Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Kauai Restaurants

Bar Acuda

  • 5-5161 Kuhio Hwy. Map It
  • Hanalei
  • Eclectic
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 01/24/2014

Fodor's Review

This hip and pricey tapas bar is a top place in Hanalei in terms of tastiness, creativity, and pizzazz. Owner-chef Jim Moffat's brief menu changes regularly: You might find banderillas (grilled flank steak skewers with honey and chipotle chili oil), local honeycomb with goat cheese and apple, or seared island fish with macadamia nut pesto. The food is often organic and consistently remarkable, but it's the subtly intense sauces that elevate the cuisine to outstanding.

The dining room is super casual, but chic, with a welcoming bar and a nice porch for outdoor dining.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Hanalei Center, 5-5161 Kuhio Hwy., Hanalei, Hawaii, 96714, United States

Map It

Phone:

808-826–7081

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 01/24/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Kauai

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By lyg80

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 24, 2014

Great place for a special night out

We went here on our honeymoon for our fancy dinner out and it satisfied on every level. The decor is beautiful, service was amazing, and the food was delicious. They have several tapas to choose from, giving you the chance to try a lot of different things in one night. We loved the island-inspired tweaks on traditional dishes. Definitely a great spot for a special dinner!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 22, 2009

Bar Acuda Review

I hadn't expected this place to be so good. Everyone said there was no good dining on the north shore of Kauai. Our dinner was outstanding. And it really hit the spot when we wanted a light meal, since tapas is so easy to adapt. We had a drink at the bar while waiting for a table (no reservation) and thought the bartender was great. Would happily eat at the bar if no table was available.

By SloPugs

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 5, 2009

Foodies in Paradise

We've been to Kauai about 4 times in the past 3 years, and this has been by far one of our favorite places! Everything we tried was delicious. Even though we don't eat a lot of red meat we ordered the slow braised beef short rib on recommendation from our waiter... no regrets there; it was mouth-wateringly delicious! It's definitely not a "Budget" place, but I'll bet die-hard "Foodies" will find the prices in line with the quality. Also, it is also

a place where quality over quantity rules. Our waiter was also very friendly, helpful and informative, which is not always what yu get in a highly touristed area. So nice!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2009

Ridiculously overpriced

Our first night in Kauai my family of 8 dinned at Bar Acuda based upon recommendations from frommers.com and tripadvisor.com We ordered 2 plates of the Kailani Farms Mesclun greens. This turned out to be mixed lettuce with dressing for $16. We also ordered 2 plates of the grilled pancetta wrapped sea scallop for $24. I guess we should have known that this dish consisted of 1 scallop per order. Needless to say it’s pretty hard to split 2 scallops

amongst 8 people. The wine list was also extremely overpriced with bottles averaging $50 or more. Our bill came to over $350 and we all left hungry.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2008

Dont do the Bar Acuda

Good wine selection, terrible food. Serving sizes are small,disappointing and tasteless. Service is slow and snooty. I would go back only for a drink and eat elsewhere.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 11, 2008

Hidden Treasure

Our time on Kauai was amazing. The highlight was our experience at Bar Acuda. We had such a fabulous dinner. Every dish was perfect. The space was cozy with candlelight and groovy music. This is just what Kauai needed. I'm from San Fran and heard the chef/owner is from there as well. Turns out he's the genius behind the legendary 42 Degrees and Slow Club. Well done, Mr. Moffat.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement