Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Honolulu and Oahu Hotels

Outrigger Reef on the Beach

  • 2169 Kalia Rd. Map It
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • No resort fees
  • On beach
  • Direct access to Waikiki Beach Walk

Cons

  • Views from non-oceanfront rooms are uninspiring
  • Can be pricey

Updated 01/17/2014

Fodor's Review

Multimillion-dollar renovations have drastically updated this beachfront property, adding a new entrance that incorporates a Hawaiian voyaging design theme; expanded guest rooms; larger and more contemporary bathrooms; and a new signature restaurant—the poolside Kani Ka Pila Grille, with nightly live music by legendary Hawaiian entertainers—though the Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar and Ocean House Restaurant also remain. What had been a plain but pleasant oceanfront

bargain now offers polished elegance in keeping with its prime location. It's worthwhile to go for an ocean view or oceanfront accommodation in the Ocean Tower; other rooms have less enchanting views. It's a completely smoke-free hotel.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Hawaii, 96815, United States

Map It

Phone:

808-923–3111; 866-956–4262

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 631 rooms, 38 suites
  • No meals

Updated 01/17/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Honolulu and Oahu

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 20, 2003

Fourth of July at the Reef

We were at the Reef on the Beach July 2-10th, 2003. Loved the location next to Ft. DeRussey Park. The room was partial ocean view and the bed was comfortable. But you could hear most everything that went on in the rooms next door. We enjoyed the pool, hot tubs, and restaurant. The stores in the lobby were convenient for munchies and souvenirs. There is entertainment nightly at a couple of the restaurants and exercise classes and different types

of cultural demonstrations throughout the day. We recommend this resort pretty highly.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 10, 2003

Diamond Head View to Die for

I booked a discounted room through a travel agent, and received a requested upgrade when I arrived. My room’s dead-on views of Diamond Head and the ocean were simply jaw-dropping. Granted, it was a slow period, but the hotel would have been a good choice, even without the view. Rooms are decent-sized, with small but efficiently designed shower-only bathrooms. Lobby shops carried everything I would ever need, and were meticulously organized despite

the buzz of activity. Pool is somewhat dark and poorly located, though the hotel leads right onto the sand -- a nice stretch adjacent to Fort DeRussy park. I didn’t try the in-house spa, though the well-priced treatments made it very tempting. Overall, the Reef is great for a lively vacation in an ideal spot, perhaps the best value right on Waikiki beach.

Read More

By Tina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 26, 2002

Reef on the Beach

We stayed at the Reef on the Beach Oct 11 thru 16th, 2002. The hotel has an excellent location for shopping and restuarants. I enjoyed the beach area. We ate at the Shorebird for the breakfast buffet and liked it. Used the Serenity Spa one day and found it to be excellent. Our room was always clean and very seldom did we ever hear anyone. Our only complaint was that it was always late in the afternoon when our room was cleaned (1-3pm). So we

would set on the patio while the maid cleaned. We would definitely go back to this hotel.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2002

A good stopover in Honolulu.

We stayed at the Reef for 3 nights on our way to the Kea Lani in Maui. It is difficult to review this property after staying at the Kea Lani which was incredible(see separate review). But if you keep in mind that the Reef is not intended to be a 5 star resort you will be satisfied with your stay. Even our deluxe oceanfront room was tiny but the view and the balcony were nice. The hotel served as a convenient base for honolulu sight seeing which

fit our needs very well. However, I would not recommend this hotel nor Waikiki in general as your primary destination on the islands. The beach was rocky and crowded and the properties on the other islands were great. Bottom line, this was a good hotel for the price but at the same time the extra money spent to stay at the Kea Lani was worth every penny.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2002

Great Bargain and Attentive Staff

My husband and I stayed at The Outrigger Reef in August 01 and liked it much better and felt it was a better bargain than a the more expensive hotel resort we stayed at on the Big Island. Upon check-in we were upgraded to Ocean View overlooking the park and Honolulu and had a wonderful view of the ocean from our lanaii. The staff was very attentive and pleasent. My husband and I particularly liked the spa, where we received a wonderful couples

massage. We will be staying in Maui in June 02 for nine days and after our experience at the Outrigger Reef, we plan on staying at the Outrigger Wailea Resort.

Read More

By bianca

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2002

Shore Condos adjoining

These are great value and you have use of the Reef Hotel facilities. We spent our honeymoon here and were very happy with it.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement