Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Honolulu and Oahu Restaurants

Roy's

  • 6600 Kalanianaole Hwy. Map It
  • $$$

Updated 01/17/2014

Fodor's Review

Roy Yamaguchi is one of the 12 founding chefs of Hawaiian Regional Cuisine—a culinary movement that put Hawaii on the food map back in 1991. Opened in 1988, his flagship restaurant across the highway from Maunalua Bay is still packed every night. Food-savvy visitors on a Hawaiian Regional Cuisine pilgrimage mix with well-heeled residents. (If you're sensitive to pressure to turn the table, it's best to visit later in the evening.) The wide-ranging and ever-interesting

Hawaiian fusion menu is made up of his longtime classics, like Szechuan-spiced baby back ribs and blackened ahi with soy mustard butter sauce, and contemporary creations such as a pork chop with Hawaiian-chili chimichurri sauce and andagi (an Okinawan donut hole) made with poi. There's also an exceptional wine list. The Waikiki location is equally busy and has a four-course menu for vegans and gluten-free eaters.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Hawaii Kai Corporate Plaza, 6600 Kalanianaole Hwy., Honolulu, Hawaii, 96825, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-396–7697

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 01/17/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2008

Never a bad experience

I have eaten at three different locations (Big Island, Maui, and Oahu) and never had a bad experience. Excellent food choices from appetizers to desserts. Service is top notch as various staff members constantly attended to all details of keeping the glasses full, bringing the food in a timely fashion, and knowledge about the menu.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 23, 2008

Another top notch experience

WOW, always on the ball. Roy's delivers with taste and presentation. The service is quick and helpful. Cant go wrong with an evening at Roys.

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2006

Roys is the best

We live here and Roys is my favorite. The one I like best is in Ko Olina. You can have a quiet dinner right on the golf course outside. The food is the best on the island.

By Amanda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 9, 2006

Nothing fishy here!

Classy restaurant with expertly prepared fish dishes. Great variety and selection of dishes including Hawaiian fish unknown to most mainlanders. Prompt and knowledgeable staff/servers. Good value for the gourmet experience.

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 25, 2005

The best meal I've ever had!!!

Roy's offers an incredible view of the beach (and sunset) and gives it's customers impeccible service and even better cuisine. I had the Macademia Nut Crusted MahiMahi with a Lobster Sauce. It was incredible! But the night was truly capped off by Roy's signature Chocolate Souffle`...AMAZING! I found out that Cleveland is on the list for a new Roy's and I can't wait.

By Trish

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 13, 2004

Noisy, noisy, noisy in a strip mall

Food was ok, but signature fish dish was overcooked. There is NO ambiance and we felt rushed and the noise level is unbelievable. Our waiter really tried but the wait staff were actually RUNNING BETWEEN TABLES.

By Dianne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 2, 2002

Upscale Bargain

In Nov 2002 I had the sampler menu with wines. This was dining, not just eating. With 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and appropriate wines then add a stunning dessert- all for $50 w/o wines and $70 with, this was a real bargain. If you don't get the sampler, be sure to try the "Roy's" Rex Hill Pinot Noir. That was terrific!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement