Kauai Hotels

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Aloha Cottages

At a Glance

    Pros

  • comfortable, homelike ambience
  • good for large groups
  • safe children's beach

    Cons

  • can be windy at times
  • not great for swimming

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Aloha Cottages Review

Owners Charlie and Susan Hoerner restored a three-bedroom plantation home on Kapaa's Baby Beach to reflect the charm of yesteryear with the conveniences of today. Think plank flooring, gingerbread, and stained glass alongside a Wolf stove, Bosch dishwasher, and granite countertops. The orientation is due east; you won't have to leave your bed—or living room or lanai—to watch the sunrise, the whales breach, or the full moon rise. In addition to the main Sunrise Collage, there's a cozy and more affordable bungalow called Moonrise Cottage in back that's perfect for honeymooners. Rent both (weekly rentals only) to sleep a total of eight. Credit cards are accepted via PayPal only.

    Hotel Details

  • 2 cottages.
  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 01-24-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Moonrise Cottage

    We spent a wonderful week at Aloha Cottages' Moonrise Cottage. As it was our first visit to Kauai, we weren't sure what the location would be like - however, it turned out to be perfect! The cottage is conveniently located on a pedestrian/bike path along the sea and in walking distance to the town of Kapaa where you will find loads of restaurants, shops, etc. The cottage itself is lovely - very inviting and nicely decorated, so you feel at home immediately. It also has a small kitchen and there is a seating area in the garden. Although it is located behind / to the side of the larger Sunrise Cottage, you can still see the ocean from your bed. Great sunrise views!

    by LuPie, 4/8/14
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Sunrise Cottage, Kauai

    We loved our 10 day stay at Sunrise Cottage Jan 2014! Owner Susan Hoerner was a delight, and was very helpful with information about the island. We met both Susan and her husband in person while we were there. Very nice people! I have been to Oahu and Maui, but if you want quiet, slower pace, and beautiful landscape, stay on Kauai. Sunrise Cottage was awesome! It sleeps 6, and is decorated with relaxing colors. The beds were very comfortable and the updated kitchen is supplied with any need to make a meal or snack. We chose not to cook, but did enjoy coffee each morning from the front porch as we watched the sunrise and the whales. After a day of exploring we ended the day as it began, relaxing on the front porch...such beautiful sunsets! The location is perfect in relevance to the places to see on Kauai. It is in the middle – you can travel north or south, spend the day, and still get back before sunset. It is near a wonderful town of Kapaa, easy walking distance along a beautiful ocean view. As for what to see and where to eat, I highly suggest you buy the Fodor’s book on Hawaii. Be sure to eat a Puka Dog when you visit Poipu shopping village and see Waimea Canyon State Park when traveling south. Awesome views! I could go on and on, but the book helped us tremendously. If you have a golfer in your group, there is the reasonably priced 18 hole Wailua course near the cottage. Further south is the Kukuiolono, a 9 hole super inexpensive public golf course my husband was pleased to find. Whatever you do, you will love the Island and the peacefulness of Sunrise Cottage. It was perfect! Thank you Susan! The Vogel's

    by Caleen, 2/18/14
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Delightful Hawaiian Cottage

    My wife and I enjoyed a two week stay in Moonrise Cottage in January 2013. First I must say that Susan was extremely accommodating in the booking process with great communication and willingness to work with us as our flights were finalized.
    Moonrise is a small cottage tucked in behind Sunset Cottage. Sunset was occupied the first week by tenants, and the second week we had the pleasure of meeting Susan and Charlie, the owners. Although in close proximity of each other, we had no issues whatsoever with privacy in Moonrise. The Ocean View from the front of the cottages is wonderful, and the whales can be spotted in January. We enjoyed the back yard when the breeze was brisk, as the tall hedges and foliage provide a relaxing private setting. The cottage was clean, well prepared and had everything we looked for. There is a barbecue for cooking, beach accessories, coolers, and more. Nice electronics present. Best internet service I have ever experienced in any vacation property!
    We have done 2 week vacations on the Coconut Coast in Kauai for many years, and have stayed at many of the local resorts. We like the resorts, however looking for a unique experience with a local ALOHA feel, Moonrise fit the bill well! Compact in size, the cottage is suitable for no more than a couple people, however if more room is needed, Sunset Cottage is also right there and will house multiple couples. We wholeheartedly can give a true “thumbs up” on Moonrise Cottage!

  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Aloha Cottages Review

    Sunrise Cottage is a delightful experience! The cottage is beautifully decorated, well stocked and within meters of a quiet section of the Baby Beach. With unobstructed views of the ocean and close to the “hubbub” of Kapa’a, the cottage still felt quite remote and provided a restful retreat with quick access to shopping and restaurants. Susan, Charlie and Dawn were welcoming and informative. If you want to experience the real Kauai (not the resort or condo version) plan to stay at Sunrise Cottage in Kapa’a.

    by pat_mcinnis, 5/5/11
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Aloha Cottages Review

    We just returned from our vacation/destination wedding in Kauai and I couldn't be happier to write this review. We booked the Moonrise Cottage for our entire stay and the experience was exceptional. While the Cottage is small (bachelor style)it has loads of charm, is fully equipped with kitchenette and located in a great area.
    Moonrise is situated behind the larger (and immaculate) Sunrise Cottage - at first we were unsure if this would be an issue but it was not. Very private, we could not hear those staying in Sunrise and we still felt secluded.

    The location is perfect for Island visitors - located within walking distance to town and close enough for easy trips to the North and South Shores.

    I would highly recommend Moonrise for couples visiting Kauai - far more charm then you would ever get at a hotel!!

    by travelquade, 3/3/11
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Perfect rental for a beautiful island.

    We rented Sunrise Cottage for seven days last October, two couples, it was absolutely ideal. Clean, equipped and comfy. Two bedrooms are separated by a great living area affording allowing for some privacy. A third bedroom was also available if needed. Beautiful area, great lanai, looking straight out to sea, a wonderful place to sit and kick back. Perfectly located for traveling about the island and most everything you need is within walking distance. Found this property on the net, took a shot at it and it was really great, gonna come back for sure.

    by mikarami, 11/25/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Our Favorite Kauai Spot

    I travel to Kauai once a year with family for vacation and this past year (Sept 2008) my husband and I traveled there to honeymoon. We know the island well and this time I really wanted to stay in a rental where we could cook and enjoy our privacy and lounge around, but I am also a hotel snob and did not want to give up on the luxury of a hotel either.

    All I can say is that the accommodations were perfect- we wanted private and we got private. We wanted luxury and we got it. The home is right on the ocean- there is a road that runs in front of it but it is only used by the other neighbors so it is very private. So each morning you wake up to the sound of the crashing waves and can walk about twenty feet to the water's edge. The décor was lovely- there is a large family room with an immaculate kitchen- just look at any of the photos of the kitchen. We enjoyed walking into town and buying fresh ahi and then coming home to cook it. The entire place is light and airy. The master suite is wonderfully secluded along one side of the home- we slept with the windows open each night and woke to the roosters and never once saw our neighbors. And we had a fabulous walk in closet! The other two bedrooms on the other side of the home are adorable and actually surprisingly spacious- each have full closets and beautiful windows and share a pretty massive bathroom... making this a perfect place for families or couples vacationing together. And there is a private lanai out back and a grilling area with a grill with a full set of grilling tools that monopolized much of my husband’s time. These were the little things that impressed us- the grill, the shed stocked with kayaks and snorkel gear- things that would cost us at least a hundred bucks a day- we there available for our use if we wanted.

    The best part about the Cottages is the location- we could walk into town a few blocks and enjoy shopping and dining and people watching... not to mention a few mai tais and pina coladas on a covered porch As someone that has been accustomed to staying at a big resort timeshare, I loved not having to wait to get my car and then having to drive to go eat, etc. The location is in a quiet neighborhood, but truly a short two block walk into a fun little Kauai town. Not to mention that you are situated perfectly between Princeville and Poipu- so you can plan a day trip pretty much anywhere and not feel like you are in the car for hours... which is how you do feel if you stay in Poipu or Princeville and want to do any traveling.

    The owner, Susan, was extremely helpful and probably had to answer way too many questions from me- but she was always so nice and patient and really quite lovely to work with. The property manager, Dawn, is also beyond friendly and we truly enjoyed meeting her and chatting with her while we were staying at the cottage. This was my honeymoon so I researched every single possible rental- truly... and my husband and I were beyond satisfied… As the cottage guestbook reveals, we- along with all of their patrons, were really sad to leave when we had to pack up. We absolutely intend to return to the cottages even when the rest of our family is staying in their timeshare and we have already recommended the location to friends.

    by acquigley, 11/24/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Can't say enough.

    Sunrise Cottage turned out to be a highlight of our trip to Kauai. Location couldn't be better...both the North Shore and South Shore are easily accessible and Kapa'a had a lot to offer as well. Baby Beach (directly across a hardly noticeable street) would be perfect for children, but still quiet enough to hide out and read a book. From the privacy of the front porch, I enjoyed watching sunrises, whales, rainbows, and just the ocean waves. The owners are present without being intrusive and they're always willing and able to offer advice on activities and even loaned us equipment free of charge (kayaks, snorkel equip, golf clubs). The ammenities were top notch. I'll be staying there again if I'm lucky enough to return to Kauai.

    by KatMeg, 4/4/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    It doesn't get much better than this!

    Aloha Cottages scored a perfect 5 with our family...great cottages, delightful furnishings, lots of extras like toys for the beach, a real cook's kitchen...not to mention the million dollar view!

    by suehoe, 1/12/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Front Porch on the Pacific

    Sitting on the Sunrise Cottage front porch is a vacation in itself - watching the sunrises, moonrises, whales migrating, colorful kite-surfers, and little kids at the "Baby Beach." I's also a great centrally-located place for exploring the most beautiful and uspoiled of Hawaii's islands. In under an hour you can be in Hanalei on the tropical North Shore, at the top of the mountain at the "wettest place on earth", viewing the "grand canyon of the Pacific", or at the sunny South or West Shore in Poipu or Barking Sands Beach. We took a sunset cruise along the isolated Napali coast, snorkeled with giant sea turtles and colorful fish, rode horses, took a zip-line tour, got muddy on an ATV trip and hiked for hours in the setting for Jurrasic Park. The kids loved the helicopter ride and the pictures we took were awesome! The cottage is spotless and obviously well-loved by its owners. There is a new kitchen with a view of the great room and ocean, and outdoor shower, free kayaks and beach toys. We loved it!

    by cch, 1/12/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals in Kauai

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

· News & Features

View more blog stories