start with jumbo lump crab cakes or heirloom tomato salad to wake up your taste buds. The roasted peach tart with macadamia nut ice cream is a memorable dessert.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, 1571 Poipu Rd., Koloa, Hawaii, 96756, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-240–6456 Ext. 4260

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch

Updated 01/24/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Kauai

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2008

Great Romantic Spot

We enjoyed this quaint restaurant on the lagoon of the Grand Hyatt. The food was great, you must get the Kauai corn chowder soup...it was wonderful. Our fish dishes were tasty and cooked perfectly. Great choice for dinner.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 28, 2007

Excellent dining experience

Tidepools is one of best restaurants on Kauai. It is elegant but family friendly. The food is pricey but worth it. The service is polite, unhurried (they don't rush you, but they get food and drinks out in a timely manner) and knowledgable. The surroundings are gorgeous.

By LoisL

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 5, 2007

Wonderful Atmosphere with good food and service.

This restaurant was recommended by a daughter who went here on her honeymoon. I can see how it was so memorable, even after nine years. It was beautiful, winding around a koi pond, and very open and tropical. Our service was good, though not great, and our food was excellent.

By Jo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2006

What A Disappointment

My husband and I spent our 25th Anniversary at Tidepools. I called 2 months in advance for a romantic table, only to be seated in the middle of staff and customer traffic. The food was overcooked, the waiter aloof and the girls at the front desk unprofessional. This restaurant is overpriced and over-rated. We have been to Kauai many times and this was the worst meal yet.

By Laurie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2005

Great Last NIght in Kauai

We were looking for a relaxing evening and found it at Tidepools. We found the dining huts charming, and be sure to ask the hostess at the time of booking to seat you near the water. Service was great not to fast,not to slow,and the food was terrific. I had the mac nut crusted mahi mahi, my husband had the seared ahi and both were great. Later we had drinks on the terrace overlooking the waterfall, a perfect way to end our trip. Would highly

recommend Tidepools, not even in the same league as some of the other Kauai restaurants such as Keoki's.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 2, 2003

Graze on the appetizers!

We ate here three times while we stayed at the hotel and enjoyed it. Better than expected. We especially liked their appetizer selection. The atmosphere is okay, but I did not find it as romantic or special as some of the other posters did. A bit too phony-tropical. they should have given the place an ocean view when they built it. We would eat there again.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2003

Not that Great

I find it hard to believe that Tidepools has a higher rating than Roy's. My husband ordered the Lamb and didn't feel good after dinner. I have been to Kauai many times over the past 10 years and would rather eat at Roy's than Tidepools.

By Brad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2003

Romantics Retreat

Great food, friendly staff, and romantic atmosphere make for a special way to spend an evening on Kauai.

By Melissa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2003

A perfect meal

This was our favorite meal of the trip. Romantic, relaxed and exccellent food. We enjoyed watching the koi (there are thousands it seemed). Excellent mashed potatoes. The waiter was very helpful and went to great lengths to accomodate my husband's odd food allergies- they even ended up calling the head chef to make sure he wouldn't get ill (and he didn't!). If you can't afford to stay at the Hyatt you can at least eat there!

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2003

A Very Enchanted Evening

Eating in Kauai can be pretty hit or miss. This is definitely a hit. The setting is so romantic even without an ocean view. The food was excellent - I liked the ahi. The service was very friendly and relaxed. One of the highlights of our vacation in Hawaii.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 6, 2003

Very Nice Restaurant Setting

An excellant restaurant nornally. We went on a night they were having the outdoor Luau and couldn't hear ourselves accross the table. For a nice evening don't go on a Luau Night.

By HR

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 11, 2002

wonderful

This is the most romantic setting I have ever seen. We were seated by the water and next to the waterfalls. The food was as delicious as the atmosphere and the service was excellent. This is a very special place.

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2001

Great Atmosphere!

We ate there the night of 10/03/01. Tidepools is very romantic, especially if you are lucky enough get a table right next to the meandering pools filled with Koi or better yet the waterfall. This is a great outdoor Hawaiiana dining experience without feeling exposed to the elements. The only disappointment I experienced was that the waiter recommended their house specialty 'Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi.' This dish is OK for someone's palate that

does not require a BAM in it's flavor. I prefer something of a spicier flavored dish. Wish I had stuck with my first choice Ahi. Food is much more flavorful at the ‘Beach House.' After dinner I suggest a walk through the beautiful grounds of this magnificent hotel.

Read More

By Suzie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 4, 2001

Romantic Setting

Tidepools is very romantic, especiallly so if you can wrangle a table right next to the water. We were close. Waiter tried to be cold and rude but I looked him right in the eye and flashed him a big smile and he kind of flinched and then changed his tune after that. Brought us Tai Chis (stronger than Mai Tais) and let us ponder the menu. We had a long discussion over the merits of ahi versus the macadamia nut mahimahi finally settled on the mahimahi.

Everything is a la carte so we also ordered the salad. Food was good, wish I had ordered the ahi. If it weren't for the lovely setting I don't know if I'd recommend this . Also guy at the next table was sooo loud. I know it's not the restaurant's fault. Boring choices for dessert and just so so pineapple coconut creme brulee. Prices are pretty steep. Rather back to The Beach House or to Roys.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2001

Island Atmosphere

Shared spring-rolls, macadamia nut-crusted mahimahi, wonderful tropical drinks served in a grass-thatched hut next to a koi-filled pond - it doesn't get much better than this.

By Kathi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 9, 2000

WONDERFUL!!!

We ate at Tidepools in the middle of our one week stay in Kauai. After having some bad dining experiences in Hawaii, we were thrilled to find Tidepools. The service was friendly and efficient, our waiter Les was knowledgeable about the menu and made helpful suggestions. The food was glorious (we love great food) and the atmosphere was beautiful and romantic. We loved it so much that we went there for the final night of our honeymoon and it was

absolutely perfect.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement