Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Honolulu and Oahu Hotels

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

  • 2335 Kalakaua Ave. Map It
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • No resort fee
  • The best bar on the beach is downstairs
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby
  • On-site coin-operated laundry

Cons

  • The lobby feels a bit like an airport with so many people using it as a throughway to the beach

Updated 01/17/2014

Fodor's Review

Renovated in 2012, this star of Outrigger Hotels & Resorts sits on one of the finest strands of Waikiki Beach. The guest rooms in the 16-story, no-smoking resort have lanai that offer either ocean or Waikiki skyline views and sound-proof windows. The hotel also offers a variety of cultural activities for its guests, from lei making to ukulele lessons to live Hawaiian music. The popular Duke's Waikiki has beachfront concerts under the stars. Waikiki Plantation Spa offers

Hawaiian seaweed wraps, hot stone massages, and wedding packages—all from the hotel's penthouse.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

2335 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Hawaii, 96815, United States

Map It

Phone:

808-923–0711; 808-956–4262

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 479 rooms, 30 suites
  • No meals

Updated 01/17/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Honolulu and Oahu

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2012

Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel

We just returned about a month ago from Honolulu,it was our 21st anniversary/my birthday celebration trip.we had a wonderful stay at the Outrigger.we were originally booked for a city view then we upgraded to partial ocean view on the 16th floor.it was truly an amazing view.the upgrade only cost us $45.a day extra,well worth the cost.By staying on the sixteenth floor we had to use the express elevator which is only available to guests on the fourteenth

foor thru the sixteenth.no waiting for elevators.This hotel i right in the heart of waikiki and everything is within walking distance.also next door to Cheesecake Factory Restaurant!The Hotel staff from the time you check in to check-out make you feel special and welcome,especially the valet service.We enjoyed Duke's and the Hula grille,breakfast and service great at Hula Grille.We are planning another trip next year and will be staying here.Aloha!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 6, 2009

Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach Review

Our room was a good size, and comfortable. Though on the first floor, directly above Dukes and the Steakhouse, it was not noisy at all. My only complaint...our lanai was tiny, and there was a vast expanse of concrete (roof of the restaurant)limiting our view of the beach. Breakfast buffet at Dukes is plentiful, but average at best. Coffee is awful. Better for lunch, and for cocktails at the bar. Umbrellas and lounge chairs are for rent right

outside on the beach. It's a wonderful stretch of Waikiki beach. Busy, bustling, fun to people watch.

Read More

By Josh

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2004

Great hotel, but not the best island of Hawaii

We stayed here for the last two night of our 10 day 3 island trip. Very nice hotel and rooms, serivce was good, we even got upgraded to a suite for being on our honeymoon. The pool was adequate, but the beach was super busy (Wakiki). We rented a car, but only used it for the airport ride, everything else was within walking distance. Maui and Kauai provide a more Hawaiian vacation.

By Laurie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2003

We loved everything about this place!!!!

Loved our 15th floor OV room overlooking Waikiki Beach. Nice room with king bed, separate changing area in bathroom and small refrigerator. Service was great from all the staff we encountered. Loved Duke's-lively and fun with a great view and good food. Would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to stay here again.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 4, 2003

A-one perfect hotel

We were here June 22-29, 2003. Check in was very smooth and quick. We had booked a room with two double beds, but none were available that were smoking rooms. The hotel clerk quickly got us a smoking room with a king size bed and a sofa bed. He said that he would check the next day for a double bed room if we weren't happy with the king room. Well my husband and son took one look around the room and said that they were staying. We were on the

penthouse floor. Everything was newly remodeled. They room was perfect and so was the view. All the staff were exceptionally friendly. We ate at all three restaurants and all meals were great. We enjoyed the location of this hotel, central to everything. All complaints I read on this site regarding this hotel, I found untrue. We had a great week and would highly recommend this hotel. We are planning on returning in 5 years.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2003

Central Tourist Location, Nice Room

Perhaps because tourism was done when I visited in the beginning of March, 2003, but I was upgraded to a room with a partial ocean view - very nice, clean, modern room with a big tv. Did not interact much with the hotel staff, but the event/trip planner was friendly and helpful. Did not eat or drink at their bars or restaurants, but they were always full - especially Duke's, which appealed even to the locals. The hotel is in the middle of upscale

Waikiki right on the beach. The underground hotel garage was very convenient. Surf board and kayak rentals are a nice stroll down the beach. My biggest complaint was that the gym was a joke - no free weights, old weight machines that mostly worked the legs - nothing for shoulders and no universal - and very small. The pool was also small, though few people actually used it at any given time. I found Waikiki too touristy and the beaches not particularly interesting, and this hotel and the rest of the hotels on the beach a bit on the expensive side, but if you have a family with little kids or are primarily interested in laying about, going to spas, drinking and shopping, this place is tough to beat.

Read More

By Stella

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2003

Where the Action Is...

stayed here over New Years. the location was good as far as being in the center of everything. it was very very busy, like all of Waikiki during this holiday period. I have never seen a more crowded beach scene, but it didn't take long to get used to it, stake out our inch or two of sand with a rented umbrella and go with the (nonstop) flow! Our standard room was very spacious and clean and had a great (and unexpected!) view of the ocean. the service

was good with a few exceptions. I liked all the on site shops. It's too bad there is no spa on the premises, although a walk along Waikiki Beach to the Outrigger Reef will bring you to the very serene Serenity Spa!

Read More

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 21, 2003

Duke's puts the "wacky" in Waikiki

Our 1st trip to Waikiki & this hotel didn't disappoint. Duke's Canoe Club was lively & fun. Our room was spacious. Great location in the middle of everything.

By Ruth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 22, 2002

LA west

We stayed at this hotel 3 times in the last few years. Each time the experience was worse than the previous one. The final straw was on the last day of our last 1 week's stay. It was 9:30 in the morning. My husband and I were sitting on the pool deck lounge chairs watching our kids take a morning swim. After a few minutes, a deck attendant appeared and asked us to move to one of about 5 less desirable lounge chairs which were in the sun. Why?

Because every other lounge chair on the deck had been "reserved" by other guests, "just in case" they "might" want to sit by the pool sometime that day. I was appalled. We were the only people by the pool at that time of the morning, and our kids were the only people (paying guests, I might add) using the pool. The beach out front is much the same. You'll see people down there at 7 am laying out towels, backrests and beach umbrellas-- staking out "real estate" at 7 am, just "in case" they get a hankering for a swim later on that day. This creates an artifical scarcity that makes me sick. It goes against everything Hawaiian. I understand that people like us pay dearly for a week's vacation. After all, our family of 4 was spending $350/day to be there when we were told to move. But I for one will not go back to Oahu ever again. It is a great place for urbanites or college kids on spring break that cannot afford Club Med, but if you love Hawaii, Hawaiians and the spirit of aloha, you won't find it here.

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2000

On the Beach of Waikiki

Date of stay: March, 2000 We stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for 3 nights/4 days. We wanted quiet on Maui and excitement and action at Waikiki -- this hotel embodies excitement and action. It is superbly located on Waikiki beach with a fun restaurant in Duke's Canoe Club at beach level. We had a room on the 6th floor overlooking the beach. The room was small, but the view made up for it. Duke's was hopping every night and, since it

is partially outdoor, we could hear everything which kept us up until 1 a.m. If you're looking for quiet, this ain't it. The atmosphere was city-ish -- this is not a resort hotel. But, hey, it's Waikiki and Duke's definitely helped create an atmosphere of energy and excitement (plus good food at reasonable prices). The service was not good and not bad. Check-in was smooth, but not awe inspiring (see my Grand Wailea review). The last day we were there they had a parade on Kalakua Avenue and we had our luggage taken to another Outrigger for pick-up. They were very helpful in all of this. We used our Entertainment card to get our room for half-price so this was a good value for a room right on Waikiki beach.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement