Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Honolulu and Oahu Hotels

Waikiki Parc

Pros

  • Modern
  • Great access to Waikiki Beach Walk

Cons

  • No direct beach access

Updated 01/17/2014

Fodor's Review

In contrast to the stately vintage-Hawaiian elegance of her sister hotel, the Halekulani, the Waikiki Parc makes a contemporary statement, offering the same attention to detail in service and architectural design but lacking the beachfront location and higher prices. The guest rooms in this high-rise complex have modern minimalist furnishings but give a nod to the tropics by keeping plantation-style shutters that open out to the lanai. The heated pool and sundeck are eight

floors up, affording a bit more privacy and peace for sunbathers, and guests can take advantage of the spa at the Halekulani across the street. Every Friday in the lobby, the manager hosts a sunset wine mixer, featuring vino and light pupu. Nobu Waikiki, of the world-renowned Nobu restaurant family, serves Japanese food with a South American accent.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

2233 Helumoa Rd., Honolulu, Hawaii, 96815, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-921–7272; 800-422–0450

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 297 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 01/17/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Honolulu and Oahu

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Faith

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2006

Sister hotel to Halekulani - DEFINITELY NOT!

My daughter and I checked into the Waikiki Parc hotel on June 9, 2006 and after two mornings of waking to the sounds of delivery trucks beeping at 6 and 7 a.m. we moved out! No one at the hotel let us know that the stylish restaurants they advertise on their website are CLOSED until further notice or that there is massive construction going on for about a 3 block radius all around the hotel. Contrary to advertisements, there is no room service,

unless you count the local service that tacks on a charge of 6.99 to deliver your food in a styrofoam container. The equipment in the workout room was not working either. Yes, this is a city hotel, located across the street from Halekulani and the ocean, but the noise was unbearable. The hotel room is not completely carpeted, and the tile allowed noise from the room above us to be heard at all times of the day and night. All of this, and we were in the deluxe ocean view room. The management did offer us another room, but it was above the loading dock too -- and had much older furniture. Our stay was a disaster. After the second morning of waking up to BEEP, BEEP, BEEP, we packed our stuff and moved over to the Hilton Hawaiian Village -- a fantastic property where we have stayed twice before. I guess we mistakenly believed that since this hotel is the sister hotel to Halekulani, one of the finest hotels in the world (my assessment based upon my stay there a few years ago), we would get nice accomodations at a reasonable price. Boy were we wrong. And that bountiful breakfast buffet that the hotel advertises -- all we got were stale danish, hard fruit, and prepackaged ham and cheese sandwiches. Halekulani should be ashamed to be associated with this hotel. I will NEVER stay there again!

Read More

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2005

A quiet gem

We had originally booked a room at a nearby hotel and as we were COMPLETELY dissatisfied with those accomodations we decided to check out the Waikiki Parc. After a little bit of a hassle with the desk clerk over getting him to give me a rate I had seen online less than 20 minutes earlier (his clipboard told him he couldnt honor it???) we checked in the next morning and had a FANTASTIC vacation. Rooms are very similar in style to the Halekulani next

door and we thought this hotel was a real value. Special mention should go to the valet staff who were ALWAYS friendly and extremely helpful. If the front desk staff could gain the same attitude as the Valet staff, this could be about the perfect hotel. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for it's location, rooms and value.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2005

Class Act at a Bargain Price

Stayed four nights at the Waikiki Parc in December 2004 in deluxe ocean view room. Hotel is spotless, room is very comfortable and well furnished, bathroom is fairly large...good water pressure and user-friendly large tub/shower. Quiet rooms (unless you want to leave your balcony door open). Guest laundry on 8th floor with pleasant outdoor terrace patio waiting area...so you don't have to use the nasty public laundromats in this busy tourist area.

Lobby is elegant (if small), desk staff and concierge are gracious and accommodating. All I had to do was ask Missy, the concierge, and I got what I needed - no hassle...and everything she booked for me was of excellent quality. Valets are wonderfully helpful. For example, they come inside the lobby to get you when your tour van (or taxi) arrives so that you don't have to wait outside and breathe exhaust fumes on the busy street. Room balcony is small (just big enough for two chairs in this deluxe ocean-view category), but a true ocean view (if you put blinders on your left side to block out the Sheraton Waikiki concrete behemoth). Yes, it IS noisy on the street below...I think some of those delivery truck drivers like to rev their engines on purpose at 4 a.m. and delight in activating their back-up beepers at the highest decibel level. But that's the same everywhere in Waikiki...and this hotel is the best bang for the buck in Waikiki in my experience. I've spent more and gotten much, much less in my thirty-five years of visiting Oahu. Great location. Reasonable and tasty buffets at the Parc Cafe. Great management. Class Act at Bargain prices.

Read More

By Jillian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2004

Great Deal in the Big City

This hotel was a great deal (we got the room/car/breakfast package through their Web site). We were pleased with the service and accommodations. The almost entirely glass ocean view front "wall" makes the smallish room seem larger, and gives a great view of the water. However, bear in mind that you are in a busy city and even a room on the 11th floor (as we had) still gets noise at all hours from a loading dock on the block. All things considered,

I can stand the noise for a great price.

Read More

By Christa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2003

great stay here...

Spent 5 nights here in early May. Many packages available (eg) free breakfast, free rental car. Worth checking out before booking. Free car parking for guests, close to the beach and loads of 'cheap eats' on Lewers Street. Cut through the Sheraton car park and you are at the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Centre. Nice low key and relaxed atmosphere as this is not a resort hotel, if you want a bar and entertainment, head across the road to the Halekulani

( the parc 's sister hotel, you can charge things to your room ) Nice hotel.

Read More

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2003

Parc it at the Waikiki Parc for the perfect stay

WP offers understated elegance with superior service. Oceanview rooms are exquisite with fantastic views-comfortable, relaxing surroundings.The breakfast buffet is fantastic!Start your day with a bountiful feast(Japanese or American-style)and then hit the beach only 100 yds. away. Service is the Waikiki Parc's shining crown-you really feel welcomed!Be sure to get the free car/breakfast pkg. deal.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 5, 2003

A note for non-smokers ....

Although the hotel is not located on the beach, the view from our oceanview deluxe room was quite nice. The room was quite small, but we were OK with this since we had been forewarned. Our only concern was that the the majority of rooms in the hotel, including the top floor, are designated as smoking and we were not advised of this in advance. We didn't want to give up our oceanview, so we bought some room deodorizer ... however, non-smokers with

serious allergies may wish to take this into consideration when making your booking.

Read More

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2002

Stay here if you don't care

The best part of our stay at the Waikiki Parc Hotel is the ocean view room we got. The view of the ocean is spectacular and romantic. The room is smallish with almost no decor, but the view makes up for it. The hallways are dark, stuffy, and sometimes smells of mildew. Waikiki Parc is sandwiched between two hotels so you can't really tell which entrance is the front or the back. In order to park there, you have to drive the wrong direction on a tiny

one way street to get to the garage. The front desk service is impatient and snobbish. We can never find the concierge. It's nice to have the free breakfast, though, which saved us a bundle on meals. Although it's across the street from the beach, it only lets you have access to a very small portion of the beach. You have to go around hotels in order to get to the main part of the beach. It's nice that you can check out beach accessories at the bell desk which makes it convenient. But, my final thought is, unless you get a really good deal on this hotel, I would recommend you check elsewhere first.

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2002

Waikiki Parc is a joke

We stayed here for 2 nights in Aug. after being in Maui for a week. The room and bathroom were extremely tiny. I'm surprised they could fit a king-sized bed in that room. One day there was sand coming in the tub from somewhere else. I'm glad I didn't bother to take a bath. There was also mildew around the tub, which really turns me off. The rate included a buffet breakfast, which was OK and Dollar Rent A Car which was another horrible experience.

We'd NEVER consider staying here again!!!!!!!!!!

Read More

By Garry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2002

Great place to stay

This quiet hotel has a lot of good things going for it: it's near the beach, it's quiet, the rooms are very nice (even a larger than usual tub in the bathroom) and the prices (for Waikiki) are very reasonable. Ask for the car & breakfast packages: they're the best price around (don't ask me why, but just room alone here is more expensive that bed, breakfast, car. Someone will have to explain that to me...) The room we got, although small, was

on the 18th floor and had a spectacular view of the water. No, it's not right on the beach...but it doesn't need to be. You have your choice of breakfast from the American or Japanese restaurants in the lobby - I strongly recommend the Japanese, it was terrific. Service was very pleasant, no surprises on our bill. My only suggestion is that they need 24 hour room service - Waikiki seems to close up at 10 p.m. and since we got there at 11, we could have really used some in room refreshments. Finding the hotel was also difficult - it's on a very narrow street, but that area of Waikiki just seems hard to navigate regardless. Here's what you should do: stay there and walk over to their sister hotel, the Halekulani, for evening drinks (you can even charge it your room!). This is what we did. Strongly recommend. We walked through a plethora of Sheraton hotels on the beach and they were very overcrowded. But the Parc...nice & quiet, very comfortable. I'm dreaming of going back already....zzzz....zzzz.....

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement