Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Honolulu and Oahu Hotels

Hilton Hawaiian Village Beach Resort and Spa

Pros

  • Activities and amenities can keep you and the kids busy for weeks
  • Stellar spa

Cons

  • Ongoing renovations and construction noise might be a problem
  • Oceanfront rooms in the Rainbow Tower may have obstructed views as the hotel is repairing its famous mural
  • Size of property can be overwhelming
  • The hotel charges a resort fee of $30 (plus tax) per room, per night

Updated 01/17/2014

Fodor's Review

Location, location, location: this megaresort and convention destination sprawls over 22 acres on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, with the green lawns of neighboring Fort DeRussy creating a buffer zone to the high-rise lineup of central Waikiki. The Hilton makes the most of its prime real estate—surrounding the five hotel towers with lavish gardens, an aquatic playground of pools, a 5-acre lagoon for kayaking, cascading waterfalls, koi ponds, penguins, pink flamingos,

and a wide beach. Rainbow Tower, with its landmark 31-story mural, has knockout views of Diamond Head. Rooms in all towers have lanai offering ocean or city views. In January 2013 the resort completed a seven-month, $25.5 million refurbishment of Alii Tower, updating its 323 guest rooms, corridors, lobby and reception desk. More of a city than a village, HHV has an ABC Store, 20 restaurants and lounges, a botanic garden, a bookstore, dozens of shops, and a post office. Even its spa, Mandara Spa & Fitnes Center, is the largest in Waikiki. It even has its own pier, docking point for the Atlantis submarine. The sheer volume of options, including free activities (lei making, ukelele lessons, penguin and turtle feedings, and fireworks), makes the HHV a good choice for families.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

2005 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Hawaii, 96815, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-949–4321; 800-774–1500

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 3,616 rooms, 244 suites, 639 condominiums
  • No meals

Updated 01/17/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Honolulu and Oahu

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 17, 2008

Where's the Hawaii?

They have a couple of areas that have nice bars with nightly entertainment--except none of them sing Hawaiian songs! Instead, they played stuff like Led Zeppelin (finally one night someone from the crowd yelled out "sing something Hawaiian". They also nickel and dime you to death--they charge astronomical fees for even a beach chair. We tried to relax by the pool and couldn't because the gardeners took weed wackers and noisy motorized garden

tools out--do they really have to do it during peak pool hours? Other than Bali by the Sea, we found the service staff at the eateries to be rude. The place is like a big shopping mall--there simply is no Hawaiian feel to it.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 8, 2007

HILTON "HELL"WAIIAN VILLAGE

Just returned from a stay at the Hilton. Do not under any circumstances stay here until the hotel finishes its renovations! You will not be happy with all of the current construction and noise. It is a great resort to stay at under normal circumstances, however Hilton is undergoing enormous refurbishments at the property that are greatly interfering with one's ability to have a nice vacation. Stay updated with the hotel's website and wait until

it is back to its previous level of quality. Without the construction - it is a great family resort with tons of activities and an amazing and vast sand beach. Make certain that your stay includes a Friday night so that you can watch the fireworks on the beach for free! Rooms are small but with super comfy beds. Rainbow Tower has awesome views of Waikiki and Diamond Head if you are on the correct side of it and high enough up on the tower. Heed my warning - stay away for now!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2007

Don't Stay Here, Hang Out Here

I didn't actually stay at this hotel, but I did hang out here during the day some. It has an excellent location, right on Waikiki Beach and near the markets and other sights. Stay somewhere near, off the beach for much much cheaper, walk the block-or-two down to the hotel and take advantage of the location that way.

By AaronZZ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 9, 2007

Why would you stay here?

The Ali'i tower is just okay but I really don't get this place at all. A cluster of high rise towers, a little shopping mall, ordinary pool areas, generally poor service. The beach is big but featureless. If it was like $100 a night I would say fair enough but it is utterly charmless and expensive too.

By Gasha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 10, 2007

nice, but we're not coming back...

Don't expect a relaxing and quiet vacation here-nor anywhere else in Waikiki.Lagoon behind Rainbow is gone-it's a construction site for a new tower now.The room we were originally assigned to(Rainbow)was at that unfortunate side.They made us pay extra to get the other ocean view, towards Diamond Head, even though I specifically requested Diamond head view when booking and thought I was already getting it for a rate quoted. The place is as crowded

and noisy as the rest of Waikiki. Be prepared to pay $10 for a one-way cab ride to the central Waikiki, or $20 for parking your rental car in Hotel's parkade, per night.We had to leave hotel grounds to find a nice place for dinner downtown every night, as we did not like the food in any of the hotel's restaurants.We saw cockroaches in beachside restaurant's pastry window!No authentic Hawaiian food on the grounds either,mostly overpriced bland pizza.Rainbow's interior decor could use an update, it's frozen in 80s. Air conditioning grille right above the beds,and you have to keep the balcony door closed and run it,because of the noise level outside. Killer view to Diamond head.Comfy beds.Lots of storage in the room.Toilet bowl could use a good scrub.Some rooms(maybe all?)have a connecting door between -you can hear every word of the people in the next room!Not fun at 4:00 am, when some of them come back from clubs downtown, like our temporary neighbours.Lappert's coffee/ice cream shop is an excellent choice for breakfast,and some good t-shirt souvenir stores are on the grounds.ABC store also comes in handy, for extra sunscreen or Advil.Beach is disappointing (we came here from Maui), shallow (good if you have small children) and uneventful-I don't know why they rent snorkelling gear at the booth.We used hotel as a base to see the rest of O'ahu: It was ok but we won't be returning:Hawaii islands have so many breathtaking beaches and hotels better than these.I guess it just depends on what you expect your vacation to be...

Read More

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 24, 2006

RAINBOW KEIKI (KIDS) CLUB

We just returned from a 6 night stay at the HHV. Hilton needs to work on their Keiki (childrens') Club marketing program. Our sole reason for picking this hotel, in Waikiki, was so that our 6 year old could have "kid" time at the Keiki Club and we could have "couples" time for ourselves. What Hilton doesn't tell you is that there is no guarantee your child will be included in the daily activities. We arrived at check-in time on Friday. We immediately

went to sign our kid up for a few days during the week. Much to our dismay, the slots were full until our last day there, Wednesday. You can only sign up your kid once you check in. For a hotel that has, what?, 2000 rooms, it is a total bait scheme. Get the tourists in, but don't provide them with what they thought they were paying for. Who would assume that you could not get your kid in to the advertised kid activities? A computer sign-up for the kids club as you book your hotel is in order. That way, Hilton could staff their Kid Club and all kids could participate. Having 15 or 20 slots open per day in a hotel this big - and one that markets to families - is ludicrous. Unfortunately, neither we nor our child had an optimum trip. The service we received was less than average as well. We had valets who were too bothered to answer our questions, maids who made up our room in the most mediocre of ways, and information clerks who would barely speak, much less provide any information we couldn't figure out on our own. We were prepared to book a trip to the Hilton at Squaw Pointe in Arizona, but will not do so now. That hotel markets to families as well, and we have no confidence that any Hilton program will be available to our child. When we return to Hawaii (for the 15th time), we will go back to Maui or Kaui and get a condo.

Read More

By Faith

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2006

FABULOUS!

This was our third stay at the Hilton and it did not disappoint! We were moved out of another hotel after two days of hell, and were able to get a club floor room in the Kalia Tower on a moment's notice. The club lounge provided snacks all day long in a quiet, upscale environment. Service was excellent, as usual, and there was enough activity on the grounds to give us lots to do at all times. We have previously stayed in the Ali'i Tower and the

Rainbow Tower, and we have always had a wonderful time. You simply cannot lose at this Hilton. I even sat through a 90 minute presentation from their vacation club and was given a $150 in gift certificates that we used for a spa treatment and dinner at Benihana!

Read More

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 7, 2006

Nice but very, very expensive!

We were lucky enough to stay in a one bedroom suite in the Ali'hi (sp?) tower, which is the private concierge tower. The suite was large enough for the three of us, and had a nice view, but we had to pay for all the space and amenities (the rate with the sales tax was costly at $1,083.00 per night) which we divided up between the three of us. But for a once in a lifetime vacation, it was worth it.

By Lewis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2006

What's Not To Like

The Hilton Hawaiian Village has it all. Great location, best view on waikiki beach, close to shopping and restaurants, best beach, good rooms, nice pools, friendly staff, water activities, entertainment including fireworks on Friday night. This is our fifth visit and we have checked out other nice hotels and always come back to the HHV because we feel nothing can top it in Waikiki. It is big and attracts a lot guests and at times it can get crowded

but that is about the only down side. We have always stayed in the Rainbow tower, so our comment are based mainly on those rooms.

Read More

By Diana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 27, 2005

Great place to stay in paradise

This is a wonderful hotel. If you have the means, stay in the Alii tower. It costs more but is worth it. Most of the rooms have a nice large and private balcony with incredible views, the rooms are large, updated, comfortable and welcoming. The beds are amazing--cushy and soft and comfortable. The bathroom is huge, amenties are by Crabtree and Evelyn, the Alii tower provides complimentary bottled waters in the rooms for their guests as well as

complimentary nightly appetizers (from 5-7pm at the private pool also located in the tower). There are many, many shops and resturants on the grounds. The grounds are beautiful---flora, waterfalls, tiki torches, ponds with coy fish and even an area with a penguin exhibit. We dined at two of the hotel restaurants---they are pricier and the food quality and quantity was fair. You can definitely get a better deal leaving the grounds but could easily have all your needs met by staying on the grounds. The location is great---the Waikiki Trolley actually stops on the grounds.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2005

One of the best hotels

Simply one of the best I've stayed at. Grounds are wonderful, pool excellent, beach great, lots of choices for food and shopping.

By Alicia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 3, 2005

Fabulous resort but promises not kept

I did a lot of research before booking this family vacation. I needed four rooms with king beds, and wanted an ocean view. To ensure this, I did not book online, and instead called directly to Oahu. They booked me in Kalia Tower, which has "full ocean view" but is set back from the water. They promised me king beds for the rate, which was $289/night, for 7 nights. When we checked in, we were told that bed sizes were on a first-come basis and

therefore, 3 of the four rooms had to be double beds, as they were at full capacity. They did comp breakfsat the next morning, but considering we were paying over $8000 for our vacation there, a $100 breakfast was not much of a discount for this oversight. The Kalia Tower was newly renovated and the rooms were very nice. The feather-bed matresses and pillows were superb and the view was good. The resort was clean and had everything on-site you could want, so it is an excellent choice if you don't want to go far on your vacation. Also, the Mandara Spa is excellent.

Read More

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2005

Diamond Head Tower tired, but I would stay here again.

I recently stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. I have stayed here twice before and nothing much has changed. Service and staff seemed consistent with my other 2 stays (even saw the same hostess in the Rainbow Lanai restaurant). Had a room in the Diamond Head tower. View was beautiful, but the room was a bit tired. Last time I stayed in the Kalia Tower and it was much nicer. Staff is friendly. Very accommodating to kids. They have a kids meal

program (kids eat free) and offer trinkets from a treasure chest if kids "clean their plate". Hotel is large and caters to conventions and can be crowded at times. If you want the feel of a smaller hotel with extra services, request a room in the Ali'i Tower. Waikiki Beach is in front of the hotel. Nice beach with calm water and a view of Diamond Head. I would stay here again.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 14, 2004

You like go one time Haole?

Stayed in the Tapa Tower in an end unit facing the ocean. Very nice and roomy. Hotel grounds are pleasing. Lunch and good snacks are hard to find on the hotel property. Went to Roundtable Pizza on the Hilton grounds and ordered a couple of salads. Absolutely horrible! Can't call for your car. Have to go downstairs and wait and wait and wait. Housekeeper asked to be paid. Only 10 minute walk to central Waikiki Beach. Supposed to deliver a

daily paper. Calls to "special help line" go unansered. Have to go to lobby and get paper, if one is left. Coffee costs extra money, so bring your own.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement