Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Kauai Hotels

Hanalei Bay Resort

  • 5380 Honoiki Rd. Map It
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Beautiful views
  • Tennis courts on property
  • Children's tennis program
  • Tropical pool

Cons

  • Steep walkways
  • Long walk to beach

Updated 01/24/2014

Fodor's Review

This lovely condominium resort overlooks Hanalei Bay and Napali Coast. The resort's upper-level pool is a nice feature, with authentic lava-rock waterfalls, an open-air hot tub, and a kid-friendly sand "beach." Three-story buildings angle down the cliffs, making for some steep walking paths. Units are extremely spacious, with high, sloping ceilings and large private lanai. Rattan furniture and island art add a casual feeling to rooms. Some units are managed by the resort,

and others by private owners. All units have kitchens, including the smaller studios. As of this writing, the restaurant and lounge, destroyed by fire in 2011, are due to re-open in 2014.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

5380 Honoiki Rd., Princeville, Hawaii, 96722, United States

Map It

Phone:

808-826–6522; 877-507–1428

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 134 units
  • No meals

Updated 01/24/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Kauai

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 4, 2013

Hanalei Bay Resort Units 9201, 9202 & 9203

We've been vacationing at HBR for over 20 years,but nothing compared with our last visit. We stayed in unit 9201-9203 and it was by far the most beautiful condo we've stayed in. The unit is perfectly located on the 2nd floor with idyllic ocean views and lots of privacy. The interior is beautifully appointed with hardwood floors and lovely new furnishings throughout. Every possible amenity was thought of including beach chairs, boogie boards, etc.

There's a generous lanai with stunning views of the ocean and Bali Hai. The resort was fantastic and the staff was very helpful. There's a huge pool with waterfalls and a sandy beach and tennis courts. We like to pick up some fresh fish at Hanalei Fish Market and grill it at the BBQ' s located on the resort property. Next time we return to Hawaii we will definitely be staying at this condo.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2010

Hanalei Bay Resort Review

We have been coming here from Wrightsville Beach NC for 8 years and love it! Yes it is paradise and the staff makes you feel the aloha spirit from the moment you first arrive. The island farmers markets offer wonderful selections and the resorts grills allow you to cook your own dinners. Nearby Ainini Beach is a gem. Like Tahiti. The staff is so knowledgeable and experienced. They are what make Hanalei Bay Resort the nicest place we have stayed

in all of the Hawaiian Islands over the past 30 years. Mahalo to them!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2010

Hanalei Bay Resort Review

I first visited Hanalei Bay in 2002 and fell in love with the resort. Every time I have been there, the people working are kind, helpful and attentive. Like any resort, it has been working on updating but ALWAYS clean and comfortable. The beach is fantastic, are you kidding me? That walk is part of the beauty. Large trees and plenty of privacy. The property next door has a nice bar & grill that is open to HBR guests (they like your money too!) although

I was told the pool was off limits, but OUR pool is BETTER! Go into Hanalei and feel like you have gone back in time. Just absolutely wonderful people, shops, restaurants...but don't be in a hurry, the pace here is slow. Besides, isn't that why you are on vacation?

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2010

Hanalei Bay Resort Review

I am staying at HBR right now and can attest that the pool is beautiful. It is a shallow, unheated pool, surrounded by waterfalls. The hot tub is wonderful and peaceful and again surrounded by boulders and waterfalls. They have a guy grilling burgers and hot dogs in the afternoons. Unfortunately the restaurant is closed and for sale but there are so many places to go around Princeville and Hanalei. I like The St Regis right next door. Tonight I will

go to Mediterranean Gourmet. There is a beach and you get to it down a path or they have golf cart attendants who will drive you down. If you have a lot of beach equipment I suggest calling ahead for the attendants. I watched the fireworks from there last night. If you are looking for a wild crazy place to have your vacation, this is not the place. If you are looking for quiet and beautiful views then this IS the place.

Read More

By EricaC

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2008

Beautiful Setting

My husband and I stayed at the Hanelei Bay Resort for 5 nights during our honeymoon and thought it was the perfect place to stay on the North Shore. The view from our room looked out onto misty mountains and a gorgeous bay (room 4101). The room itself was very standard, but clean and had a cute lanai. The restaurants at the resort are nothing to speak of, but there are so many great restaurants in the town of Hanelei that you wouldn't want to waste

a night at the resort anyway. The resort has access to a beach on Hanalei Bay, and from there you can hike along the shore all along the bay, discovering "private" beaches along the way. Would definitely recommend this resort for all occasions.

Read More

By Rosa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 4, 2006

Hanalei Bay Resort was paradise

I had a wonderful experience at Hanalei Bay Resort and I believe it was because I rented a privately owned unit. After hearing bad remarks about reserving through the resort I rented a 2 bedroom with Bali Hai views and lovely furnishings through a web site. The pool is not dirty like some poster added, it just has a dark natural looking bottom. The walk to the beach is down a long path but we mostly went to other beaches like Tunnels to swim and snorkel.

We enjoyed breakfast on our lanai and dinners out. The chickens were not as bad as the last time we were at the resort. The cats must be doing their thing. The bar was very crowded and we had to be patient with service. A few reminders to the waitress and we got our second drink while listening to music. I had no issues with the front desk and I thought everyone was very nice. The concierge service was great and no one pitched me a timeshare. I think since I was in a privately owned unit they didn't feel the need. Overall I had a great experience. The hotel could use some sprucing up but I walked over to the Princeville Hotel for cocktails and thought the same thing. I think the island is just growing and it's hard to keep up with the demand. Our kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub and we used the tennis rackets supplied by the condo owner. We will go back here again.

Read More

By Jennie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 17, 2006

Heaven on Earth at Hanalei Bay

I've never been to a more beautiful place. The food at the restaurant is delicious, and soft Hawaiian breezes blow as you eat in the outdoor facility. Easy beach access to semi-private beach. Rooms are top notch!

By Marie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2006

Paradise Found

Breathtaking and Peaceful - the Hawaii you dream of!!!!

By Melissa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 7, 2005

Great location, terrible accommodations

My husband and I stayed here last summer for our honeymoon and it was a disaster. Dirty bedding and room (we actually asked to be switched to a new room, and the second one was even worse), MANY bugs in the room, able to hear other guests through the walls at all hours, and rude customer service. We checked out a night early to go to the Sheraton in Poipu. Fortunately our money was refunded to us by our travel agency when we returned.

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2004

Spectacular view with disappointing service

some of the front desk staff are rude, unfriendly and unprofessional (Nalani). Room has ants. However, the ground and view are spectacular! Not worth the money to stay there. Richard

By Jeremy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2004

What a waste of a beautiful place

Just got back from honeymoon here and it was the most discouraging part of the trip. "Majestic Mountain View Room," hardly. Standing on our lani you could view a forest on a hillside 10 feet away. Our room was on the very bottom floor. When questioned about the room the front desk said it is actually a "standard unit." The toilet didn't work, and the sheets were a bit dingy. The atmosphere is nice. But it is located in one of the most beautiful

settings on Earth, making it difficult to mess that up. The service was the most discouraging. We were promised a room upgrade, and got nothing. No help and no apology when we asked to be relocated out of the batcave. Asked at least for them to fix the toilet but instead I got to work on it every time we flushed it. They care way more about selling time shares than they do providing any service. Bottom line: the resort is beautiful, the restaurant is beautiful, make sure you know what you are getting in a room, and expect little in the lines of service if you dont have a time share.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 19, 2002

I've stayed at nicer Days Inns

Hanalei Bay Resort has a lot of potential, BUT the rooms need a major overhaul- they are circa 1970 and musty. The hotel does not have chairs on the beach- you have to pretend you're staying at The Princeville. AND, they make you sign out everything from hair driers to beach towels to umbrellas. If renovated and under new ownership it could be very nice.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 27, 2002

Four Star Hotel? HA!

The nicest people at this hotel were the people who drove you around and helped you with your bags. There was also a nice concierge that was helpful on our first day. Everything else was downhill from there. Our room looked like somehing out of a bad 70's movie. The staff at the restaurant couldn't be bothered, but the crowning glory was when a concierge looked at us distainfully and said, "You DID look at a map before you got here, didn't you?"

We just asked her where a nice swimming beach was and how to get there. Bottom line - we were supposed to stay there for 7 nights. We checked out the morning after our 2nd night. I expect a certain level of professionalism from a hotel like this and I have to say I've been treated better at Motel 6.

Read More

By Loren

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 18, 2002

It Must Have Gotten a Lot Better

Cordial front desk staff, zero sales pressure, and we were promptly taken to our unit with a drop dead view out over Hanalei Bay with the green mountains and waterfalls behind. The rooms were enormous, and perfect for Hawaii, not city fancy, with no fuss. The grounds, pool, tennis courts are one huge garden. Yes there is no room service or poolside waiter, but the place is so astonishingly beatiful that who cares?

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 16, 2002

Can I live there?

My husband and I went to Kauai in November and stayed at Hanalei Bay. Oh my goodness! This place is exactly what you think of when you think of a tropical paradise. I was sick when we arrived and although check-in wasn't until 3, the front desk upon hearing that I was sick hurried up our room and allowed us to check in several hours earlier. Our suite was incredible! Quintus has recently taken over the property and from what I understand has

made lots of improvements to the property. It was wonderful to have a small apartment after having been in hotel rooms for two weeks. Everything we asked for was brought to us promptly and graciously. Breakfast was included in our deal, and it was wonderful not to have to search for food in the mornings. The blueberry muffins were the best I've ever had! We were at the beach one night when it began to rain, and all we had to do was pick up the complementary phone and soon a hotel van arrived to take us back to our room. The views were unbelievable. Eating breakfast overlooking the Na Pali Coast while Red Crested Cardinals ate out of our hands was an unearthly experience. The only complaint we had about the hotel was the service at the restaurant. I have definitely had better service. However, the food was really good. There was no pressure to go on the timeshare pitch, and we chose not to. Although I almost wish we had. The thought of a week a year there is marvelous. In fact, I think I'd live there if they would let me.

Read More

By Marilyn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 19, 2001

Puff the Magic Dragon

This place is pure magic. I was spellbound by the plumeria which was blooming everywhere and making the grounds smell fabulous. The fantasy pool had waterfalls and a sand bottom jacuzzi that was never too crowded. The views of Hanalei bay (inspired the inception of "Puff") are the most beautiful I have ever seen--see it from the Bali Hai restaurant at sunset!!! The rooms are average hotel rooms. Ours was not shabby, but nothing fancy. The view

from our lanai was picturesque and endless: blooming violet flowers, deep green mountains and the ocean. I loved the Princeville beach; went snorkeling and enjoyed the walk from the resort to the beach through the canopy-like rain forest foliage around the path. I felt Princeville next door was way too ostentatious. Why pay twice the money next door for the same setting just to be in a gold toned room? The service was fine and not wonderful but nothing to complain about. We had no bad experiences...only the most incredible vacation of my life. I'm seeing Maui next, but sure I will have to come back to HBR to experience the magic again.

Read More

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 16, 2001

Kaua'i you should stay here

After reading many of the comments on this hotel, I was second guessing our decision to stay here. I'm glad we didn't change our minds. The hotel was in a beautiful location on a bluff overlooking Hanalei Bay. It is not oceanfront (that's the only negative - it's quite a trek to the beach if you don't take the complimentary golf cart shuttle). It has a fantastic view of the water, the surrounding knife-edged mountains (the waterfalls are especially

vivid after it rains), and the majestic peak of Bali Hai. The room, while not to be considered luxury by most standards, was more than adequate, very spacious, and had a small kitchenette that came in very handy. The grounds are extraordinary - meticulously kept and the pool/sand-lined hot tub is one of the best I've ever been to. Service was most friendly - contrary to what I heard beforehand, we were not badgered by timeshare salesmen. The Happy Talk Lounge is a great place to grab a drink and the food is surprisingly good too. The value is terrific for what you get, given it's on Kauai. One thing to keep in mind is that the North Shore of Kauai gets more rain than the other parts of the island - still plenty of sun though. Fantastic location - very close to the best beaches on the North Shore ... and the world!

Read More

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2001

Princeville's Best Kept Secret

I read the reviews by some people before I went to Kauai, and having locked in my reservations, I was scared that my time in this resort would be dreadful. To my total surprise the resort was absolutely spectacular. When we checked in with 10 bags, the front desk called and a van picked us up, took us down the hill, and carried every bag up to our rooms. The driver also made sure that we knew that we could call for a ride ANY time we wanted, whether

it was to the beach, to the pool or the parking lot, they were available 24 hours per day. We weren't tormented with the timeshare speech. In fact, when we said we didn't want to do it, they were very graceful and gave us a 2 for 1 coupon for lunch at the Bali Hai Restaurant. The Bali Hai was excellent. The view of Hanalei Bay and the meal was well worth it. Yes, the resort is going time share. After my wonderful stay, I will definitely go back again. The only thing I will do differently is I'll stay in a condo instead of a regular hotel room and stay for a much longer time. Hanalei Bay is definitely Heaven on Earth.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2001

Take notice: This place is Spectacular

Based on comments posted by other travelers, we were afraid what to expect here. BUT, it turned out to be spectacular in every way. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The views, of course, of Bali Hai and Hanelei Bay were heavenly. The service was top notch. Requests for extra pillows and wash cloths were delivered promptly. The resort shares the beach and view with the Princeville Resort and the FREE shuttle service up down and around

was something we didn't expect. I have no idea why so many other people had complaints about this gorgeous resort, but we thought for five days at least, we were in heaven. We can't wait to go back.

Read More

By lisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 26, 2000

Gorgeous views, but disappointing room and service

Our mountain-view standard room was very run down. The walls were marked and dirty and the carpeting was stained. One of the doors was falling off the entertainment cabinet. In addition, one day housekeeping failed to make up our room until we called them around 4pm. The concierge tried to get us to attend a timeshare presentation. Service at the front desk and in the restaurant was very slow. Fortunately we had gotten a cheap rate of $85 per

night using the entertainment card discount, or we would have been very disappointed. I will say, however, that the resort's pool is beautiful, the beach is lovely, and the restaurant and bar have stupendous views.

Read More

By Anthony

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2000

Don't Understand What All The Fuss About This Place

Having just completed a 2 nt stay here (Bougainvillea Section, 2nd Flr)I can't for the life of me understand what all the fuss about this place is. My hotel room resembled a Days Inn motel standard(everything was old, the shower curtain wasn't long enough, the mirror all scratched and chipped, no soapdish, time share literature ALL over the rm.) Check-in was unprofesssional - I was asked to sign 2 separate photocopied slips of paper: one stating

that I understand that a replacement rm key is $15, and that I turned down using the rm safe for a daily fee. As for The Bali Hai Restaurant, although the view is beautiful, the restaurant itself resembles a cafeteria or camp lodge; nothing except the view was inviting about it. The property is dead by 10pm; even the loudge was closed. Although the pool is very nice, no poolside service is available. There are plenty of tennis courts for players. To sum it up, this 'Resort' is more like your VERY average time share property; except that it happens to be in one of the most incredible spots on earth.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement