Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Honolulu and Oahu Restaurants

Duke's Canoe Club

  • 2335 Kalakaua Ave. Map It
  • American

Updated 01/17/2014

Fodor's Review

Locals often take visiting friends and family from the mainland to this hotel restaurant for the beachfront setting—it's right in front of the famed Canoes surf break in Waikiki. Named for the father of modern surfing, and filled with Duke Kahanamoku memorabilia, Duke's is a popular open-air bar and steak-and-seafood grill. Two words: salad bar. Duke's has one—a huge one—which gives you an idea of the aim-to-please food. Pick one of the four catches of the day—such

as mahimahi and opa (moonfish)—then choose one of four preparations. The prime rib and huli huli (rotisserie) chicken are also good options. The atmosphere can be raucous when live music by A-list Hawaiian performers fills the air. Sit back and enjoy your mai tai. You can experience many of the same great flavors and pay half the price by siting in the bar.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, 2335 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Hawaii, 96815, United States

Map It

Phone:

808-922–2268

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 01/17/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Honolulu and Oahu

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 24, 2009

The ultimate waikiki beach bar experience

The atmosphere is awesome, when you come in from the street, its very fancy. But come in from the beach, and your right in the bar enjoying your favorite drink and food dish. Try the Mai-Tai, it is awesome. The catch of the day is great, there is nothing better than fresh caught fish. Everyone is very friendly and I loved every minute I was there. There is nothing like sitting right next to the beach, enjoying a drink and exquisite food.

By mar

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 14, 2006

how far they fall

Two years ago..one of my favorites...now just like any other tourist hangout...very average entree's and indifferent service..big disappointment on one of the best spots on the beach

By Dennis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 17, 2006

Dukes vs. Cheeseburger in Paradise

For several years we have celebrated our arrival in Hawaii with a Cheeseburge in Paradise. We did the same this year and then the next day tried the same at Dukes Canoe Club - Dukes wins - no contest. Second best is in the Hula Grill which has a terrific value Happy Hour. The downside to Dukes is that it can be extremely noisy at meal time. Dinner at Dukes was good but the mahi mahi and swordfish were both overdone.

By Monica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 2, 2005

Great food, fun atmosphere in Waikiki

Tony and I dined here last week, which was our second visit to Duke's. We ordered the ahi poke, which was wonderful! Tony wanted to order the Ono, but they ran out, so he ordered the same dish as me: Opah, lightly covered with a parmesan cheese/macadamia nut/breadcrumb seasoning and pan seared. With the salad bar, which we enjoyed the ceasar salad, and fresh baked bread, I couldn't finish my dinner. The dish also included rice. We ended our meal

with the Hula Pie. Yum! We had a nice table facing the beach and enjoyed the live entertainment that went from table to table. The next time we're in Hawaii, we'll head back to Dukes. Since this place is always packed, be sure to make dinner reservations. I considered the prices to be reasonable for Hawaii.

Read More

By Todd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2005

So-so food in a fun atmosphere

Be prepared to wait if you don't have reservations, usually about one hour. The salad bar was good, the hot food was overcooked and dry. The place is hopping so don't expect this to be a place for a quiet dinner. Fun atmosphere and great salt water fish tank at the entrance. The hula pie is great--save room after dinner to share one.

By Trish

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 13, 2004

Please call it what it is....a bar on the beach.

Food is so-so, ok service by college type waiter, drinks are good, but this is not a restaurant. It is a bar on the beach.

By Judi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2004

Walked in off the beach!

My kids learned to surf right in front of Duke's. When they were finished, they washed off and we were given an ocean-front table outside for lunch. Delicious fish sandwich, salads, etc. What fun our first day in Waikiki!

By pam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2004

Don't leave without Hula Pie!

If you eat only one thing, make it the Hula Pie. best dessert I had during my entire trip to Hawaii! Fish tacos were great, too!

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2004

Awesome atmosphere

Great place on the beach, food is basic but good. I've been here 20 times and wouldn't go to Honolulu without a trip to Duke's.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 2, 2004

Fun place to take the kids

We took our kids here for lunch on our last day in Hawaii. The adults had the buffet and the kids ordered from the menu. Both were happy with our food. The sherbet dessert was wonderful.

By cody

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 20, 2004

The breakfast buffet is GREAT!!!

This is the best bargain in Waikiki for a GREAT breakfast buffet with a stunning view - OUSTANDING!!! Great food, great service, gotta love Duke's!

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2003

Great for Families

Well worth stopping at Dukes for either lunch or dinner. Make sure to ask for an outdoor table. The kitchen is hit or miss, but when it is on, the food is excellent. Make sure to go next door and get a surfing lesson from Lumpy. Our kids love this place.

By nan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2003

catch of the day!

The Food was good..the Atmosphere..Was great...But our service..was not anywhere in site...Had half of the plate ate..then we got drink LOL...then had to hunt my icket down....only seen he waiter once....Good Luck with your,s

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 13, 2003

The best bar in the world

A day in Waikiki isn't complete without a drink at Dukes. On Sundays, Henry Kapono plays just as the sun is about to set- It's what a tropical vacacation is supposed be.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement