Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Kauai Hotels

Poipu Plantation Resort

Pros

  • Attractively furnished
  • Full breakfast at B&
  • B

Cons

  • Three-night minimum

Updated 01/24/2014

Fodor's Review

Plumeria, ti, and other tropical foliage create a lush landscape for this resort, which rents four rooms in a bed-and-breakfast–style plantation home and seven one- and two-bedroom cottage apartments. All cottage units have wood floors and full kitchens and are decorated in light, airy shades. The 1930's plantation home has two rooms with private baths and two suites, and it has recently undergone a major renovation. A full complimentary breakfast is served daily for those staying in the main house. A minimum three-night stay is required, but rates decrease with the length of stay.

Hotel Information

Address:

1792 Pee Rd., Poipu, Hawaii, 96756, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-742–6757; 800-634–0263

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 4 rooms, 7 cottages
  • Breakfast

Updated 01/24/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Kauai

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2007

Excellent Kauai Vacation

Poipu Plantation is an excellent place to stay on Kauai. We vacationed here for our 15th wedding anniversary and can't wait to go back. The staff was very friendly and Javed was so helpful with recommendations on places to go, how to get there, and he even got us some discounts. Plus, you can't beat a home-cooked breakfast each morning. This isn't a fancy hotel, but is quite charming, and we found it to be a tremendous value in a place where expensive

is the norm. We can't say enough great things about Javed and his bed and breakfast in paradise.

Read More

By Dylan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 2, 2004

Great Place for our family...5stars for them!!

We rented a 2 bedroom that had a full size kitchen and ocean views. The great price made it possible for us to stay in Poipu Beach where everything was the best for the island. We especially appreciated the air conditioning and other comforts they provided. This is a very clean nice place to stay with great service that made us feel right at home. High recommendation.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2004

RIGHT UP THERE WITH THE FOUR SEASONS

Stayed here for our honeymoon...great breakfasts and very helpful hosts.close to all of the local restaurants and beach..will be back..ali suite was terrific..

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 15, 2003

Good Value for Your $$

These units are pleasant, clean and comfortable, and the whole place has a quiet, relaxing, anti-resort atmosphere. There are no grounds to speak of, although what there are are cute. No pool, coin laundry. 10 minute walk/3 minute drive to Poipu Beach. The front desk manager was about the most pleasant and helpful person that I have encountered ANYwhere! If you want quiet, clean and friendly, you won't be disappointed.

By Katie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2002

Best Honeymoon Suite Ever

We spent 8 nights in the Ali'i Suite and found the accommodations and service excellent. The suite is beautiful with lots of attention to details! The staff was very friendly and generous with information (ie. hidden local beaches, etc...). We look forward to returning again someday. The breakfasts were fantastic. We have absolutely no reservations in recommending Poipu Plantation!

By Ben

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2002

Ali'i Suite is Wonderful

My wife and I spent 3 nights/4 days of our honeymoon at Poipu Plantation just two weeks ago. I feel compelled to stress just how pleased we were with the room and staff, especially since the Ultimate Kauai Book does not give this place a favorable review. Nonsense, they didn't stay at the B&B. We arrived and found two beautiful leis on our bed, there was a very colorful flower arrangement accross from our bed, and they placed small flowers throughout

the room. This was the nicest room we stayed in on Kauai, and really broke up the monotony of a hotel room (we stayed at the Marriott before & the Princeville after). It was very clean, and the attention to detail in decorating the room was evident. The bathroom is particularly nice, with a very large whirlpool - essential after our long Waimea Canyon hike. Our first morning, they served us papaya & guava french toast and fresh fruit. The staff members were personable, the room large and elegantly furnished, and this was the least expensive place we stayed at on the island. I didn't see the other rooms, but if you're considering staying here for a romantic reason (honeymoon or anniversary) get the Ali'i suite!

Read More

By Shannon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2002

A Great Value!!!

My husband and I celebrated our honeymoon here and we really loved it. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the Mango room and it was very nice. The room has nice hardwood floors and it's very clean and very stylish! My only complaint was that the bathroom had a shower, no tub, and was very stark. It was also clean, so I can't complain too much. Also, there were a few ants in the bathroom and the kitchen. We alerted the

staff about it and they took care of it somehow. The ants didn't completely go away, but there were fewer of them. The grounds are nice and the plantation is very quiet. My husband and I really felt at peace here. We can't wait to go back. We'll definitely stay in the Alii room next time. If want to stay at a wonderful place but not break the bank, then stay here. Aloha!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement