Kauai Hotels

Advertisement

Hideaway Cove

Palm trees at the beach out your window

At a Glance

    Pros

  • high-quality furnishings
  • private lanai
  • hot tub or Jacuzzi in each unit

    Cons

  • not on the ocean
  • cleaning fee

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Hideaway Cove Review

Hideaway Cove is in a very quiet location, even though it's one block from the ocean's edge in the heart of Poipu. What were once two homes have been converted to seven complete vacation homes, ranging from studios to three-bedroom units. Each unit is appointed with resort-quality furniture and furnishings—even original artwork. The two-bedroom Seabreeze villa comes with a hot tub on the lanai. The three-bedroom Oceanview villa connects via an internal staircase with the two-bedroom Aloha villa to provide a large five-bedroom home with two complete living areas—perfect for two families traveling together. Rates drop with a seven-night stay, effectively making the seventh night free.

    Hotel Details

  • 7 units
  • Rate includes no meals.
  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 01-24-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Pricey for what you get

    Very pricey for what you get. If you get beyond the faux trappings of luxury, you get very little value. You get charged $130 for a cleaning fee although you get no maid service during your stay. Towels are NOT exchanged at the office although the individual units do not have washers and dryers. You compete with the other guests for the communal laundry facilities so you may not have clean and dry beach towels every day. Although the check in is at 4pm, the office closes at 3:30pm. You can get better value for your money on Kauai. Look for it. You are more than one block from the ocean and you have little, if any, view of it depending on your unit.

    by MHG1, 3/14/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Good Value for a Relaxing Stay in Kauai

    Hideaway Cove is located two blocks from the ocean and about 1/4 mile from Brenneke Beach in Poipu. The facilities are very well maintained and clean; and the staffs are courteous. Hideaway Cove is properly named as it is very quiet (free of chickens during our stay!) and out of the way thus while it lacks "atmosphere" it's perfect for relaxing after a hard day around the island; and the bed was very comfortable. I spent seven nights in the Dolphin Villa with my wife during July 2008. The Dolphin Villa contains a king-sized bed, three-quarter bathroom, a small but very functional kitchen, a small lounging area, and a nice little lanai with a gas grill. The overall value as very good and better than our previous stay in a hotel in Kauai. The room was very good. The site is out of the way and very quiet not making for much an atmosphere but certainly an excellent place to relax. Other than the handy computer in the office to print airline boarding passes, we didn't interact often with the staff so service rated as good for lack of data. If you want to stay in a nice relaxing place at Poipu Beach and save money cooking some of your own meals, I highly recommend the Hideaway Cove.

    by jcorpion, 7/27/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Perfect for the family!!

    If I had to do it all over again I wouldn't change a thing! If you have 4+ people then the value can't be beat. We stayed upstairs and the views were great. We entertained friends while we BBQ'd, watched the sunset, and had a few Mai Tai's. The electronic amenities were nice too: internet, Ipod hookups, DVD/CD player, stereos etc. Even our friends who were staying at the Hyatt were impressed with Hideaway cove and agreed if they came back to Poipu, that's the route they would take. The concierge service (Diane) took care of us nicely. We had snorkel gear on our doorstep upon arrival and she booked a heli tour. Don't listen to MHG1!!! I don't think this person gave a fair review. If you want to be pampered with fresh towels everyday then stay at a 5 star hotel---which you will pay $$$. If you want a slower relaxing pace while avoiding the expensive hotels, then the Hideaway Cove is where it's at.

    by skinnyj, 11/12/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Home Away From Home

    My husband and I honeymooned in Hawaii and spent our second week at the Royal Palm two bedroom suite at the Hideaway Cove - and loved it. Before we arrived, the staff was in touch to make sure we had everything we needed in terms of directions and details and offering to help us book things in advance. We were welcomed by a cold bottle of champagne and passion fruit juice. The apartment was extremely clean and it was evident that the owners had put a lot of (tactful!) thought into the decor - without overdoing it. They also seem to think about everything vacationers might need - beach towels, chairs, a cooler, soaps and lotions in the bathroom, free on site laundry facilities, flashlights in case you went walking at night, a variety of DVDs and board games, all the right appliances in the kitchen, a great outdoor grill on the deck, wireless internet so we could upload our pics and send to family and check our email for wedding pics, hot tub (awesome after hiking the Na'pali Coast!) and snorkeling gear for the week (which was an additional but reasonable fee). The surrounding pathways and gardens were beautiful and well-maintained. One afternoon we had a problem with our toilet (although we had two baths so it was not a big deal) and the staff addressed it promptly and had a plumber on site to fix it ASAP. We also loved the guest book in our suite which included suggestions and commentary from past visitors which was helpful to get to know the island. We walked to the beach (Poipu Beach Park two blocks away) almost every day and had some of the best snorkling, waves and sunsets we've ever seen. We shopped at local markets and cooked dinner every night and packed lunches every day. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway in a great location that's reasonably priced, Hideaway Cove is it.

    by TSMac, 11/18/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Loved it so much our first trip that we stayed there again!

    I love Hideaway Cove! If you are thinking about going to Kauai (which is soooo beautiful and laid back!) then Hideaway cove is the place for you! My husband and I, along with our 8 month old daughter, went in February 2007 for 10 days. We had so much fun! We just got back from our second trip there, this time with our daughter, who is now 2 1/2, our son, 5 months, and my mom. I think each of us loved it in our own way. My husband loved the 5 minute walk to the best boogie boarding on all of Kauai. He was out there every morning for hours! Its great for beginers and children, as well as adults. I loved the 5 minute walk to Poipu beach which has an area closed off for little kids. My 2 year old had so much fun floating on the boogie board, building sand castles, and be able to play in the water without worrying about waves. Right next to this little cove is some of the best snorkeling on all of Kauai! The fish swim right up to you! They are all so beautiful! My mother loved everything Poipu had to offer! She loved having her own room at our villa. She loved sitting in the hot tub after boogie boarding (thats right, grandma boogie boarded!), she loved all the sight seeing, the beautiful Waimea Canyon (as beautiful as the grand canyon!) And what made all of this extra enjoyable was knowing we had a 'home' to go back to. Our Sea Breeze Villa has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen equipped with all the neccesities (coffee maker, coffee bean grinder, blender, dishwasher, microwave, stove, fridge...etc...). We cooked many nights at our villa, and BBQ'd on the huge Lanai. There was also air conditioning which so nice since the weather in Poipu is always sunny! Our villa came with beach towels, a cooler, umbrellas, and a personal concierge, which was incredibly helpful! The bed there is more comfortable then my bed at home! And the sheets were very high quality..Much nicer then any hotel! We also rented boogie boards and snorkel gear from the office, a 10 second walk from our villa. I could go on and on about how beautiful this place was. The landscaping was amazing ! And you can see the beach and sunset from the hot tub...how perfect! We will never stay anywhere else! The Hideaway Cove is your home away from home! Thank you so much Gale and Herb. You have an amazing place for visitors to call home!

    by BozzoFamily, 11/19/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Tranquil Tropical Retreat

    Our family stayed in the Royal Palm villa in late November. We loved the open space, large dining area, huge jacuzzi tub, and the tropical setting right outside the kitchen window. The grounds are beautiful! We had a party of four including our five year old daughter and a grandmother. Very easy access to our villa, with snorkeling gear, beach towels, unbrella, and coolers waiting for us upon arrival. Diane was great in her suggestions of places to visit as well as booking activities such as our kayak trip down the Hulaeia River. The location was great for early morning walks down to the tidepools for viewing sea turtles and to Poipu Beach where we saw a monk seal swim right thru the shallows of the kiddie lagoon and beach itself. Hideaway Cove comes highly recommended! Kaliterna family Laguna Niguel, California

    by benkal71, 11/27/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Wonderful!

    My husband and I spent a week in the Aloha Villa and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The place is secluded yet quite close to Poipu Beach and its amenities. The villa is equipped with everything you could think of from nice toiletries to a more well-stocked kitchen than most homes! The owners have definitely done their homework to make it as pleasant and comfortable as possible. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it without reservation! Enjoy!

    by wilson56, 11/27/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    quiet enough but close to everything

    We chose Hideaway Cove and felt totally pampered there, after spending only a little bit less a few years prior, for a place that was a total dump! The Dolphin Studio was spacious and although it's part of a larger complex, the flora surrounding the property and the smart sectioning off of the front patio make it feel very private. Our stay was very short before we had to go off to Oahu, but the tranquility of the studio and the neighborhood were just what we needed to begin relaxing after arriving from hectic New York City. If you've never been to Poipu, you must come enjoy one of the best beaches in the world. Loved the welcome fruit juice, nice touches of toiletries in the bathroom, comfortable bed, very tasteful decor, and just that everything is so beautifully maintained--that's the spirit of aloha that you see when the owners give loving care to their properties. Mahalo Herb and family! See you again soon.

    by kookatakoo, 3/19/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Relax and Unwind in a Great Place to Stay

    If you would like to relax and unwind in a great place to stay,then the Hideaway Cove Villas in Poipu is the place for you. No expense was spared in making sure their guests have a first class tropical getaway. The lush grounds are well groomed and beautifully landscaped. I loved listening to the doves cooing in the backyard while enjoying the rain shower in the luxurious bathroom. The setting for the villas is ideal as they are located in a lovely, quiet, peaceful neighborhood with only a short walk to the white sands of Poipu Beach and great restaurants. The air conditioned villas are modern and immaculate with great attention to every beautiful detail. The amenities are top of the line, and the feeling is extremely welcoming and homey. As a guest you feel your every comfort was given great consideration and care. Having beach chairs,towels, a cooler, and juice in the refrigerator waiting for your arrival are just a few of the nice personal touches. Gale and Herb are as kind,friendly, helpful and accomodating as can be. What adds to the ultimate in personal service is their office on site, where Gale, who has 20 years in the activity business on Kauai, is available to assist you with your activity planning. Hideaway Cove Villas is a perfect spot in paradise, and we are really looking forward to our second visit there soon.

    by gogonzaga, 8/4/09

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Hideaway Cove

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums